29 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Primacy - Gig Review: Primacy @ Bar Eden, Auckland 7/02/2015

20 Feb 2015 // A review by RodrigoHidalgo

The air was thick with excitement outside Bar Eden as everyone knew that tonight three brilliantly picked bands were due to output their musical artform under the category of heavy metal, and heavy it was indeed. Tonight we are graced with instrumental specialists Love Of Chaos who are new to the spotlight, but rest assured are made up of a great selection of experienced, talented musicians from the lands of Auckland.. Next would then be the new band on the block Primacy who are popping their gig cherry tonight as a band but certainly not as individuals, just like Love Of Chaos; Primacy are somewhat an Auckland super group in metal, made up of musicians known for being in other bands. At the end of the night it would be awe-proggy Dead Teach The Living who finish off the night as they export a juicy blend of progressive and extreme metal with a bit of punk sprinkled on top.

I have to be perfectly honest, I did turn up a tad late… but not too late that I missed the majority of Love Of Chaos’ songs. I think i need to reconsider my choice of word to describe their set list, I should probably just say song. Love Of Chaos took me the moment I realized that they were simply playing one long song for the duration of their set which was just over 30 minutes. What I like about these kinds of sets/albums is that when it’s done the right way it ends up sounding epic! For the moments that I was listening to LOC It was very well done and obviously very well rehearsed. If you let yourself be taken by the golden instrumentation outputted by these men, you’d be silly not to realise they are leading you through a roller coaster of emotions, feelings, timbres and essentially is one long story, in musical artform. When you hear Corey Frylander play the drums setting the beat that your heart will be syncing to as you instantly get drawn in, same thing goes when you hear Tim Gainsford transition from his atmospheric melodies to heavy ass riffs.

Next up was the highly anticipated Primacy on stage for the first time ever. For their first time they pulled one hell of a crowd as it was packed to the grills at the bar with a line of at least 2 or 3 people waiting on their beersies. Frontman and personal friend Jason McIver takes to the stage for his set with Primacy and without time to waste they begin playing. The first thing that I actually noticed was that Jason was having a bit of technical issues with his mic as he noticed it was quite sensitive to that darn feedback, after correcting himself quickly he begins singing cleanly which instantly drew everyone in, along with the lights those elements instantly encouraged me to move closer to the stage. It wasn’t just McIver who was pulling me toward the stage, but also Will Bloodfarm’’s beasty, hard-hitting rhythms and of course Adrian Von Brausch monster guitar playing and what could very well be one of the fattest, heaviest, chunkiest guitar tones I’ve heard come out of Auckland, I’m not even exaggerating It’s actually so refreshing to hear. Primacy were doing exceptionally well for their first gig together but I did have a few points that I feel were consistent thoughts of mine as I watched their set. I feel as if they sound great but lacked connection between each other as musicians and also a connection to the crowd. Watching the musicians I noticed they were each more focused in what they were doing in their own little world as opposed to all playing together as a group. Also I noticed that they went a bit out of time at some points.

The Last band to terrorise the neighbors were the mighty Dead Teach The Living hailing from the darker parts of West Auckland and are a band i’d always be happy to see live, saying so I think this would be about my fifth time. It was a shame that not everyone shared my thoughts about them because as soon as Primacy packed down and DTTL set up it’s seemed that 60% of the crowd had left to go home which to me it shows the way the Auckland metal scene is actually. People need to start sticking around for all the bands as opposed to supporting just one band. Anyway, DTTL took the stage for themselves and started to play their first song. There may of not been as many people, but they were sure as hell the only band to have a mosh pit and real crowd movement and I made sure of that myself. Dead Teach graced us with some new material that they been brewing up. To be honest I found that their newer songs actually sound maybe too similar to their songs on their first album. I would definitely be interested to hear what they would sound like if they took a slightly different approach to their music but still keeping their iconic sound they differentiates them from all the other bands from NZ. In totally I had the most fun whilst listening to these crazy musicians.

Overall it was a splendid night with great vibes, sweet music and awesome people at the perfect venue for the occasion, They had some nice beers too.

 

About Primacy

Introducing Primacy, a 5-piece Groove Metal band hailing from West Auckland. Primacy formed in mid 2014 after the split of well know local bands The Blacklight Configuration, Overhaile and Heathen Eyes – the timing was right, the songs were right and the team was right, Primacy came together as a collective around guitarist Adrian Brausch's new and unused material from his former band Overhaile.

Primacy's set takes you on a journey through the metal genre, from songs inspired by bands such as Lamb Of God and American Headcharge to their softer side inspired by bands such as A Perfect Circle and Alice In Chains.

Primacy played their first show to a packed Eden Bar in Auckland city and after 3 shows the band found themselves being hand picked to open for Head Casey at a private industry showcase featuring former Dio guitarist Tracy G.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Primacy

Releases

III
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Failure and Sacrifice
Year: 2016
Type: EP
The Demos
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By RodrigoHidalgo

Paper Cranes - Album Review: The Road Home
13 Apr 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The warm, familiar feeling of serenity surrounded me as I was listening to the newly released album by the incredible Paper Cranes titled The Road Home. I had previously reviewed this band and have been a devoted fan since so when the opportunity to review this album was presented to me I had to take it!
Read More...
The Datsuns - Deep Sleep Album Review
13 Nov 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
So today I'm doing a review on the album Deep Sleep by the legendary 4 piece psychedelic rock outfit The Datsuns, hailing from the depths of Cambridge, New Zealand.This is the sixth full length album they have under their belt, and being a big fan of their previous stuff and having seen them live a number of times I couldn't pass up doing a review for their new album.
Read More...
Paper Cranes @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 13/08/14
12 Sep 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Paper Cranes with White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton @ Wine Cellar, Auckland on 13 August 2014 The much anticipated August night had arrived, Paper Cranes, White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton were playing at the Wine Cellar on K road. I was freaking out a bit because I was running a bit late… when I arrived everyone was outside socializing as if if nothing else was going on so I asked a few people when it starts… Turns out that the event was running a bit late too so essentially I arrived just in time.
Read More...
Truth - Hollow World Album Review
07 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Truth, an Electronic production-duo from the lands of Christchurch. With their new album, Hollow World.
Read More...
The World According To The Difference Engine Album Review
02 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The World According To The Difference Engine is an album mainly written and performed by electronic genius Michael Travis who roams the streets of Auckland. The Difference Engine is a mainly instrumental project started by Michael (2005) and is now collaborating with a number of different artists.
Read More...
Fiona Pears - Swing Driven Thing Album Review
20 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
I don't even know where to begin. I just have to say that simply, I love it!
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Please Find Me Girl Single Review
02 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Listening to Riqi Harawira's new song Please Find Me Girl the first thing I noticed is the really well produced clean acoustic guitar playing in harmony to Riqi's voice which is a brilliant way to start a reggae song with a tasty blend of Blues, Jamaican Reggae and solid syncopated rhythms.  Riqi seems to be singing to a beautiful woman that he is absolutely infatuated with.
Read More...
Eden Roberts - Crying Birds EP Review
28 Mar 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Already hearing of Eden Roberts through X-Factor last year, I was pretty interested to hear what her EP would sound like and in which direction Eden has decided to take her music. Eden Is an 18 year old X-Factor Contestant hailing from Auckland, New Zealand.
Read More...
View All Articles By RodrigoHidalgo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • SAY SO
    Doja Cat
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem