10 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Devilskin @ Underworld, London - 22/03/17

11 Apr 2017 // A review by James Donaldson

It was a typical chilly March evening and being a new dad I still struggle to make it everywhere on time so I unfortunately missed the two opening bands Eva Plays Dead and Canadians Sumo Cyco however the good news for me is that this is a website that writes exclusively about NZ bands so it really couldn't have worked out better. 

Upon arriving at a busy venue, there was a vibrant atmosphere, and a large number of Kiwi accents to be heard. Looking around, there was as a decent amount of Devilskin merchandise already being sported by the punters and people were clearly there to check the guys out. It had been two years since I had seen Devilskin live and a lot has happened in that time. The anticipation was building. Underworld is a split level venue so I made it down to the bottom level for the full experience. 

After a dramatic intro track and a choreographed stage entrance, complete with smoke cannon, Devilskin didn't hang about and launched straight into Vessel which got the crowd going right from the start. This was followed up by the rocker In Black and crowd favourite Start a Revolution.

As a band they put on an energetic visual show and really got the crowd going which isn't always easy playing away from home and especially with some London audiences.

Jennie Skulander’s vocals were bang on, melodic and powerful, moving effortlessly to a dangerous throaty growl, she owned the stage. Nail Vincent’s guitar playing was top quality, playing some blazing solos, he had his chops down. Although for many years I knew Paul Martin as a lead guitar player he has really made the bass his own with Devilskin and slots right into the groove with drummer Nick.

Sound wise there was very little to complain about, however what started out as a good mix got progressively better through the set and was really cooking at the end.

The band continued through their set playing a mixture of tracks from the 2014 release We Rise and their latest album Be Like the River (2016). They also included a very well executed cover of Heart’s Barracuda

Dedicating Never See the Light to fallen fellow musician Shoki Kamishima, Devilskin closed their set with a very well received Little Pills followed by the obligatory band photo from the stage.

The standout moments were Start a Revolution, Voices, Jennie’s vocals on Violation, Nail’s solo’s, and smoke cannons; just can’t get enough of those at any point in time. The full set list can be seen below.

As I mentioned it’s been 2 years since I have last seen Devilskin and the progression is evident in every aspect of the band - both in the songs and performance. Having known 3/4 of Devilskin for a number of years from the previous bands that they have been in, I am happy to say that these guys are making a dent in the world of international rock music and if they keep going like they are who knows where they will be in another 2 years.

Full Setlist - Devilskin - Underworld, London, 22/03/2017

Vessel
In Black
Start a revolution
House 13 
FYI 
Animal
Voices
Limbs
Mountains
Barracuda
Until You Bleed
Never See the Light
Violation
Little Pills

---

Read James' interview with Nail Vincent here

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By James Donaldson

Gig Review: I Am Giant @ Islington O2 Academy, London - 26/09/17
11 Oct 2017 // by James Donaldson
A surprisingly balmy late September evening in London saw I Am Giant’s first return to the UK for close on a year as part of their Playing with Fire European tour. Hosted at the Islington O2 Academy, the evening was a three band affair featuring Telford’s Grim Fiction, London’s New Volume, and NZ’s own I Am Giant.
Read More...
The Bing Turkby Ensemble - Album Review: Atlantean Night Tourists
15 Jan 2017 // by James Donaldson
After first hearing of Bing Turkby years ago back in good old NZ, I already knew him to be a talented multi-instrumentalist and with such an eccentric album title I was very interested to hear what this record had to offer.   Released on 1st December 2016, Atlantean Night Tourists features Bing Turkby (guitar, vocals, trombone, sax, tenor banjo, accordion), Tyrone T.
Read More...
Lead Us Forth - Album Review: Interlocutor
01 Jun 2016 // by James Donaldson
interlocutor ˌɪntəˈlɒkjʊtə/ nounformal noun: interlocutor; plural noun: interlocutors; noun: interlocutrix; plural noun: interlocutrices    1    a person who takes part in a dialogue or conversation. Creating a dialogue is certainly what it feels like Auckland metal outfit Lead Us Forth are trying to achieve right from the outset of their latest album Interlocutor.
Read More...
View All Articles By James Donaldson

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem