21 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Thomas Oliver Band - Baby I'll Play Album Review

26 Mar 2011 // A review by Dilemma

When you listen to a lot of music it becomes hard to find songs, bands or even musicians that actually capture your attention and where it does not feel like its just a passive listening experience. Listening to the harmonica in the first track Goin Home on Baby, I’ll Play,’ the new release from the Thomas Oliver Band instantly drew me in. An album that moves through folk, soul and a bit of country blues to more up tempo and rocky pop which seems like a natural interchange for this five piece band from Wellington. 

Musically this album could not be smoother, from the folky guitar that underlies all the tracks to the blasting brass, that beautiful harmonica and the commanding drum beats.

The second track is the title track Baby, Ill Play which features a beautiful saxophone integrated through strong lyrics which sets the tone for the rest of the album. Unlike many bands, the Thomas Oliver Band have a natural ability to create interesting and distinctive songs.

The middle of the album showcases the bands more emotive and passionate side with some of the sweetest vocals and lyrics I have heard in a while. 

The 12 tracks on this album are comparable to Ben Harper, Buffalo Tom, and BB King, without imitation or limitation. Essentially this album must be heard for its variety and musical talent. The are a must see live also. 

Baby I'll Play
View Track Listing
 

About The Thomas Oliver Band

Wellington 5-piece The Thomas Oliver Band's combination of blues/rock/roots and Thomas Oliver's compelling writing style creates a refreshing New Zealand sound. They have spent the past few years touring and playing live throughout New Zealand with the likes of Fat Freddy's Drop, Gin Wigmore and Britain's Oli Brown. Within this time the band also wrote and recorded their debut full-length album Baby, I'll Play, which was released in March 2011.

The band's video, Goin' Home was released in February 2010, and saw the band named alongside Gorillaz, The Fray and Franz Ferdinand as one of the top thirty music videos of 2010 at the Rushes Soho Shorts in London. The band's success attracted attention from both national and international media.

The Thomas Oliver Band released their second single and music video Baby I'll Play at the end of October 2010. The band once again worked with director Jennifer Quinlin (Weta Productions) and the team at Park Road Post on the video.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Thomas Oliver Band

Releases

Baby I'll Play
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Dilemma

Janine and the Mixtape - EP Review: XX
22 Jun 2015 // by Dilemma
2013 was a big year, Lorde released her first EP but she wasn’t our only Singer/Songwriter that got international acclaim that year, there was also Janine Foster otherwise known as Janine and The Mixtape. Described as an electrifying performer that has developed her own unique combination of pop, indie, R&B, and hip hop.
Read More...
Tali - Album Review: Wolves
28 May 2015 // by Dilemma
Tali AKA Natalia Sheppard is pretty impressive, she paired up with Roni Size to release Lyric on my Lip which smashed the charts in 2002, became the first female MC to release an album in 2004 over 10 years ago. She has won the Best Female DNB MC award a few times (3) and has just released her new album Wolves, which she describes as “electronic soul and gangsta jazz"!
Read More...
Khemikal - Justice EP Review
06 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Silos feat. Nel Amore have released their debut EP Justice, 5 tracks with thumping base lines, some repetitive hooks and a brit-chick that raps and sings.
Read More...
Emily Edrosa EP Review
05 Nov 2014 // by Dilemma
Emily Edrosa is Emily Littler, member of Street Chant – an Auckland trio that has played since 2007 and won the inaugural Critics Choice at the 2010 NZ Music Awards. Emily however, has been putting out some new solo stuff as Emily Edrosa, which is the second effort after Body/Christ released in 2013.
Read More...
PNC - The Codes Album Review
24 Jul 2014 // by Dilemma
PNC AKA Sam Hansen released his fifth album less than a month ago and it’s already smashing sales and tearing up the NZ charts. The album titled The Codes is our newest urban success and it seems that PNC has found his stride with his latest offering.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - Save My Soul EP Review
16 May 2014 // by Dilemma
New from Jayson Norris is the Save My Soul EP as part of NZ Music Month. If you are a fan of Kora style rock or Tiki Taane melodies then you will love this five-song EP, cleverly incorporating roots and the groove of mainstream guitar rock’n’soul to blur genres.
Read More...
Estère - Estere Album Review
10 May 2014 // by Dilemma
Released as a free download via Bandcamp the debut EP from Wellington singer/songwriter/beatmaker/producer Estere is definitely unique in the NZ music scene. Self-described as “just a girl with an MPC” Estere works her equipment and the product is individualistic, raw and worthy of a listen this NZ Music Month.
Read More...
Ill Semantics - You Got It Feat. Scribe and K.One Single Review
09 May 2014 // by Dilemma
The Ill Semantic’s are back for 2014 and while it's been over 20 years since they formed they still have the ability to make really good, current hip hop music. Ill Semantics are getting ready to drop their third album and have delivered the first single titled You Got It feat.
Read More...
View All Articles By Dilemma

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem