25 Jul 2021

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

The Mockers


Andrew Fagan's Mockers were hugely successful in an early-mid 80s New Zealand obsessed with then-current crop of British pop. Fagan's vocal inflection (slightly nasal, almost morrissey like at times) were the absolute focal point of the band, a pop-orientated rotating cast of support men, specifically noteable for the mammoth hit (and a genuine kiwi classic, despite how british it sounds) 'forever tuesday morning'.

The band initially formed in 1979 as The Ambitious Vegetables, a highly visible member of the Wellington terrace community with the line-up of Gordon Costello, Andrew Fagan, Gary Curtis and Charlie Mannell who were all at Rongotai College together. Their original songs were written by Gordon Costello when he was aged approximately 10, eg, "Strathmore Slum Shuffle", etc, etc. Gary Curtis wrote many of their songs as well and continued on to write most of the music for The Mockers.

The lineup later became Andrew Fagan, Gary Curtis, Dean Hazelwood, Geoff Hayden, Tim Wedde and Brett Adams. Fagan (who had gone by the pseudonym 'crumbed cutler' in usual punk fashion) redubbed the band The Mockers with the original band line-up splintering (the others would surface as the red around the same time as the mockers made their debut). Later members included Murray and Gordon Costello, Brendan Fitzgerald, and Steve Thorpe.

Andrew Fagan won Top Male Vocalist of the Year in the 1985 RIANZ Awards.

The Ambitious Vegetables was the pre-Mockers band. Their original line-up was: Andrew Fagan (vocals), Gordon Costello (lead guitar), Gary Curtis (bass & vocals) and Chas Mannell (drums).

The original Mockers line-up was Andrew Fagan, Gary Curtis, Chas Mannell and Dale Moynihan (guitar). This line-up lasted until 1982 when the members were variously fired by Fagan.

The Ambitious Vegetables formed at Rongotai College in 1979. They appeared on Radio With Pictures with their original tune 'Who Needs It'.

Band Members:
Andrew Fagan (guitar, vocals)
Gary Curtis (keyboards, vocals)
Dean Hazelwood
Geoff Hayden
Tim Wedde
Brett Adams
Murry Costello
Gordon Costello
Brendan Fitzgerald
Steve Thorpe
Paul Lightfoot (guitar) 1984





  • Auckland

Best Chart Placings

Image Galleries

Comments (Newest First)

There are currently no comments for this artist.

Search for Bands/Artists:

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
    Ed Sheeran
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
    Glass Animals
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem