16 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Inspiration

10 Jun 2017 // A review by Lora Thompson

As I downloaded this track to begin listening I really had no idea what to expect.


Actually that's a lie,I had heard a few of Ryan's previous offerings – Little Green Dragon (2008), The Lunar Sea (2011) and The Buzz Tapes (2012) - So based on this I expected an awesome display of guitar, and that's exactly what I got – one of NZ's best and highly under-rated guitarists.


I did not expect it to be instrumental, and it's rare that a song can captivate me without lyrics, but this one definitely did.

The song continues to build from a humble acoustic riff into a soaring,loud rock instrumental over a 3 minute period, accompanied by some simple and effective synth programming – sometimes so many extra layers and melodies come into the mix it's hard to tell which parts are done by a synth and which are guitars – to me it's almost similar to Guns n' Roses' November Rain, in the way it continues to build.


The initial tones have a bit of a Latin feel to them which is nice, then breaking into a rock drum beat halfway through it really picks the song up a notch.


I sincerely hope that Ryan has big plans for this new material because it definitely has universal appeal, I can't wait to hear more.


You can find info on Ryan's back catalogue and everything you need to know at http://www.ryankershawmusic.com/.

 

About Ryan Kershaw

Ryan Kershaw a guitarist who was first known in New Zealand for his psychedelic guitar playing in a genre he called 'Buzzy'.

Ryan Kershaw is a musician and music educator, author of "Use Your Buzz To Play The Guitar" and creator of the Musicians Confidence Course. He has helped to strengthen the music education community in New Zealand by bringing organisations together including Music Education New Zealand Aotearoa, SmokefreeRockquest, and IMNZ. He is the founder of the New Zealand Underground Festival, which provided New Zealand underground musicians with a platform to connect with the industry, and currently writes for The Guitar Association Of New Zealand, Audioculture and Muzic.net.nz. Consultations are available with Ryan - email: ryankershawpresents@gmail.com

visit www.ryan-kershaw.com for more info on how you can get help for your music

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ryan Kershaw

Releases

The Buzz Tapes
Year: 2012
Type: Album
The Lunar Sea
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Yesterday's Gone
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Little Green Dragon
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lora Thompson

Festival Review: Homegrown 2018
10 Apr 2018 // by Lora Thompson
It was a cloudy yet thankfully calm Saturday in beautiful capital city when we arrived at the waterfront at 1pm. After collecting my pass, the first stop was up-and-comers Dead Favours on the Rock Stage.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Album Review: L.A.B
12 Dec 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Needless to say I have seen these boys play live and had long anticipated the release of the self-title album from L.A.
Read More...
Tunes of I - Single Review: Kiss the Sky
04 Nov 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Wellington dub-rockers Tunes of I just never stop. After a crazy couple of years touring their debut album Restless, they're back with the first single off what will be their third release, and EP called Wicked Ways – due for release on the 17th November.
Read More...
Merrin - Album Review: 1
12 Oct 2017 // by Lora Thompson
From first listen, Merrin's 1 has evolved in leaps and bounds from their earlier singles Sin and Mr Dominant the band are now bringing a much heavier and refined hard rock feel than their previous work. The Album begins with the newest single Durty Little Secret and quickly and easily segways into the heavier, riffier Burn it Up.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Fabric
26 Sep 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Fabric (Released September 2017) is the 6th Full-length studio offering from Wellington-based band The Black Seeds – and the 12 track album certainly does not disappoint. The band have been around since 1998, with their Global Breakthrough album generally considered to be their 2006 release Enter the Dojo.
Read More...
The Nukes - Album Review: III
01 Apr 2017 // by Lora Thompson
I have had the pleasure of reviewing the full-length album III by NZ's original Ukulele Trio – The Nukes. Dave Parker, David 'Snapper' Thiele, and Ben Collier are a power-trio of NZ music's finest – former credits include Goldenhorse, Rhythm Cage and The Parker Project – as well as Thiele's extensive contribution to the local music community through Kiwi FM.
Read More...
Poison Skies - EP Review: Day to Defy
23 Nov 2016 // by Lora Thompson
The debut EP Day to Defy from Poison Skies delivers a familiar pop-punk kick while nailing their powerful and catchy sound. The EP begins with their upbeat single Eighty Six, leading into the heavier half-time thrash of Stop and Breathe – The catchy, melodic chorus in this second track provides a stark contrast against a well-orchestrated wall of noise.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Album Review: The 11th Sky
22 Oct 2016 // by Lora Thompson
Wellington Electro-Soul outfit Electric Wire Hustle released their 3rd album The 11th Sky on September 30th2016. EWH first appeared in the public eye with their self titled album in 2009 , and since then have also released Love Can Prevail in 2014 which was a world wide success that saw the band achieve some Cult Fame in the UK and Europe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lora Thompson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem