18 Jul 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable

08 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand?

Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?

I don’t know why but having lived in both cities there is a difference. Something a bit more of a small(er) town mentality. More of a scene, especially when it comes to Hardcore music.

Whatever it is long may it continue as Hamilton/Auckland outfit Amanaki have just produced a brutal collection of songs that are as simple in their complexity as they are brutal in their beauty.

The Immutable EP opens with the heartfelt Everything. An atmospheric opening melts into an almost tribal chant that soon shifts gear into more familiar territory. It is only 2 mins long and the perfect indicator of what is to follow

Return ups the gears as its lyrics are spat into a maelstrom of pummeling drums and intricate guitar. From the opening riff it never lets up. Like someone perfectly summed up on the Amanaki Facebook page “this makes me want to flail like a fish on dry land”

The lyrics on this EP tend to follow a theme of unity with friends/lovers and standing up against the shit that life/people can throw at you. Conflicting emotions of love and hate as always blurred by the day to day of life. It is all fuel for the fire

Pressure is a full on diatribe of pent up anger being released whilst realising that at the end there is always hope and friendship as we all go through the same shit together.

Something that affects far too many people is addressed in Domestics. Given the subject matter it is one of the more melodic tracks but loses none of the venom “your fists don’t show love” Exactly!

Hypocrite is my favourite track. It punches and kicks and then breathes in before unleashing again. It is exhausting. Played live this one is going to be a killer. One of the catchier tracks it shows why Amanaki are way ahead of most of their contemporaries.

Overcast connected with me with its message of you are not alone as I am sitting in the UK writing this today having just found out that Keith Flint took his own life.

Many hardcore bands might have lyrics that get dismissed because of the nature of the music and the way it is delivered but Amanaki have far more to say than most of the shite you will ever hear on the radio.

Roots is an interesting closer. Just 58 seconds long with no lyrics it shows a diversity and willingness to experiment. Just as it builds it abruptly stops leaving a distinct sense of satisfaction with what I have just heard over the past 15 mins.

The production is excellent, the musicianship faultless. One of the best collections of songs I have heard in a long time. I bought the EP.

You should too.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Danny McCrum - Single Review: Hustle Bustle
09 Jul 2019 // by Paul Goddard
For those of you who don't know Danny McCrum has been around for a while and had a number of releases and worked with a long list is amazing musicians including Eric Clapton, John Butler Trio and John Mayer, to name drop a few.He lives and breathes his music and also works on a podcast with Bobby Kennedy (OpShop) that is worth checking out called Don't Give Up Your Day Job, as well as running his own entertainment and management company Paper Planes.
Read More...
Dead Favours - Album Review: Misbehaviour
21 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Back in 2016 Jared Wrennall stepped out from behind the tub thumping pop/rock masterpiece that was Steriogram, picked up the guitar and got to work on putting together New Zealand’s next chart bothering Rock n Roll machine. Now after 3 years and 3 singles we finally have the full-blown debut album Misbehaviour.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alien Weaponry @ Underworld, London -16/06/2019
18 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
You have got to admire Alien Weaponry’s dedication and commitment. Back in 2016 they said “there is no plan B and that is good as it means we have to deliver on plan A” And deliver is just what they have done.
Read More...
Gig Review: Miss June @ The Old Blue Last, London - 11/06/2019
12 Jun 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Tonight just blew my mind.Here I am in London town and just checked into one of the funkiest/quirkiest (usually code word for SHITE on booking.
Read More...
The Backchat - Single Review: Read My Mind
11 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Relationships are a complex beast. The title of this debut single from Auckland based The Backchat is going to be familiar with anyone who has ever had a relationship that lasted more than 5 mins.
Read More...
The Echo Ohs - Single Review: Fool
03 May 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Check out some of the ways that have been used to describe the sound Auckland three piece The Echo Ohs create. It is pretty entertaining, psych cowboy, Psych Spaghetti surf?
Read More...
Sean Bodley - Album Review: I Am Human
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Instrumental music is a concept that I have often struggled with. The first time I really connected with it was when I first heard the brick in your face abrasiveness of Mogwai.
Read More...
Sit Down In Front - Single Review: Rain
26 Apr 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It is pissing down. London Town, it’s Spring 2019 and a storm named Hannah has decided to make herself known in all her howling wind and icy rain glory.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SENORITA
    Shawn Mendes And Camila Cabello
  • OLD TOWN ROAD (REMIX)
    Lil Nas X feat. Billy Ray Cyrus
  • BEAUTIFUL PEOPLE
    Ed Sheeran feat. Khalid
  • I DON'T CARE
    Ed Sheeran And Justin Bieber
  • GOODBYES
    Post Malone feat. Young Thug
  • SOMEONE YOU LOVED
    Lewis Capaldi
  • BAD GUY
    Billie Eilish
  • THE GIT UP
    Blanco Brown
  • TRUTH HURTS
    Lizzo
  • CROSS ME
    Ed Sheeran feat. Chance The Rapper And PnB Rock
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem