21 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Popstrangers - Fortuna Album Review

10 Jun 2014 // A review by Tony McDonald

Firstly, this is one hell of a dreamy powerful indie band. It approaches on rock from time to time, and I love this album. I usually turn around reviews of albums in a few days, however I got caught up in listening to the music and forgot the review, whoops!

There are some faults however, for example the production isn’t the best. This doesn’t detract from the songs or the music, however the sound could have been better and more powerful. It sounds hollow at times which is just me being overly critical by the way, so on to the songs.

Track 1, Sandstorm has a very 90's Inspiral Carpets / Stone Roses feel; echoey, reverby (not a real word), great track to start the album off.

Track 4, Country Kills carries on in a similar fashion to Sandstorm with a powerful chorus and production sounds great on this track. For me tracks 2 and 3 (Don’t Be Afraid and Distress) were mediocre to be honest and felt flat. Sorry guys.

The fifth song Violet has great vocals and guitar, and a catchy chorus to boot. Lyrically the entire album is strong, however Tonight’s lyrics are great and I love the specific words “You are my chosen disease”.

Her (track 7) has a very repetitive bass line in the verse which is in danger of not leaving my head for ever, and I’m not sure if that’s good or bad. The dreamy bridge section leads into yet again another powerful chorus.

As with Her, Destine’s vocals closely follow the bass line in a similar lighter vain to how Kaiser Chiefs write.

Right Babies is quite trippy with progressive guitars, distorted vocals providing a different upbeat sound. Great song although needs more punch.

The final song, What’s On Your Mind is a great closing song; an epic ballad.

More of the same please.

 

Releases

Fortuna
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Antipodes
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Happy Accidents
Year: 2010
Type: EP
Popstrangers
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem