14 Jul 2020
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Six60 - Six 60 @ The Station Village Complex, Lower Hutt 29/12/12

24 Feb 2013 // A review by Tony McDonald

I turned up to this gig not knowing what to expect. Sure I’d heard the radio hits and a couple of tracks from the album, but what would they be like live?

The crowd were buzzing and the venue was electric, would they disappoint? The answer came after only a few seconds, this was going to be some gig!

Six60 really took me by surprise for a number of reasons. Firstly Matiu Walters had amazing stage presence and right from the start engaged the audience. There were no tedious long talks but he was in the mood for a party.

Secondly, the classic hit Don’t Forget Your Roots was played in the classic way, but the rest of the songs had a hypnotic rave feeling that had the crowd jumping, especially Rise Up 2.0.

The bass drum and bass at times felt destructive and I haven’t felt that explosive need to jump around for years. The live show would not translate to CD very well due to epic booming bass that a home stereo simply wouldn’t be able to cope with. This is probably why they have their two distinct styles and keep them separate.

This is a band I would recommend for avid fans or newcomers alike.

 

About Six60

Bonding over a shared love of NZ music and passion for making their own, Six60 formed after meeting at a Kora concert in 2006. Three members flatted together as Otago Uni students, spending countless hours in their recording studio (Eli's room) at number 660 on notorious Castle St.

The Six60 sound is unique - a fresh Kiwi fusion of roots, reggae, hip hop, dubstep, and drum and bass.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Six60

Releases

Six60
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2015
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Six60
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape

Other Reviews By Tony McDonald

Album Review: MudBelly
20 May 2020 // by Tony McDonald
I'm glad we are on lockdown, as its time to really put my speakers to the test and turn them up loud (but not too loud, my health & safety hat is on).MudBelly (what a great name) are fairly new, but this debut album will ensure that they are going to be well-known from now on!
Read More...
Apollo SteamTrain - Single Review: Phone Box of Life
02 Mar 2020 // by Tony McDonald
This upbeat Summer rock song really took me by surprise, and in a very good way.The latest single from Apollo SteamTrain takes the listener on a journey back to the 80’s.
Read More...
EP Review: Jumping The Fucking Shark
31 Dec 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Happy New Year everyone, hope you all had a great Christmas. To start the new year off with a bang I had the pleasure of reviewing the debut self-titled EP from Jumping the Fucking Shark.
Read More...
Gig Review: Devilskin @ Hunter Lounge, Wellington - 24/10/2019
27 Oct 2019 // by Tony McDonald
24th October @ The Hunter Lounge in Wellington and Black Smoke Trigger emerge to a packed out venue. Flashing lights, smoke, the smell of alcohol and a vocal crowd were there to greet them.
Read More...
Holloway Holiday - Single Review: Here Comes Glitterboy
06 Sep 2019 // by Tony McDonald
When something this powerful, upbeat and energetic comes along you have to stand up and take notice. Holloway Holiday have released a fantastic new single called Here Comes Glitterboy, and it comes complete with funky digital sounds and a mix of real and electronic drums which work amazingly well together.
Read More...
Dead Beat Boys - EP Review: Very Live
14 Jul 2019 // by Tony McDonald
This five-song live punk EP from the Dead Beat Boys is packed with plenty of talent and energy. I was expecting to hear the crowd clapping and screaming, but there is none of that on this EP which was surprising.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: Pretty Little Caption
10 Apr 2019 // by Tony McDonald
The Wake Up from Palmerston North have just released their latest upbeat single Pretty Little Caption. This follows on from Castle which was another upbeat poppy number.
Read More...
The Diamond Dead - EP Review: Becoming
20 Mar 2019 // by Tony McDonald
Having already reviewed the song and video for Track 1 No Revolution, and absolutely loving everything about it, I jumped at the chance to review this small 3-song EP by The Diamond Dead. In my previous review, I described No Revolution as the female equivalent of Marilyn Manson in song sound and video style, an absolute classic and one you must check out.
Read More...
View All Articles By Tony McDonald

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SAVAGE LOVE (LAXED - SIREN BEAT)
    Jawsh 685 x Jason DeRulo
  • ROCKSTAR
    DaBaby feat. Roddy Ricch
  • GO CRAZY
    Chris Brown And Young Thug
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • ROSES (IMANBEK REMIX)
    SAINt JHN
  • BLINDING LIGHTS
    The Weeknd
  • BREAKING ME
    Topic feat. A7S
  • STUCK WITH U
    Ariana Grande And Justin Bieber
  • ROVER
    S1mba feat. DTG
  • WHAT'S POPPIN'
    Jack Harlow
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem