21 Oct 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Electric Wire Hustle - Album Review: The 11th Sky

22 Oct 2016 // A review by Lora Thompson

Wellington Electro-Soul outfit Electric Wire Hustle released their 3rd album The 11th Sky on September 30th2016.

EWH first appeared in the public eye with their self titled album in 2009 , and since then have also released Love Can Prevail in 2014 which was a world wide success that saw the band achieve some Cult Fame in the UK and Europe.

This album combines some soulful grooves and smooth vocal harmonies with their tried and true Dub/electro rhythms.

It begins with the appropriately titled Go Slow, before dropping you into the hard-hitting and catchy, sample driven hip hop/soul grooves of Troublemakers. This song tells a tale with lyrics that seem familiar and personal to the listener.

The band continues to showcase their diverse range of influences in the following 5 tracks; with the up-beat feel of tracks Aeons and Golden Ladder, to the slow, soulful ballad I Light a Candle.

A personal highlight for me was the 8th track Red Window, which has a soulful Dub feel, reminiscent of early Fat Freddy's Drop. This track combines thick, soaring vocal harmonies, with a catchy guitar hook and a melody which very gently reels you in until you realize you've listened to it five times!

The final track March features a beautiful guest vocal from Experimental Soul artist Deva Mahal and is well worth a listen.

- Lora Thompson

 

About Electric Wire Hustle

With their debut self-titled album Electric Wire Hustle achieved cult status. A number one song on Hype Machine, five-star reviews from the likes of Okayplayer, and BBC Radio support from Gilles Peterson and Benji B secured them unwavering support internationally with a flood of production requests following.

Their sophomore album Love Can Prevail has continued the trend, winning best electronic album at the 2015 New Zealand Music Awards. Added to that is previous support from The New York Times and Wax Poetics, making The Listeners Top 10 albums of 2014 and winning the official stamp of approval of Questlove, The Roots and their imprint Okayplayer Records who alongside Somethink Sounds released the album in September of that year.

Demand for their live show has seen EWH perform in 18 countries, appearing at festivals such as Glastonbury, Dour, Sonar, Sziget, SXSW, Gilles Peterson’s Worldwide, New York’s CMJ and The Roots Picnic.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Electric Wire Hustle

Releases

The 11th Sky
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Aeons
Year: 2015
Type: EP
If These Are The Last Days
Year: 2014
Type: EP
Love Can Prevail
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Experience
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Electric Wire Hustle
Year: 2009
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lora Thompson

Festival Review: Homegrown 2018
10 Apr 2018 // by Lora Thompson
It was a cloudy yet thankfully calm Saturday in beautiful capital city when we arrived at the waterfront at 1pm. After collecting my pass, the first stop was up-and-comers Dead Favours on the Rock Stage.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Album Review: L.A.B
12 Dec 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Needless to say I have seen these boys play live and had long anticipated the release of the self-title album from L.A.
Read More...
Tunes of I - Single Review: Kiss the Sky
04 Nov 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Wellington dub-rockers Tunes of I just never stop. After a crazy couple of years touring their debut album Restless, they're back with the first single off what will be their third release, and EP called Wicked Ways – due for release on the 17th November.
Read More...
Merrin - Album Review: 1
12 Oct 2017 // by Lora Thompson
From first listen, Merrin's 1 has evolved in leaps and bounds from their earlier singles Sin and Mr Dominant the band are now bringing a much heavier and refined hard rock feel than their previous work. The Album begins with the newest single Durty Little Secret and quickly and easily segways into the heavier, riffier Burn it Up.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Fabric
26 Sep 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Fabric (Released September 2017) is the 6th Full-length studio offering from Wellington-based band The Black Seeds – and the 12 track album certainly does not disappoint. The band have been around since 1998, with their Global Breakthrough album generally considered to be their 2006 release Enter the Dojo.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Inspiration
10 Jun 2017 // by Lora Thompson
As I downloaded this track to begin listening I really had no idea what to expect. Actually that's a lie,I had heard a few of Ryan's previous offerings – Little Green Dragon (2008), The Lunar Sea (2011) and The Buzz Tapes (2012) - So based on this I expected an awesome display of guitar, and that's exactly what I got – one of NZ's best and highly under-rated guitarists.
Read More...
The Nukes - Album Review: III
01 Apr 2017 // by Lora Thompson
I have had the pleasure of reviewing the full-length album III by NZ's original Ukulele Trio – The Nukes. Dave Parker, David 'Snapper' Thiele, and Ben Collier are a power-trio of NZ music's finest – former credits include Goldenhorse, Rhythm Cage and The Parker Project – as well as Thiele's extensive contribution to the local music community through Kiwi FM.
Read More...
Poison Skies - EP Review: Day to Defy
23 Nov 2016 // by Lora Thompson
The debut EP Day to Defy from Poison Skies delivers a familiar pop-punk kick while nailing their powerful and catchy sound. The EP begins with their upbeat single Eighty Six, leading into the heavier half-time thrash of Stop and Breathe – The catchy, melodic chorus in this second track provides a stark contrast against a well-orchestrated wall of noise.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lora Thompson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • BE ALRIGHT
    Dean Lewis
  • I LOVE IT
    Kanye West And Lil Pump
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • ZEZE
    Kodak Black feat. Travis Scott And Offset
  • PROMISES
    Calvin Harris And Sam Smith feat. Jessie Reyez
  • FALLING DOWN
    Lil Peep And Xxxtentacion
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem