23 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Six60 - Six 60 @ The Station Village Complex, Lower Hutt 29/12/12

24 Feb 2013 // A review by tonymcdonald

I turned up to this gig not knowing what to expect. Sure I’d heard the radio hits and a couple of tracks from the album, but what would they be like live?

The crowd were buzzing and the venue was electric, would they disappoint? The answer came after only a few seconds, this was going to be some gig!

Six60 really took me by surprise for a number of reasons. Firstly Matiu Walters had amazing stage presence and right from the start engaged the audience. There were no tedious long talks but he was in the mood for a party.

Secondly, the classic hit Don’t Forget Your Roots was played in the classic way, but the rest of the songs had a hypnotic rave feeling that had the crowd jumping, especially Rise Up 2.0.

The bass drum and bass at times felt destructive and I haven’t felt that explosive need to jump around for years. The live show would not translate to CD very well due to epic booming bass that a home stereo simply wouldn’t be able to cope with. This is probably why they have their two distinct styles and keep them separate.

This is a band I would recommend for avid fans or newcomers alike.

 

About Six60

Bonding over a shared love of NZ music and passion for making their own, Six60 formed after meeting at a Kora concert in 2006. Three members flatted together as Otago Uni students, spending countless hours in their recording studio (Eli's room) at number 660 on notorious Castle St.

The Six60 sound is unique - a fresh Kiwi fusion of roots, reggae, hip hop, dubstep, and drum and bass.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Six60

Releases

Castle Street
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Six60
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By tonymcdonald

Violet Highway - Single Review - Sick of Waiting
12 May 2022 // by tonymcdonald
I love the ending to this pop rock song - it's not your typical finish... so, make sure to check the song out all the way through.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Valhalla, Wellington - 03/06/2021
06 Jun 2021 // by tonymcdonald
In the sweaty snake pit that is Valhalla I was ordering a Fireball when two feet appeared next to me at the bar. Looking up I discover it’s the one and only Jared from Dead Favours.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ San Fan, Wellington - 25/02/2021
27 Feb 2021 // by tonymcdonald
New Zealand’s very own Blink 182, Elemeno P, with support from Fruit Juice Parade and Valentina hit San Fran, on a fantastic warm Wellington evening. It was packed out; beers were flowing, and the sticky smell of the low-ceilinged venue was absolutely buzzing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin with Shepherds Reign @ San Fran, Wellington - 08/10/2020
11 Oct 2020 // by tonymcdonald
Even during a period of uncertainty in New Zealand with Covid-19, Devilskin and support act Shepherds Reign managed to fill San Francisco Bath House in Wellington. In fact, I have not seen a queue outside on the street for quite some time.
Read More...
Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by tonymcdonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by tonymcdonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by tonymcdonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by tonymcdonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
View All Articles By tonymcdonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem