17 Jul 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

So Below - Single Review: Close

14 Nov 2017 // A review by Corinner

New Zealand's very own enigmatic songbird, Madeline North AKA So Below has released a new single called Close.

An upbeat lively track accompanied by intense poetic lyrics which don’t match. This mismatch of lively instrumentals and dark lyrics gives Close a unique edge and makes saying goodbye slightly less depressing.

No longer living in NZ you can now find Madeline hanging out in the more tropical climes of LA, collaborating with fellow Kiwis, eating garlic bread in an infinity pool, or working on getting to that stage at least.

As I travel around the internet doing my research, I see that one time when asked what her spirit animal is, So Below indicated a sloth, so this self-proclaimed Goth sloth has released an optimistic and catchy number in time to hit our airwaves for summer here in New Zealand (if it ever arrives), this has been touted as a “Smash summer pop anthem” and will certainly get So Below rolling into 2018 on a wave of good vibes.

The more I listen to Close, the more I like it, you can dance to it and it won’t make you feel sad. There is plenty of energy flowing through this track.

Written in LA along with artist Chelsea Jade and Sam McCarthy of Boyboy the track was inspired by the environment around them, which could explain the almost cheery enthusiastic tone of this single.
 

“Speak in greys changing shadows on your face with each mistake hoping it’s not too late.”  Upbeat Goth-Pop with a positive vibe, well worth a listen.


Review written by Corinne Rutherford

About So Below

Since making her musical debut with her single Drift and attracting over 100,000 SoundCloud plays in just a few short months, So Below has become the mysterious goth pop chanteuse that everyone can’t stop talking about.

After leaving her native New Zealand, Madeline North began exploring her vocal talents inspired by her new surroundings. Layering heavily processed vocals and harmonies over simple yet dark laptop beats, North began to formulate her style into what would so uniquely become So Below. Wanting to carry on this darker, moodier style of electro-pop, North reached out to fellow Kiwi musicians Aaron Short (The Naked And Famous), Sam McCarthy (Kids Of 88) and Leroy Clampitt (Taste Nasa) to help her produce her demos and ultimately complete what has become her debut self-titled EP.

Having a combined 1 million plays on Spotify, 300,000+ plays on SoundCloud, the support of notable sites such as i-D, HillyDilly and Neon Gold and receiving high rotation on New Zealand radio, So Below is poised to be one of 2017’s artists to watch. Don’t say you weren’t warned…

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for So Below

Releases

II
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Corinner

LA Thompson - Single Review: Lovelight
12 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Prolific supporter and promoter of NZ indie artists and talented song writer / musician LA Thompson has just released a song by Brett Howes. This is collaboration with Brett who is also a member of the LMM Network which LA Thompson (Shirley Howe) founded.
Read More...
Geoff Ong - Single/Video Review: Fingerprints
09 Jul 2018 // by Corinner
Auckland-based pop-soul musician Geoff Ong has just released his brand-new track Fingerprints and self-shot video which accompanies it. The video is obviously filmed with a hand-held camera but manages to capture the vibrancy of Tokyo.
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle and his Motley Crew - Single/Video Review: Moolah
15 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
I should have known better then to take on a review which falls under the category of family music genre. Music aimed at kids.
Read More...
Mecuzine - Single Review: Don’t Fire That Gun
12 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
Mecuzine are a five-piece rock band from Auckland with a wealth of experience between them. Decades of performing have seen them become accomplished musicians.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - Single Review: Sneaky
01 Jun 2018 // by Corinner
When asked to describe the music of Curlys Jewels, there are many words out there on the interweb like “hard hitting” and “high energy” but the description I love the most was as follows… “We bring a tight aural mash of lady-lung grungy banshee-esque melodically thumpy hard rock to our beautifully diverse audiences’ earholes”. I can actually hear that coming out of Janelle’s mouth.
Read More...
Erik Graham - Single Review: I Don’t Know
30 May 2018 // by Corinner
Erik Graham is a songwriter, musician and record producer. He owns and operates a record label called Headcage out of the heart of West Auckland where he composed, performed, programmed, mixed and mastered his entire upcoming debut album.
Read More...
Boycrush - Album Review: Desperate Late Night Energy
28 May 2018 // by Corinner
Creatively assembling dance-oriented pop music is Alistair Deverick from West Auckland, otherwise known as Boycrush. Producer, drummer and songwriter, Alistair is a multi-talented musician and imaginative visionary, incorporating choreographed dance visuals with electronica.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: For The Ancients
23 May 2018 // by Corinner
Raw Collective, a twelve-piece Hip-Hop, multi-instrumental extravaganza from Wellington have teamed up with Flight Music Records and released their debut album For the Ancients. Spearheaded by Raw Deezy, Raw Collective is a band of epic proportions which have been attracting people’s attention at gigs and festivals around the country since 2014.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinner

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • DON'T MATTER TO ME
    Drake feat. Michael Jackson
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • BOO'D UP (REMIX)
    Ella Mai, Nicki Minaj And Quavo
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
  • LOVELY
    Billie Eilish feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem