21 Oct 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Steph Casey - Album Review: The Seats In My Car

21 Jul 2019 // A review by Corinne Rutherford

Steph Casey, the young Kapiti Coast based songwriter and musician has just released her exceptional sophomore album, The Seats In My Car, which is a captivating mix of acoustic guitar and honeyed vocals, backed by an impressive line-up of musicians. Her sound is described as a mix of indie-folk and alt-country.

This is an album of beauty. Gorgeous arrangement and tone with golden melodious vocals and heart-warming lyrics. Each one of the seven tracks is a cleverly crafted delight. It is easy to see why her debut album Whisper And Holler went straight to number four in the NZIM Album Charts.

Steph Casey already has an admirable list of achievements under her belt. Whisper And Holler gained her glowing international reviews which lead to an invitation to the USA to record her second album with producer Jason Rubal (Robert Smith (The Cure), Amanda Palmer). She has an impressive international following on the popular streaming platform SoundCloud.

Her first single from her second studio album, is At A Bar Downtown. This is accompanied by a visually creative (yet beautiful in its simplicity) music video. From the first strum of her guitar I could tell this was going to be a special album. Steph offers up glorious vocal melodies from the get-go.

The second track Hannah May was my favourite. This track had the gritty story telling qualities which is favoured by country artists. It is completely engaging and flowed beautifully. This is the kind of song you can't help but sway along to.

Moving on to the title track, The Seats In My Car her songwriting style and vocalisation continues to enthral. The backing from the band which accompanies Steph on this album is comprised from talents such as three principal member of indie-pop band Let's Planet – Caroline Easther (The Chills, The Verlaines, Beat Rhythm Fashion) on drums, Alan Galloway (Let's Planet, Galloway) on electric guitars, and Murray Costello (The Mockers, Sneaky Feelings, The Wooden Box Band) on bass. Adding to this impressive mix are also contributions from Alan Norman (The Warratahs, Rag Poets) on accordion and hammond organ, backing vocals by Wellington singer-songwriter Haine Jostensen, with Emily Clemmet (The Wooden Box Band, Ska Pai) on trumpet.

This is an album of sublime layers; her luminescence continues to shine through nailing the Americana sound which The Seats In My Car offers up. Her vocal clarity and heartfelt lyrics complement each other flawlessly.

Delightful from start to finish.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Steph Casey

Steph Casey is a singer/songwriter from New Zealand whose sound is a mix of Contemporary Folk and Americana. Her debut album Whisper & Holler went to #4 in the NZ Indie Album charts and #8 in the NZ Album Charts upon release, receiving glowing international reviews.

On 28 June 2019 she releases her single At A Bar Downtown ahead of her second album The Seats in My Car, out 26 July. She will be taking the album on a NZ tour with her band and also touring the USA in September.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Steph Casey

Releases

There are no releases to display for Steph Casey.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Alae - Single/Video Review: Hit Me Where It Hurts
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Starting out as a two piece in 2016, Alae co-founders Alex Farrell-Davey and Allister Meffan made a big impact on the NZ music industry with their “intimate folk inspired sounds”. Recently adding to the mix are Jayden Lee on drums and bassist Marika Hodgson.
Read More...
Oh Sweet Nothings - EP Review: Emergency Procedures
17 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington based student band who describes themselves as “indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4 piece project”. They have just released their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, which took four years in the making; it is a precursor and little teaser to the band’s full length album which will possibly be released mid-2020.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: If I
07 Oct 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
New Zealand based singer, songwriter, musician and record producer Erik Graham is a man of many talents, who has also been described as a skilled guitar player. His latest single release If I is a heartfelt track with beautiful lyrics and strong vocals, recorded under his own record label Headcage.
Read More...
Hypnumb - Single Review: Crooked Magic
17 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Christchurch four-piece blues rock band Hypnumb have released a gutsy new single entitled Crooked Magic. A strong grungy, bluesy classic rock number that is indeed magic.
Read More...
Iris - Single Review: Foresight
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Young singer/songwriter Iris originally from Napier is the dazzling new Kiwi pop star on the scene getting a lot of attention with her latest single release Foresight. Alongside her business partner Charles Lutman, Iris often co-produces her songs which she herself writes.
Read More...
Timothy Blackman - Album Review: Brightest Days
16 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington recording artist Timothy Blackman (Home Alone Music) has released his first new album in eight years. Ten tracks of calm contemplation and personal reflection Brightest Days can be described as a Lo-fi Refreshing and honest LP.
Read More...
Bittercup - Single Review: Napkin
09 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
I am a bit of a Punk Rock fan, so much so I went and joined a Post Punk band. I am not easily offended and pretty much reckon I have heard it all (or close to it), so I rubbed my hands in glee about New Plymouth band Bittercup's single release for Napkin.
Read More...
Abby Christo - Single Review: Body Language
02 Sep 2019 // by Corinne Rutherford
Since finishing seventh on The X Factor New Zealand in 2015, former Mae Valley girl and Singer-Songwriter Abby Christo has been busy establishing her own musical direction and identity. Her latest single release is Body Language, a catchy, emotional Country Pop song.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • HIGHEST IN THE ROOM
    Travis Scott
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • 10,000 HOURS
    Dan + Shay feat. Justin Bieber
  • LIGHTS UP
    Harry Styles
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • HOT GIRL BUMMER
    blackbear
  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem