21 Jan 2019
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Paper Cranes - Paper Cranes @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 13/08/14

12 Sep 2014 // A review by RodrigoHidalgo

Paper Cranes with White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton @ Wine Cellar, Auckland on 13 August 2014

The much anticipated August night had arrived, Paper Cranes, White Rabbit Black Monkey & Evan Sinton were playing at the Wine Cellar on K road. I was freaking out a bit because I was running a bit late… when I arrived everyone was outside socializing as if if nothing else was going on so I asked a few people when it starts… Turns out that the event was running a bit late too so essentially I arrived just in time.

First up it was a personal friend of mine RJ being the mastermind behind White Rabbit Black Monkey. WRBM is an open book, Every time I see RJ behind a microphone he has a different story to tell and he always manages to draw in my undivided attention. WRBM is known as an open collaboration space for various creative minds to colab with each other and created a tasty blend of some pretty amazing music, What I've always liked about RJ is that he writes songs that are so, Metta. Singing about his mindset when certain things happen, it almost seems as if he writes the first thing that he thinks about when he faces something, It's so honest and is definitely something I look out for when I listen to singer/songwriters. Another thing I loved about the set was how intimate and warm he was with the crowd. He's up there on the stool but so is everyone else in the room, he talks to people and interacts with the crowd at the same time as enduging everyone with the meaning of the song/story he's doing. It was a great set with a lovely flow of songs varying from some up beat major chord songs to some vary dark, ominous style acoustic folk. 

Next up was the awe-inspiring Paper Cranes who will undoubtedly blow your mind every time you watch them or listen to their album. Not necessarily just for their musical talents, but also for their style, creativity, vibe and their connection with each other musically. Paper Cranes are an acoustic/folk inspired band that has been filling hearts with their warm poetry and guitar/piano melodies since 2011 and haven't stopped since. I was curious to see what it would sound like considering this time round it was just the two founding members with most of the band missing since the last time I saw them it was a full band. I found myself a comfortable seat and I let the music into my mind as it resonated in the room. First thing that I noticed is that they put so much soul their music so much that as a reaction everyone else who listens to it feels the same passion. Their poetry that goes with the music is quite perfect for the genre. I felt as if they write songs about things that directly happened to them but in a way left a lot for the audience to draw some kind of message or some sort of metaphor. One of the things that I loved most was that all of the musicians could play more than one instrument, and they did! One song could be just guitar & piano, the next could be piano and melodica then the next would be a guitar and a flute. I would honestly forever go out of my way to see these guys play anyway. 

During the intermission between the last two band I got a chance to speak to some of the artists that played that night and everyone was so nice and it was obvious the Wine Cellar was the perfect place to hold such an event, considering it's whole alternative, classy yet underground vibe. Pretty much everyone that I spoke to that night agreed that all of those acts were great.

Last up was Evan Sinton, A talented singer/songwriter that I've never actually heard of before. Talented more in terms of the beautiful poetry he sung out and the guitar melodies he was laying on top. Despite the fact that Evan is in my opinion quite talented but I personally felt as if his particular style of singing has already been heard many times before, It's not that I don't appreciate it. I just think I've heard this style of Indie acoustic folky almost hipsterish kinda voice in too many indie solo artists lately. That aside though, he's was really creative in terms of the relationship of the music and his poetry. His guitar set this nice, slow, patient pace to the song that really sets the mood for his songs perfectly. All of this smooth instrumentation created a nice foundation for his poetic stories which are essentially what had my attention. They're all heart breaking, thoughtful and relatable to. I do wish that at times that Evan's songs were a bit more intelligible and varied. I like this guy but to be honest i felt a little bored during the set because it was almost as if every song was sung at the same wavelength. I would love to hear some more variations in Evans voice and his guitar melodies. 

Overall it was a fantastic night, filled with good vibes, great music and even greater people in the perfect venue for the occasion. If you ever get the chance to go to one of these shows with any of these bands, Go see them! 

 

About Paper Cranes

Inspired by folk music that harks back to its heady heyday: think old brick fireplaces, good wine, books and conversation; tales of love and loss, heartache and elation, and everyday life. Paper Cranes ??? are a small folksy bunch of goodness – an escape from the cold.

Intertwine Fraser’s love of lyrical poetry and Naomi’s Japanese upbringing, with a great band behind them and you have Paper Cranes ???.? The band weaves their stories into captivating and dynamic live performances, using a diverse range of instruments (shakuhachi, ukelele, mandolin, ocarina, harmonica, accordion), in songs that move between delicacy and outright abandon.

Avoid the rush of modern life – grab a seat and let’s talk.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Paper Cranes

Releases

Voices
Year: 2019
Type: Album
The Road Home
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Oh, Love!
Year: 2012
Type: EP

Other Reviews By RodrigoHidalgo

Paper Cranes - Album Review: The Road Home
13 Apr 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The warm, familiar feeling of serenity surrounded me as I was listening to the newly released album by the incredible Paper Cranes titled The Road Home. I had previously reviewed this band and have been a devoted fan since so when the opportunity to review this album was presented to me I had to take it!
Read More...
Gig Review: Primacy @ Bar Eden, Auckland 7/02/2015
20 Feb 2015 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The air was thick with excitement outside Bar Eden as everyone knew that tonight three brilliantly picked bands were due to output their musical artform under the category of heavy metal, and heavy it was indeed. Tonight we are graced with instrumental specialists Love Of Chaos who are new to the spotlight, but rest assured are made up of a great selection of experienced, talented musicians from the lands of Auckland..
Read More...
The Datsuns - Deep Sleep Album Review
13 Nov 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
So today I'm doing a review on the album Deep Sleep by the legendary 4 piece psychedelic rock outfit The Datsuns, hailing from the depths of Cambridge, New Zealand.This is the sixth full length album they have under their belt, and being a big fan of their previous stuff and having seen them live a number of times I couldn't pass up doing a review for their new album.
Read More...
Truth - Hollow World Album Review
07 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Truth, an Electronic production-duo from the lands of Christchurch. With their new album, Hollow World.
Read More...
The World According To The Difference Engine Album Review
02 Jul 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
The World According To The Difference Engine is an album mainly written and performed by electronic genius Michael Travis who roams the streets of Auckland. The Difference Engine is a mainly instrumental project started by Michael (2005) and is now collaborating with a number of different artists.
Read More...
Fiona Pears - Swing Driven Thing Album Review
20 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
I don't even know where to begin. I just have to say that simply, I love it!
Read More...
Riqi Harawira - Please Find Me Girl Single Review
02 May 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Listening to Riqi Harawira's new song Please Find Me Girl the first thing I noticed is the really well produced clean acoustic guitar playing in harmony to Riqi's voice which is a brilliant way to start a reggae song with a tasty blend of Blues, Jamaican Reggae and solid syncopated rhythms.  Riqi seems to be singing to a beautiful woman that he is absolutely infatuated with.
Read More...
Eden Roberts - Crying Birds EP Review
28 Mar 2014 // by RodrigoHidalgo
Already hearing of Eden Roberts through X-Factor last year, I was pretty interested to hear what her EP would sound like and in which direction Eden has decided to take her music. Eden Is an 18 year old X-Factor Contestant hailing from Auckland, New Zealand.
Read More...
View All Articles By RodrigoHidalgo

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SUNFLOWER
    Post Malone And Swae Lee
  • SWEET BUT PSYCHO
    Ava Max
  • WITHOUT ME
    Halsey
  • WOW.
    Post Malone
  • THANK U, NEXT
    Ariana Grande
  • SHOTGUN
    George Ezra
  • SHALLOW
    Lady Gaga And Bradley Cooper
  • BETTER
    Khalid
  • EASTSIDE
    benny blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem