7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Papercity - Single Review: Plastic

02 Feb 2019 // A review by Paul Goddard

Papercity have been coming up through the ranks for a while now following the well trodden path of Rockquest a few years back.

They have matured a lot since 2013 single Time Will Find You and their new single Plastic is pure pop and catchy as hell.

On the face of it Plastic is a simple song. It starts with a pulsating kick beat and Alex’s vocals slide in perfectly. Just a few lines in and we are dropped into the first hook which is going to be stuck in my head all day “Don’t want your plastic Nirvana” that along with the refrain towards the end "If you say so" helps create a very well written piece of pop that could be a huge hit for the band if it gets picked up by radio.

The production is slick and it is clear the everything about the band shows they know what they want and where they want to be.

They have something else that might help them stand out from the crowd.

Underneath the pop sheen you can almost sense the guitars and angst itching to break out. There is a mixture of genres and influences that can be heard throughout this track. They know how to craft a song. This is pop with an edginess to it.

Plastic is a song with multiple layers, it builds, soars, has you in it’s grip instantly and makes you feel good. I have had it on repeat all morning and can't get it out of my head.

This one will have you singing all day. Plastic definitely isn't throwaway.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for Papercity.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem