25 Mar 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
muzic.net.nz 20th Anniversary with Written By Wolves, Skinny Hobos, Dead Favours, Coridian and Rebel Sound Radio. Auckland May 4 2019!

Amanaki - EP Review: Immutable

08 Mar 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard
What is it with Hamilton and its ability to create some of the best Hardcore bands in New Zealand?

Maybe like the way all the hotels and shops turn their backs on the mighty Waikato river, the people who form/join bands there turn their noses up at what is going on with the “I wanna get played on the Rock” mentality of some of the more well-known Auckland acts?

I don’t know why but having lived in both cities there is a difference. Something a bit more of a small(er) town mentality. More of a scene, especially when it comes to Hardcore music.

Whatever it is long may it continue as Hamilton/Auckland outfit Amanaki have just produced a brutal collection of songs that are as simple in their complexity as they are brutal in their beauty.

The Immutable EP opens with the heartfelt Everything. An atmospheric opening melts into an almost tribal chant that soon shifts gear into more familiar territory. It is only 2 mins long and the perfect indicator of what is to follow

Return ups the gears as its lyrics are spat into a maelstrom of pummeling drums and intricate guitar. From the opening riff it never lets up. Like someone perfectly summed up on the Amanaki Facebook page “this makes me want to flail like a fish on dry land”

The lyrics on this EP tend to follow a theme of unity with friends/lovers and standing up against the shit that life/people can throw at you. Conflicting emotions of love and hate as always blurred by the day to day of life. It is all fuel for the fire

Pressure is a full on diatribe of pent up anger being released whilst realising that at the end there is always hope and friendship as we all go through the same shit together.

Something that affects far too many people is addressed in Domestics. Given the subject matter it is one of the more melodic tracks but loses none of the venom “your fists don’t show love” Exactly!

Hypocrite is my favourite track. It punches and kicks and then breathes in before unleashing again. It is exhausting. Played live this one is going to be a killer. One of the catchier tracks it shows why Amanaki are way ahead of most of their contemporaries.

Overcast connected with me with its message of you are not alone as I am sitting in the UK writing this today having just found out that Keith Flint took his own life.

Many hardcore bands might have lyrics that get dismissed because of the nature of the music and the way it is delivered but Amanaki have far more to say than most of the shite you will ever hear on the radio.

Roots is an interesting closer. Just 58 seconds long with no lyrics it shows a diversity and willingness to experiment. Just as it builds it abruptly stops leaving a distinct sense of satisfaction with what I have just heard over the past 15 mins.

The production is excellent, the musicianship faultless. One of the best collections of songs I have heard in a long time. I bought the EP.

You should too.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Fallstate - Single/Video Review: Who The Fuck Is Cameron Brookes?
15 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I like Fallstate. Their live show is full of energy and mayhem and mixes a harder edge with the pop rock blast.
Read More...
Outside In - Single Review: Pass On The Flag
08 Mar 2019 // by Paul Goddard
This new single Pass On The Flag, from Auckland's Outside In is a grower. Produced by Dave Rhodes, it was always going to sound great.
Read More...
Suckafish - EP Review: Berley Bomb
25 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
When this first assaulted my eardrums, I thought fuck no here we go again. Cheesy vocals with equally cheesy lyrics and a punk beat pushing a turd uphill making a noise that could almost make Deja Voodoo sound good.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Prodigy @ Trust Arena, Auckland - 5/02/2019
06 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
As I walk into the huge hall at Trust Arena a few hundred people are moving front of stage to what I initially thought was just music through the PA. Nope it is Enschway.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lily Allen with Bene @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/02/2019
03 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Hailing from Grey Lynn and still a teenager I am guessing the nerves were pumping before Bene took the stage at Spark Arena tonight. Making the shift from small venues like Neck of the Woods to this huge hanger is a daunting task but tonight you wouldn't have thought so.
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single/Video Review: Who Decides?
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
I rarely get the opportunity to describe a piece of music as beautiful. My preference is dark, twisted, loud, abrasive noise that would most often be described as brutal.
Read More...
Papercity - Single Review: Plastic
02 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back. They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 31/01/2019
01 Feb 2019 // by Paul Goddard
It’s pretty apt that Jon Toogood is playing at Anthology Lounge. Kind of sums up the whole vibe of his acoustic tour.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TALK
    Khalid And Disclosure
  • SUCKER
    Jonas Brothers
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • BREAK UP WITH YOUR GIRLFRIEND, I'M BORED
    Ariana Grande
  • 7 RINGS
    Ariana Grande
  • DANCING WITH A STRANGER
    Sam Smith And Normani
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • I'M SO TIRED...
    Lauv And Troye Sivan
  • WISH YOU WERE GAY
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem