14 Dec 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Bing Turkby Ensemble - Album Review: Atlantean Night Tourists

15 Jan 2017 // A review by jdiddynz

After first hearing of Bing Turkby years ago back in good old NZ, I already knew him to be a talented multi-instrumentalist and with such an eccentric album title I was very interested to hear what this record had to offer.  

Released on 1st December 2016, Atlantean Night Tourists features Bing Turkby (guitar, vocals, trombone, sax, tenor banjo, accordion), Tyrone T. Blowhard (sax), Slapskins McBOOOm (drums), and Ajax MacDeth (bass and backing vocals). The album was recorded at The Stomach and T-Tone Studio B For B in Palmerston North. Engineering duties were undertaken by Nigel Mauchline and Bing Turkby with mastering also done by Nigel Mauchline.

The whole record has a blues rock vibe and in places delves into country, early 90s psychedelic rock, and the horn sections lend an occasional ska/dub feel. The overall vibe reminds me of softer version of early 90's American comedy rock band Green Jelly with a sprinkling of Tenacious D.

There is some interesting lyrical subject matter, a unique humour, and some catchy vocal hooks. In places there is a slightly DIY feel but this, coupled with Bing's Kiwi accent, adds to the charm of the record. 

Some standout moments are:

- The Banjo solo in Boogaloo.
- The Right Channels' blazing opening guitar solo which also has moments reminiscent of the band Helmet.
- The 9 to 42 solo has mega swagger. 
- Vanquish the Necromancer has an acoustic Led Zeppelin-esque chord progression in the opening bars and some flamboyant vocals throughout. 

Difficult to pigeonhole, this record should be taken for what it is. I hope Mr Turkby continues to make more wacky records. From the lyrics in 9 to 42 I quote "I'll just play my guitar, I've been alright so far". 

 

About The Bing Turkby Ensemble

Bing Turkby was born in 1973 in Turakina. Bing started out recording at home by himself, but has since been joined by the soaring Tyrone T. Blowhard on sax, the effervescent Slapskins McBOOOm on drums, and the mighty MacDeth on bass.

"Bing Turkby represents Turakina by putting out way too many albums in his "hayseed surrealist style"
- NZ Musician magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Bing Turkby Ensemble

Releases

Atlantean Night Tourists
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Are You Ensembled?
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Turakina Tales
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Live-Ish!
Year: 2002
Type: Album
The Barrel Is Empty
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Sick Chutney
Year: 2000
Type: Album
Summer Party Album
Year: 1999
Type: Album
... Meets Moslem Sa
Year: 1998
Type: Album
... Grabs You By The Plimentos
Year: 1997
Type: Album

Other Reviews By jdiddynz

Gig Review: I Am Giant @ Islington O2 Academy, London - 26/09/17
11 Oct 2017 // by jdiddynz
A surprisingly balmy late September evening in London saw I Am Giant’s first return to the UK for close on a year as part of their Playing with Fire European tour. Hosted at the Islington O2 Academy, the evening was a three band affair featuring Telford’s Grim Fiction, London’s New Volume, and NZ’s own I Am Giant.
Read More...
Devilskin @ Underworld, London - 22/03/17
11 Apr 2017 // by jdiddynz
It was a typical chilly March evening and being a new dad I still struggle to make it everywhere on time so I unfortunately missed the two opening bands Eva Plays Dead and Canadians Sumo Cyco however the good news for me is that this is a website that writes exclusively about NZ bands so it really couldn't have worked out better.  Upon arriving at a busy venue, there was a vibrant atmosphere, and a large number of Kiwi accents to be heard.
Read More...
Lead Us Forth - Album Review: Interlocutor
01 Jun 2016 // by jdiddynz
interlocutor ˌɪntəˈlɒkjʊtə/ nounformal noun: interlocutor; plural noun: interlocutors; noun: interlocutrix; plural noun: interlocutrices    1    a person who takes part in a dialogue or conversation. Creating a dialogue is certainly what it feels like Auckland metal outfit Lead Us Forth are trying to achieve right from the outset of their latest album Interlocutor.
Read More...
View All Articles By jdiddynz

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • HAPPIER
    Marshmello And Bastille
  • WHEN THE PARTY'S OVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem