20 Jan 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hera - Live at York St Album Review

13 Jul 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald
Let me start by saying this is not my type of music, however I do appreciate all types of music, and everyone has different tastes.

The CD packaging was well detailed and came with a lovely story of Jed & Hera and how they got together.

Now to the music. By the end of track 2 Imminent Pane I was getting a little bored and wondered if this could keep my interest. Funnily enough track 3 is called Wake Me Up, and it did just that for a period of time. Jed & Hera (Icelandic/Kiwi duo) are brilliant musicians however the tracks just didn't do it for me. The songs have such good promise but as they start to gather momentum they trail off.

I can't imagine when I would decide to play this music to be honest. Maybe if a loved one had left me and I'm feeling melancholy?

The album is titled Live at York St, maybe a live performance would be better and spark some energy into their music.

Every song is very similar to the last and I wondered if I had it on one track loop. The 15th and final track is the best and titled Issues, short, upbeat and came with energy, if only the rest of the album had been more like this one.

On a positive note if you enjoy acoustic guitars and angelic voices it could be for you.
You can find out more here: http://www.herasings.com/
 

About Hera

Hera is an acoustic singer-songwriter who hails from both Iceland - her land of birth, and New Zealand - the land she currently calls home. She has won Iceland's Best Female Artist for 2003, and has a gold-selling record, high-rotation radio play, support slots for the likes of Joe Cocker and Nick Cave and has performed at the famous SXSW festival in Texas and at the immortal Glastonbury in the UK.

Her music is noticeably unique and has been influenced strongly by dual emotional investment in both of her cultures. Effortlessly blending foreign sounds and language with our familiar version of folk and acoustic pop, she will take you on a journey of discovery upon which you will hear a refreshing take on what an acoustic singer-songwriter can achieve. She is often joined by House of Mountain drummer Jed Parsons for a couple of gorgeous vocal duets, and later by the entire House of Mountain band for her more upbeat numbers.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hera

Releases

Hera
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Live At York Street
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Rattle My Bones
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Live At Al's
Year: 2008
Type: Album
Don't Play This
Year: 2005
Type: Album
Hafid Thennan Dag
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Live In Reykjavik
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Not Your Type
Year: 2002
Type: Album
Not So Sweet
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Unreleased EP
Year: 2001
Type: EP
Homemade
Year: 1999
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by Tony McDonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • MOOD
    24kGoldn feat. iann dior
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • ANYONE
    Justin Bieber
  • SUNDOWN
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem