23 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Awa - Heartbeat Album Review

31 May 2013 // A review by Dilemma

Awa has just released his second EP Heartbeat which is perfectly titled encompassing all that Awa found himself feeling as he was working on it. In his own words it was "the happiest and most inspired I'd been in a long time," and as  such he chose to pay tribute to this with seven naturalistic new songs written around the themes of, as he puts it, "Love, Aotearoa and enjoying life." There are also two bonus tracks on the EP at the end Moments and a Remix of the fouth track Kudeta by the Jupiter Project.

The album is full of solid Kiwi talent which is only intensified by the amazing collaborations Awa has put together on the EP. Kicking off on the first track Papatuanuku featuring NZ Hip Hop Legend Che Fu to the second track with rising Hawaiian diva Anuhea on Perfect Day which would be my favourite track off the EP. It's hard to think that a track can make you feel summer and that is exactly what it does, makes you feel like summer. Grimy voiced Hamilton rapper JB Love You Better, Nesian Mystik super producer David Atai, beatmakers Kase and Ali Toto and reggae stalwarts House of Shem Back in my Life and Home, as well as musicians Phil Crown, Thabani Gapara, Heath 'Haka Boogie' Manukau and Dylan Elise, he's crafted a distinctively Nesian hybrid of RnB, Reggae, and hip-hop. The undertone of the whole album has an Island Vibe, incorporating Maori and Hawaiian lyrics and complementing style that makes not only your heart but your whole body move to the beat. 

Watch the video for Perfect Day feat. Anuhea and you will see what I mean!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAYZmR4REcY


 

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • SATURN
    SZA
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem