22 Nov 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bespin - Single Review: East of Her

07 Sep 2017 // A review by Kerry Kingi
Auckland three-piece and Critics Choice prize winners Bespin return with a new track - East of Her.

The song intro starts with a synthesised sound and a bass with an Interesting effect drawing you in. The vocals come in sounding smooth with generous reverb and sustain effects. Ambient sounds and echo's with a hint of a alternative vibe on this one.

After only listening to this song for a minute, their song takes me on a journey back to the late 90's, the alternative scene of Smashing pumpkins, Soundgarden and Alice in Chains to name a few, I can't quite put my finger on the influence of who I think it sounds similar too. At 1:32 minutes, the guitars start playing a catchy melody line with a dreamy bassline and background chords in a sea of reverb.

At this point of the song I was still having flashbacks and very interested to see where this song was going. It is a slow paced song but it sounds powerful with interesting arrangements and talented vocals. 2 minutes into the song, the drumbeat finally drops and the song is sounding full and well mixed and mastered. 2:50 minutes is my favourite part of the song; there's a bridge that changes the song slightly eventually returning to the original riff, the vocals really shine on this part of the song.

All the elements of this band is on point! There's some strong potential here and I'm looking forward to hearing more from this band in the future.


Review written by Kerry Kingi
 

Releases

Osiris
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kerry Kingi

Scizzorhands - Single Review: Money In, Money Out
10 Nov 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
DJ and producer Scizzorhands has released his debut single, Money In, Money Out, featuring Diggy Dupe and it's a polished release which further cements that Hip-Hop is making a comeback.Starting with an interesting guitar and bass duet which sounds kind of jazzy, it soon morphs into a catchy release when the beat drops.
Read More...
J Plates - EP Review: New Perspectives
02 Nov 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
Jungle DnB Producer J Plates has been super busy in the studio, having just finished a new 5-track EP called New Perspectives. He even has another 5-track EP complete and ready to drop at the end of November.
Read More...
ABRZY - Single Review: Isolation
17 Oct 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
The latest single by hip-hop rapper ABRZY is called Isolation. Starting off with some interesting snyth guitar sounds on the intro, ABRZY's vocals have a clean rapping style, reminiscent of the late 2010's new hip-hop sound.
Read More...
Gig Review: Concord Dawn @ Yot Club, Raglan - 30/08/2019
04 Sep 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
NZ Drum and Bass Legends Concord Dawn re-united for a 20th Anniversary tour around NZ and Rarotonga where Evan (Kiljoy) currently resides. Kiljoy has recently released new music on Digital's label Function Records, and it was very exciting to finally hear some new music from Concord Dawn when they released their newest EP 1999 last month in celebration of 20 years of Concord Dawn.
Read More...
Raiza Biza - Single Review: Stolen Youth
28 Aug 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
“I was woken one day by the truth, those demons tried to steal my youth”Here's the latest offering from Raiza Biza - the first track from his upcoming album - Stolen Youth. Beginning with Raiza's vocals and a sweet sounding guitar melody, this song is deep and sung from the soul.
Read More...
ABRZY - Single Review: For My Dogs
25 Aug 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
For My Dogs is the latest track from ABRZY, featuring Mather Be. The track starts off with a vibing synth sound with a resounding intro.
Read More...
Lil Benjamonious - Single Review: Ride With Me
16 Aug 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
Ride With Me is the debut release from Lil Benjamonious, and it hits the ground running with some striking keyboards and smooth synth sounds, as well as an old school bicycle bell ringing in the background.Capturing your attention from the very start, Lil Benjamonious takes a 'go large or go home' approach, making the bass stand out from all of the other musical arrangements.
Read More...
Concord Dawn - EP Review: 1999
02 Aug 2019 // by Kerry Kingi
The mighty Concord Dawn have reunited and have been busy in the studio writing a new EP called 1999. It consists of four new tracks; 1999, Surgeon Wobble, Acres and Fenris.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kerry Kingi

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROXANNE
    Arizona Zervas
  • PLEASE DON'T GO
    Six60
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • THE GREATEST
    Six60
  • LONG GONE
    Six60
  • MEMORIES
    Maroon 5
  • CIRCLES
    Post Malone
  • RAINING
    Six60
  • CATCHING FEELINGS
    DRAX Project feat. Six60
  • NEVER ENOUGH
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem