20 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Meridian Vibe - Crash And Burn Single Review

18 Apr 2014 // A review by Tony McDonald

I had not heard of Meridian Vibe until this single landed in my inbox. I would describe their style as alternative pop rock, which I hope doesn’t offend the band too much, but I can see this being in the charts.

Crash and Burn is very very catchy indeed, and full of brutal energy that made me want to rock out, even at 11am on Good Friday.

This three piece excited me from the get go. There is nothing that will shock you, but it reminds me of my favourite artists; Ash, Third Eye Blind and even Foo Fighters. I hope that’s taken as a compliment the way its intended.

The production is superb and I hope if the guys produce an album that it contains some more alternative rock tracks.

Nice work, I cant wait to hear more from these guys.

Head on over to https://www.facebook.com/MeridianVibe and support them.

 

About Meridian Vibe

Meridian Vibe are a 4-piece rock group hailing from Auckland.

Meridian Vibe had the incredible opportunity of recording their debut single Crash and Burn at Parnell’s prestigious and now sorely missed York Street Studios back in 2014. This single was followed up by a music video produced by Candlelit Productions which can be viewed on the Meridian Vibe YouTube Channel. The theme of this music video draws on the extremes of amateur backyard wrestling.

In 2016 Meridian Vibe followed up their debut single with a second single The Slave Who Quit. A dissection of the Socio-Political agendas facing New Zealand in recent years with a satirical nod to events pushed by the mainstream media. This animated music video was proudly produced by Jeremy Jones of propellermotion.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Meridian Vibe

Releases

There are no releases to display for Meridian Vibe.

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem