22 Feb 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Devilskin - Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019

27 Oct 2019 // A review by Tony McDonald

24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them. A complete contrast to when I was at a beer festival here a few months earlier. The place has transformed since I saw MGMT a few years back, a really great venue!

I was blown away by Black Smoke Trigger, with their amazing energy and plenty of kick ass hard rock tunes. The four piece won the crowd over straight away with their passion and hard driven riffs. You can really hear some of their influences coming through, if I closed my eyes I could hear Slash and co. on stage. I loved the fact that they took a photo of themselves with the crowd, good touch.

Please check them out as they are well worth a listen live and on your favourite streaming platforms.

Next up was Like A Storm, who were glad to be back performing in New Zealand after touring abroad. This was their second to last show on the current tour before heading to America, a very exciting time for the band.

A raucous energetic stage show played out to the audience including a didgeridoo which was very cool indeed. Think of haunting Vikings and you have a good visual. How many metal bands have a didgeridoo? The black clothing, long hair and the way they strutted the stage was mint.

The fans now formed a mosh pit and beer was flowing through the crowd, not all of it in the way it was intended!!!

If you know Like A Storm you know that their songs rock big time and they didn’t disappoint. I think between them they shouted Wellington about 25 times throughout the show, followed by cheers from the locals. The only criticism was that the sound could have been better, the didgeridoo during songs was sometimes lost and the guitars were pretty quiet and muddy. Maybe that’s me though?

They thanked Devilskin for bringing them back to Wellington, which was a nice touch, so too was the photo they took with the crowd. And the drummer was kick ass by the way!! They played Crawling by Linkin Park which was brilliant, and they did a montage of Wellington classics including Shihad, which was awesome.

They also encouraged the crowd to sing loud, if they did they would join them in the mosh pit. The crowd duly obliged and chaos ensued. Definitely worth checking out, rock on!

Anticipation was building for the main event, the crowd getting their breath back after the beating that Like A Storm dished out.

A decade of Devilskin was here and the fans went crazy. Jennie Skulander (vocalist) has an amazing stage presence, especially armed with a smoke gun. That was very cool. The lights also seemed to pick up their game as the light show was brilliant and perfectly in time to the music adding to the already frenzied atmosphere.

The image of Jennie between the guitarists with their bald heads and Viking beards is a striking image and creates an awesome visual. Strutting their stuff and jumping on speakers. The energy levels reached an all-time high.

They played all the classics of course and even managed to squeeze in an epic drum solo. The first time I saw them live was at the TSB arena a few years ago supporting Slash. I was blown away then, and now! How does Jennie sound so sweet with great lyrics and vocal tunes, to then suddenly deep dive into a throaty shout that sounds like one of Daenerys dragons?

They are probably one of New Zealand’s best rock acts at the moment, and I can’t wait to see them again.

Please check them out when you can, well worth the effort!

Overall this was a great night and fantastic to see so many people out supporting HARD ROCK!!


Photos courtesy of Nichole June Productions.

 

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - Single/Video Review: No Revolution
16 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Wearing little more than a red bra the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson is trapped inside a chaotic room. This crazy thought-provoking video tries and succeeds to crawl under your skin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing with Dual @ Moon, Wellington - 15/11/2018
16 Nov 2018 // by Tony McDonald
Without any warning or announcement, a huge boom blasts through Moon. It's 9:15pm on Thursday night, pizzas and beers are flowing and the atmosphere has just kicked in!
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INTENTIONS
    Justin Bieber feat. Quavo
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE BOX
    Roddy Ricch
  • YUMMY
    Justin Bieber
  • DON'T START NOW
    Dua Lipa
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • DANCE MONKEY
    Tones And I
  • GLITTER
    BENEE
  • NO TIME TO DIE
    Billie Eilish
  • BEFORE YOU GO
    Lewis Capaldi
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem