22 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bulletproof - #Listen Album Review

15 Aug 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald
After only one week of listening to this album, I will DEFINITELY be keeping it on my iPod. A perfect blend of light drum and bass and pop is a hit with me. Bulletproof are not new to the DnB scene, roughly 17 years old, but this is a new direction.

Catchy tunes, but not in your face pop, this album won't grow old with me quickly.

It has dance moments (It’s a Funk Thing), soul songs (Baltimore), and some parts of the album would be good in a rave; In My Soul for example.

There is a mixture of instrumentals and vocal tracks, and Zion's Theme vocals by Tali stand out, beautiful. However when I checked out the album on iTunes this song title was absent, a mystery to me.

There were 11 songs in the album I received to review, 17 songs in iTunes, a bargain for sure, but I was slightly confused!

My favourite number, filled with dance and pop energy is Revolution, a John Butler Trio remix. I walked to work 5 minutes quicker that day, the bounce in my step apparent to all onlookers.

The same can be said for the 80s sounding The Warning, reminded me of Salt-n-Pepa.

Great album, featuring some brilliant artists. Buy it please and check them out on Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/BulletproofNZ

 

About Bulletproof

The Host of George FM Nights, Bass Music Producer and DJ, 20 years into the electronica game, and still, the New Zealand based DJ/Producer known as Bulletproof remains as inspired and passionate about dance music as he was two decades ago.

Hailed the pioneer of New Zealand Electronic Music Production, It's fair to say Jay Bulletproof has been at the forefront of the movement in New Zealand since day dot.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bulletproof

Releases

#Listen
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Dub Me Crazy
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Soundtrack To Forever
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Dark Times - Desperate Measures
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Shake The Foundations
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by Tony McDonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by Tony McDonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem