28 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Riqi Harawira - Please Find Me Girl Single Review

02 May 2014 // A review by RodrigoHidalgo

Listening to Riqi Harawira's new song Please Find Me Girl the first thing I noticed is the really well produced clean acoustic guitar playing in harmony to Riqi's voice which is a brilliant way to start a reggae song with a tasty blend of Blues, Jamaican Reggae and solid syncopated rhythms. 

Riqi seems to be singing to a beautiful woman that he is absolutely infatuated with. Singing about how wondrous and beautiful she is and how Riqi is anticipating the moment he can be united with this beautiful woman. I particularly like the lyric "Please find me girl, Walk into my soul" which vividly gives me the impression that he has very strong romantic feelings towards her. 

This song consisted of an upbeat, strongly accented drum, a deep synthy bass, a very well recorded clean acoustic guitar and a nice touch of synth/keyboard behind the mix which was nicely put into four beats to the bar.

Despite the fact that this is a really catchy song and i found myself singing the chorus "Please find me girl'' in my head on the way to uni. I feel as if it wouldn't hurt Riqi if he ventured out a little and did something a bit different throughout out the song. The chorus gets repeated quite a few times. 

I also feel as if the song sounds incomplete with that ending. It seems as the song was at peaking moment then suddenly fades out in a matter of short seconds. If it weren't for that fade out and instead a different ending I would of thought of it as a fully completed song. 

Otherwise, I do like this song. It's catchy, it's home grown and it's surely a nice song to listen to out in the sun. 

 

About Riqi Harawira

He’s shared the stage with some of the biggest names in the business…
Anastasia, Guns ‘n’ Roses, Pearl Jam, Living Color and Faith No More just to name but a few.
He was previously the lead guitarist for New Zealand rock band Dead Flowers.
His 2006 project TRUREAL blended live music and vocals with DJing to create a funky house sound. TRUREAL’s performances in the United States received rave reviews for the innovation in their sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Riqi Harawira

Releases

Mauri
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Sound of the Long White Cloud
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By RodrigoHidalgo

Paper Cranes - Album Review: The Road Home
13 Apr 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The warm, familiar feeling of serenity surrounded me as I was listening to the newly released album by the incredible Paper Cranes titled The Road Home. I had previously reviewed this band and have been a devoted fan since so when the opportunity to review this album was presented to me I had to take it!
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Bar Eden, Auckland 7/02/2015
20 Feb 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The air was thick with excitement outside Bar Eden as everyone knew that tonight three brilliantly picked bands were due to output their musical artform under the category of heavy metal, and heavy it was indeed. Tonight we are graced with instrumental specialists Love Of Chaos who are new to the spotlight, but rest assured are made up of a great selection of experienced, talented musicians from the lands of Auckland..
Read More...
The Datsuns - Deep Sleep Album Review
13 Nov 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
So today I'm doing a review on the album Deep Sleep by the legendary 4 piece psychedelic rock outfit The Datsuns, hailing from the depths of Cambridge, New Zealand.This is the sixth full length album they have under their belt, and being a big fan of their previous stuff and having seen them live a number of times I couldn't pass up doing a review for their new album.
Read More...
Paper Cranes @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 13/08/14
12 Sep 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Paper Cranes with White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton @ Wine Cellar, Auckland on 13 August 2014 The much anticipated August night had arrived, Paper Cranes, White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton were playing at the Wine Cellar on K road. I was freaking out a bit because I was running a bit late… when I arrived everyone was outside socializing as if if nothing else was going on so I asked a few people when it starts… Turns out that the event was running a bit late too so essentially I arrived just in time.
Read More...
Truth - Hollow World Album Review
07 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Truth, an Electronic production-duo from the lands of Christchurch. With their new album, Hollow World.
Read More...
The World According To The Difference Engine Album Review
02 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The World According To The Difference Engine is an album mainly written and performed by electronic genius Michael Travis who roams the streets of Auckland. The Difference Engine is a mainly instrumental project started by Michael (2005) and is now collaborating with a number of different artists.
Read More...
Fiona Pears - Swing Driven Thing Album Review
20 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
I don't even know where to begin. I just have to say that simply, I love it!
Read More...
Eden Roberts - Crying Birds EP Review
28 Mar 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Already hearing of Eden Roberts through X-Factor last year, I was pretty interested to hear what her EP would sound like and in which direction Eden has decided to take her music. Eden Is an 18 year old X-Factor Contestant hailing from Auckland, New Zealand.
Read More...
View All Articles By RodrigoHidalgo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem