4 Aug 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life

02 Mar 2020 // A review by Tony McDonald

This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.

The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s. It forced the sound of the Waterboy’s came flooding back to me, but that doesn’t mean it sounds dated. Phone Box of Life is a very polished, memorable tune that is radio ready in every possible way. I also found that some of the progressions made it sound very much like Oasis, which is again not a bad comparison. There's also something about Brendan’s vocals that remind me of Nik Kershaw. Anyway, enough of the comparisons.

Phone Box of Life is a great song in its own right, and it's well worth a listen. Now, if we could just get our Kiwi radio stations to actually pick up new songs and play them - if they did, this track would definitely be on my list. Nice work guys!

Check out Apollo SteamTrain’s Facebook page here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Apollo SteamTrain

Apollo SteamTrain is a musical platform to host the continuing projects of singer/songwriter Brendan McCarthy from Tauranga, New Zealand.

Brendan has a deal in place with Songbroker which has seen his tracks synced on several high profile TV shows including Shortland Street and Filthy Rich.

Brendan has worked with several procucers including internationally renowned Greg Haver (Manic Street Preachers, OpShop, Catatonia, The Feelers, Six60), recording 2 tracks at Neil Finn's Round Head Studios.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Apollo SteamTrain

Releases

There are no releases to display for Apollo SteamTrain.

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Valhalla, Wellington - 19/01/2019
22 Jan 2019 // by Tony McDonald
One of Wellington's last great venues was kicking out rock odour once more as the Skinny Hobos took to the stage. It's 10:45pm and the murky undertones of Valhalla were ringing out in the streets before I even entered the venue.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • CARDIGAN
    Taylor Swift
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • EXILE
    Taylor Swift feat. Bon Iver
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • THE 1
    Taylor Swift
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem