19 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Scalper - EP Review: Want

12 Dec 2017 // A review by Paul Goddard
I read a Facebook post from a friend of mine in the UK recently who writes reviews. It went something like this "somebody please send me some music I can feel enough to believe it".

That statement rings so true. Music is ultimately about how it makes you feel not how good the bass player is or what a killer voice the singer has or how you wish the drummer could be more like Dave Grohl. It is an emotional connection and that is why it doesn't even matter what genre the music is.

If it makes you feel something, happy, sad, angry, thoughtful, then it has connected. The worst music is where you feel nothing, complete indifference, lift muzac. Same when bands play live. if you don't feel it then you don't care and you just lost two hours of your life you will never get back.

This review took me a while to write. Not because I was struggling to have something to say but because I have had this EP on repeat almost every day since it was sent to me.

The four songs on here are not technically, musically stunning. Nor are the almost menacingly whispered vocals. This is why these songs exactly validate my point about emotional connection. This music is stripped back, scalped to the bone, raw pure emotion and it CONNECTS.

The primal beats and dark squeaks and squeals are punctuated by an almost tribal repetition of words. It takes you to a point where you are just chanting the refrain without maybe even knowing what the song is about (nothing wrong with that, you can connect with the lyrics later). You just know that it makes you feel something.

The songs on this EP are dark but simultaneously uplifting. They agitate and sooth in equal measure. They make you feel and they make you think.

This is rare nowadays in this consumer filled throwaway "post everything you see (not feel) society" where everyone becomes numb to what is going on around them. We are human we need to connect. Scalper is here and he has chosen to cut communication to the bone, through his music, to the raw soul. You should search him, you should "like" this and if you are human you will feel this and you should be his "friend".


Review written by Paul Goddard
 

About Scalper

Scalper is Nadeem Shafi, born and raised in East London of Pakistani descent. First seen in Aotearoa New Zealand at WOMAD 1997 as the vocalist for the British band Fun-da-mental. Now based on the wild West Coast of Auckland, having moved here in 2007. Scalper is Hip-Hop like you’ve never heard it before. Moody, gritty beats with introspective lyrics that conjure visions of epic proportions, and an electrifying live performance that demands attention.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Scalper

Releases

Want
Year: 2017
Type: EP
The Emperor's Clothes
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Butchers Bakers
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Flesh & Bones
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Trepidations - Single Review: I Can't Go On
13 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
To say this is lo-fi is an understatement. The conversation within the band before they recorded this song I imagine sounds something like this,Will Saunders - “Let's get a band together and record a song.
Read More...
The Vazey Collective - Album Review: TVC
11 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
If you like your music straight down the middle of the road, no shocks, surprises, twists and turns just good ol’ country/blues rock 'n roll then this album is for you. Rob Vazey has put together an impressive collection of musicians for this debut album which was recorded at Studio 38 in Auckland.
Read More...
Plum Green - Album Review: Sound Recordings
04 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Plum Green - remember this name. It is easy to remember and if you listen to this album you will never forget it.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/11/2018
02 Dec 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Preparing for this review was hilarious. Do a Google search for Racing and yep everything that involves coming first (nope, not those kind of websites) is there except the band.
Read More...
Grant Duncan - Album Review: Early Morning Rise
18 Nov 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes music grabs you instantly, some music can be instantly dismissed, and some music deserves to be played over and over before it can be fully appreciated. I have had Early Morning Rise the new album from Grant Duncan for a while.
Read More...
Missy - Single/Video Review: Hate Me
29 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
I think most of us have been in a relationship at some point that is both toxic and intoxicating. On the surface it seems simple, we like/love each other so we can get through anything right?
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 26/10/2018
27 Oct 2018 // by Paul Goddard
It’s 1999 and I am in the UK, never heard of a band called Shihad. MTV or some other show plays this video with a band all dressed in white looking completely insane and there is this speed driven riff going off.
Read More...
Gaz Coombes @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 17/09/2018
18 Sep 2018 // by Paul Goddard
Gaz Coombes along with his mates in Supergrass was part of the soundtrack to many of my heady nights out in the UK in the nineties. They were lumped into the whole Britpop scene by the media there but stood out due to in large part to the observational, conversational songwriting and lyrical style that has since been championed by Alex Turner and Arctic Monkeys.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem