9 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sir T - Walk With Me Album Review

25 Apr 2012 // A review by Dilemma

Sir T is a newcomer to New Zealand Hip Hop, signed to Move The Crowd Records, and mentored by NZ Hip Hop’s favourite son Young Sid who also acted as the executive producer on Sir T's debut album Walk With Me.
 Being mentored by Young Sid has afforded Sir T the benefit of collaborating with himself and other rising stars Tyree, Vince Harder and Pieter T just to name a few.

The Album like most debuts is about his journey in life and “just to give people a bit of info on who I am and how I think, it's all real talk so the title pretty much says it all Walk With Me. It also fits the theme of the album hence the album title.” "I got hooked on what I was hearing around me.” Carrying his influences from the American hip-hop game, Sir. T got to work on making original tracks.

There are 11 tracks on the album, mostly with a nice flow, lyrics that tell a story and draw you in. Some of the lyrics are a little rough which contrasts the smoother beats in the background. Invincible with Pieter T is the stand out song on the album.

Walk With Me
View Track Listing
 

About Sir T

Sir T is one of the most exciting newcomers to New Zealand Hip-Hop, signed to Move The Crowd Records, and mentored by NZ Hip-Hop's brightest star, Sid Diamond (Young Sid).

A Beachaven/North Shore resident, Sir T ignites audiences with his range of skills, possesses a relentless work ethic and a blazing creative drive. Like his MTC label mates, Sir T brings real life stories to his music that gives it credibility and resonance with his audience.

Making his presence felt in the local Hip-Hop scene, Sir T learnt his trade with a neighbourhood crew called the Assassinz. "I got hooked on what I was hearing around me. The boys used to just chill, drink and rap away to someone playing the guitar, but then I heard a track they recorded on to a CD and straight away thought to myself…that's me!"

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sir T

Releases

Walk With Me
Year: 2012
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem