24 May 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hand Me Downs - Void Single Review

27 Jul 2011 // A review by Dilemma

Raglan’s up and coming band, Hand Me Downs have released their debut single ‘Void.’

As the track starts you get the feeling that Raglan influences the sound with the track being very hipster, laid back and folk inspired. The vocals are solid and heart felt, but with a certain strength that is unusual but draws you in. Lyrically the song is described as ‘love from a distance,’ hence the title ‘Void.’

The band are influenced by a variety of genres including bluegrass, rock and Irish music, these kick in when the track picks up and the band comes in with a more rock feel. The Hand Me Downs are able to transition very smoothly from folk to rock, this is a great track, I highly recommend you go and download it now! Recorded at The Lab’s production suite on Auckland’s Mt Eden Rd, and produced by Ben King.

 

About Hand Me Downs

The Hand Me Downs are an emerging 4 piece alternative pop/rock band founded in Raglan by British born Lucy Cioffi. The core of the band is found in Lucy and her Irish partner Dougal Greer and they are joined on stage by Simon Buxton. Lucy writes an eclectic mix of sincere songs with catchy hooks, luscious lyrics and has a voice purer than a bottle of Evian. Since forming in 2010, Hand Me Downs have enjoyed a busy summer of playing festivals and gigs in NZ and they recently supported The Phil Edwards Band and Devils Elbow. Expect quirky, energetic and original songs from this band. Amongst their influences are Arcade Fire, Ladyhawke, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes, Pixies, The Cure and Kings of Leon.

Hand Me Down's debut single Void has been enjoying national and international success with airplay on local radio stations and further afield on National Irish Radio station 2fm.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hand Me Downs

Releases

There are no releases to display for Hand Me Downs.

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • FORTNIGHT
    Taylor Swift feat. Post Malone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem