13 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Nukes - Album Review: III

01 Apr 2017 // A review by Lora Thompson

I have had the pleasure of reviewing the full-length album III by NZ's original Ukulele Trio – The Nukes.

Dave Parker, David 'Snapper' Thiele, and Ben Collier are a power-trio of NZ music's finest – former credits include Goldenhorse, Rhythm Cage and The Parker Project – as well as Thiele's extensive contribution to the local music community through Kiwi FM.

The Nuke's have hit the ground running with their third offering to date – reaching the top 10 position in the iTunes charts within a few days of release.

The first thing that strikes me whenever I listen to The Nukes is how happy and upbeat their music is – while lyrical content may sometimes contain some very real, gritty content, its often coated in a metaphorical or poetic type of rhythm reminiscent of Tom Waits. This record in particular seems to have a distinctly 'Kiwiana' – Feel, with lyrics about the IRD or mentions of towns like Napier or Te Awamutu and titles like Pohutukawa Blooms, this is an album with roots that are un-deniably New Zealand.

Their thick 3 piece vocal harmonies and upbeat bluesy piano and Ukelele/Banjolele/Trumpet sort of give the album almost a Beach Boys meets Ragtime jazz feel in tracks like Palomine, which is offset with a nice contrast by the reggae feel of tracks like On Your Side and Indigenous – though each track is of similar instrumentation and production, they seem to really diversify in genre from song to song, even having trumpets, piano, guitar solos and guest vocals from other artists on different tracks.

A personal highlight for me was the 9th track Salad Dragon – not quite sure on the official story behind this one but it almost seems like it could be a kids story transformed into a song?

The band list under their biographies on their website 'semi-fictional' and they seem to have a tongue-in-cheek nature about their music which lends itself to a few light-hearted laughs.

The album is available on iTunes, Spotify, Deezer or directly from their website http://www.thenukes.co.nz/

 

About The Nukes

The Nukes from West Auckland are far more than a ukulele band. They are high entertainment. Part vaudeville, part rat-pack, part musical car crash. This talented trio deliver an engaging mix of humour and originality that audiences love.
The innocent little uke is the instrument of choice and audiences will be staggered by what they are able achieve with it. Great song writing, musicianship and 3-part harmony combine to create a truly memorable experience.

Rollicking and rolling out of the woolliest corners of Auckland’s wild west, it’s……. The Nukes, New Zealand’s most feared and revered original ukulele trio.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Nukes

Releases

The Nukes III
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Lora Thompson

Festival Review: Homegrown 2018
10 Apr 2018 // by Lora Thompson
It was a cloudy yet thankfully calm Saturday in beautiful capital city when we arrived at the waterfront at 1pm. After collecting my pass, the first stop was up-and-comers Dead Favours on the Rock Stage.
Read More...
L.A.B. - Album Review: L.A.B
12 Dec 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Needless to say I have seen these boys play live and had long anticipated the release of the self-title album from L.A.
Read More...
Tunes of I - Single Review: Kiss the Sky
04 Nov 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Wellington dub-rockers Tunes of I just never stop. After a crazy couple of years touring their debut album Restless, they're back with the first single off what will be their third release, and EP called Wicked Ways – due for release on the 17th November.
Read More...
Merrin - Album Review: 1
12 Oct 2017 // by Lora Thompson
From first listen, Merrin's 1 has evolved in leaps and bounds from their earlier singles Sin and Mr Dominant the band are now bringing a much heavier and refined hard rock feel than their previous work. The Album begins with the newest single Durty Little Secret and quickly and easily segways into the heavier, riffier Burn it Up.
Read More...
The Black Seeds - Album Review: Fabric
26 Sep 2017 // by Lora Thompson
Fabric (Released September 2017) is the 6th Full-length studio offering from Wellington-based band The Black Seeds – and the 12 track album certainly does not disappoint. The band have been around since 1998, with their Global Breakthrough album generally considered to be their 2006 release Enter the Dojo.
Read More...
Ryan Kershaw - Single Review: Inspiration
10 Jun 2017 // by Lora Thompson
As I downloaded this track to begin listening I really had no idea what to expect. Actually that's a lie,I had heard a few of Ryan's previous offerings – Little Green Dragon (2008), The Lunar Sea (2011) and The Buzz Tapes (2012) - So based on this I expected an awesome display of guitar, and that's exactly what I got – one of NZ's best and highly under-rated guitarists.
Read More...
Poison Skies - EP Review: Day to Defy
23 Nov 2016 // by Lora Thompson
The debut EP Day to Defy from Poison Skies delivers a familiar pop-punk kick while nailing their powerful and catchy sound. The EP begins with their upbeat single Eighty Six, leading into the heavier half-time thrash of Stop and Breathe – The catchy, melodic chorus in this second track provides a stark contrast against a well-orchestrated wall of noise.
Read More...
Electric Wire Hustle - Album Review: The 11th Sky
22 Oct 2016 // by Lora Thompson
Wellington Electro-Soul outfit Electric Wire Hustle released their 3rd album The 11th Sky on September 30th2016. EWH first appeared in the public eye with their self titled album in 2009 , and since then have also released Love Can Prevail in 2014 which was a world wide success that saw the band achieve some Cult Fame in the UK and Europe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lora Thompson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem