19 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra - Gig Review: WIUO @ James Cabaret, Wellington 05/12/14

Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra - Gig Review: WIUO @ James Cabaret, Wellington 05/12/14

06 Dec 2014 // A review by Tony McDonald

After touring New Zealand, the Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra finished off their trip in the best possible place - Wellington. The venue was James Cabaret, which if you haven’t already been, must be described as; unglamorous, dark, terrible bar selection of food and drinks, and out of town. On the positive side it has the best atmosphere, fantastic sound, brings the audience close together, and is what every small venue should strive for.

The band came on at 8:30pm without any support or warm up act and one of the band members did the introductions before walking on herself. They really seem like a down to earth, good bunch of people that love playing their instruments. Did I mention that most of them had Ukulele’s? Now there’s a surprise!!! If they weren’t holding a ukulele they had a double bass, electric bass, percussion, drums, shakers, you name it.

The costumes were quite outrageous and one thing I really enjoyed was that every member, at some point of the show, was shot onto centre stage to either sing, do a solo, or just dance. Brilliant.

The show started with Love of the Common People, originally a folk ballad written by John Hurley and Ronnie Wilkins. Most people may remember the Paul Young version. Anyway, it was upbeat and changed to suit Ukulele’s and the crowd really got going.

Now if they had stuck to this formula it would have been epic and everyone would have danced the night away, but for me there were too many slow songs thrown in which broke up the tempo. I don’t mind a break from the adrenaline rush of fast paced songs, but too much talking and slowness would be my only criticism.

I watched the Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain at the Opera House some years ago, and this takes some beating with more popular songs and polish, so I suppose I was expecting the same.

Apart from that the audiences were clapping (out of time, as usual), joining in with the singing and generally having a great time. Guests were also brought onto the stage such as the Scottish born drummer John Rae from the Jazz band Troubles.

The first half set included:

Raylene (very funny, written based on a message someone had written on a road side).
Team by Lorde (could have been sung better, and was a little boring).
Jezebel – Brilliantly sung with a husky deep voice.
Afternoon Delight – Another highlight for me, very upbeat and amazing vocals from everyone.
Some Hawaiian song (dragged on, one to avoid).
Happy by Pharrell Williams (Fantastically done and got the audience going).
A Tahiti style song - upbeat & lively and suited Ukulele’s well unsurprisingly.
Wake Up by Aaradhna (James Hill from Nova Scotia took to the stage. What a great ukulele player. He actually recorded a riff in a bathroom in Montreal for this song to go on the album. Another great highlight for me).

That was just the first half, I suggest you get down to see them next time they play to see what you're missing and you can catch the second half.

To meet the band click here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaO_wKjWoic

 

About Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra

The dozen-strong strummers of the WIUO faithfully reproduce hit songs from across the musical spectrum. They are a consistent sell-out act in their home country, where the ukulele has been a beloved instrument since its appearance on the first official New Zealand pop single.

The orchestra provides harmonious and hilarious renditions of classics, rock hits and folk tunes as well as songs in their country’s native tongue. The comedy comes from the witty banter, but when the WIUO bursts into song it could go several ways: the sweet sounds can silence a room in a nanosecond, or bring a crowd of thousands to their feet.

At their gigs, you can expect inviting sing-a-longs, outstanding instrumentals, well-dressed individuals, sparkling harmonies and comic banter. The WIUO has rocked rock venues, botanic gardens and vineyards, and they've also been known to rock libraries, museums, art galleries and the inter-island ferry.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Wellington International Ukulele Orchestra

Releases

Be Mine Tonight
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Blue Smoke
Year: 2012
Type: EP
The Dreaming EP
Year: 2009
Type: EP
A Little Bit Wonderful
Year: 2008
Type: EP
The Heartache
Year: 2008
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem