20 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Khemikal - Justice EP Review

06 Nov 2014 // A review by Dilemma

Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings. She goes by Nel and along with her sidekick Silos they are a duo cutting some electronica beats. Both obviously have a bit of talent because the track production isn't terrible and the songs themselves are ok.

According to their bio they are influenced by the 'UK Dance Scene and acts like The Prodigy, Underworld and Roni Size and that is pretty much the type of sound that comes across when you listen to the EP.' I guess what makes their sound original is the female lead vocals and rapping in a British accent.

The EP starts off with Cinemathique which is a decent beat and the vocals match, it builds like any other dance track and finishes well. The second track Stripclub musically is similar to the first, and the lyrics are all about taking your clothes off which should not surprise you. Stripclub also has a youtube clip that you can check out here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZsDFat5bXM.

I am not a massive fan of dance music and try to stay open minded, I definitely like to be surprised and write about how I enjoyed listening to either certain songs or parts of an album. After the first two tracks were a little repetitive the last three songs Charlie's SmokehouseAll I Need and Whitney had some points of difference but pretty much followed the same format. I think maybe after these two get some more experience and growth they will find a winning formula.

 

About Khemikal

Khemikal is Chris Prenter and Adrian Hastie, hard hitting and not afraid to go to dark places.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Khemikal

Releases

Justice
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
J Williams - Broken Love Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Part of New Zealand Music Month is showcasing NZ music and J. Williams is back with another R&B power ballad, Broken Love is the name of his latest release which was co-written with sister Lavina and then mixed and mastered by NOX and Patriarch for their Illegal Muzik label.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem