24 Sep 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car

21 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.

This is an album of beauty. Gorgeous arrangement and tone with golden melodious vocals and heart-warming lyrics. Each one of the seven tracks is a cleverly crafted delight. It is easy to see why her debut album Whisper And Holler went straight to number four in the NZIM Album Charts.

Steph Casey already has an admirable list of achievements under her belt. Whisper And Holler gained her glowing international reviews which lead to an invitation to the USA to record her second album with producer Jason Rubal (Robert Smith (The Cure), Amanda Palmer). She has an impressive international following on the popular streaming platform SoundCloud.

Her first single from her second studio album, is At A Bar Downtown. This is accompanied by a visually creative (yet beautiful in its simplicity) music video. From the first strum of her guitar I could tell this was going to be a special album. Steph offers up glorious vocal melodies from the get-go.

The second track Hannah May was my favourite. This track had the gritty story telling qualities which is favoured by country artists. It is completely engaging and flowed beautifully. This is the kind of song you can't help but sway along to.

Moving on to the title track, The Seats In My Car her songwriting style and vocalisation continues to enthral. The backing from the band which accompanies Steph on this album is comprised from talents such as three principal member of indie-pop band Let's Planet – Caroline Easther (The Chills, The Verlaines, Beat Rhythm Fashion) on drums, Alan Galloway (Let's Planet, Galloway) on electric guitars, and Murray Costello (The Mockers, Sneaky Feelings, The Wooden Box Band) on bass. Adding to this impressive mix are also contributions from Alan Norman (The Warratahs, Rag Poets) on accordion and hammond organ, backing vocals by Wellington singer-songwriter Haine Jostensen, with Emily Clemmet (The Wooden Box Band, Ska Pai) on trumpet.

This is an album of sublime layers; her luminescence continues to shine through nailing the Americana sound which The Seats In My Car offers up. Her vocal clarity and heartfelt lyrics complement each other flawlessly.

Delightful from start to finish.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Steph Casey

Steph Casey is a singer/songwriter from New Zealand whose sound is a mix of Contemporary Folk and Americana. Her debut album Whisper & Holler went to #4 in the NZ Indie Album charts and #8 in the NZ Album Charts upon release, receiving glowing international reviews.

On 28 June 2019 she releases her single At A Bar Downtown ahead of her second album The Seats in My Car, out 26 July. She will be taking the album on a NZ tour with her band and also touring the USA in September.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steph Casey

Releases

The Seats In My Car
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Whisper & Holler
Year: 2013
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Seralynne - Album Review: What Love Is
21 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based singer-songwriter Seralynne has just released a sleek new nine-track album What Love Is. This is a surprisingly heartfelt and mature mix of haunting yet beautifully written pop ballads.
Read More...
Researchintospeed - Single Review: Anode
15 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Papaioea’s own proponent of live electronic dance music Researchintospeed has just dropped a new track and accompanying video, Anode. As part of the stand-alone electronic work of Craig Black, Anode was added to his expanding electro catalog over lock down.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: Boomers In Disguise
10 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Auckland based Cantabrian, disillusioned architect and sausage roll enthusiast Harry Platt who goes under the pseudonym Hazza Making Noise, has just released a new single called Boomers In Disguise. Cross a football chant with a rock opera and inject it with punk-rave then you will have a fair idea about the unique concept which Harry describes as having "an early Arctic Monkeys – Brianstormesque nature to it".
Read More...
Mirrors - Single Review: Got This Feeling
09 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Originally starting out as a covers band in 2017, Christchurch based acoustic pop duo Mirrors expanded their repertoire this year during lockdown, taking the opportunity to write and record seven original songs in their home studio. Got This Feeling is their catchy brand-new second single release.
Read More...
Julie Lamb - Album Review: How Humans Think
04 Sep 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
The first thing I noticed when I was blessed with a physical copy of Julie Lamb Outfit’s brand new eight track album How Humans Think, was the outstanding amount of work and love which has gone into the packaging of the CD. It is a creative thing of beauty to which I will elaborate further on.
Read More...
Darryl Baser - Album Review: #Second Selfie
31 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
In true Darryl Baser fashion, his latest album has taken a few years to develop. Following on from his 2016 LP Raw Selfie, the album #Second Selfie has taken flight, once again from his Dunedin based living room.
Read More...
EJ Barrett - Single Review: Paint Me A Picture
06 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
It didn’t take me long to warm to EJ Barrett and her sultry, husky vocals. The New Zealand musical artist based in New Plymouth has taken flight with the debut single Paint Me A Picture.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Single/Video Review: Pipz
05 Aug 2020 // by Corinne Rutherford
Something Zesty is a Whanganui based musical artist who captured my attention first by the bold claim that the latest offering is "an unmistakable dance-floor hit" and secondly by the vibrant and appropriately spaced out animated video which turned out to be the perfect accompaniment to his latest release; Pipz. The music video is the second animated adventure for two curious looking characters, Chambzy and Zestro, following on from Something Zesty’s first single Mad About It.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • WAP
    Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. Iann Dior
  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • LEMONADE
    Internet Money And Gunna feat. Don Toliver And NAV
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LAUGH NOW CRY LATER
    Drake feat. Lil Durk
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • HEAD & HEART
    Joel Corry feat. MNEK
  • MOOD SWINGS
    Pop Smoke feat. Lil Tjay
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem