24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Devilskin @ San Fran, Wellington - 13/10/2017

27 Oct 2017 // A review by LilMizCharlie
Devilskin are being seen all over the world in ways that we as New Zealanders should be extremely proud of. You only have to attend one of their shows to see that for yourself. They have a devout following, not just in their hometown but everywhere they play!

When I arrived at San Fran, my partner and I were met at the door by James Southgate. You must remember that right now this is one of the hottest rock/metal bands coming out of NZ, yet their manager is still there to greet people at the door. This is what I love about the NZ music scene, we get in and work really freaking hard, we don't just sit around and wait for it to come to us. We just do it!

For some, it may seem insignificant, but to know that James is still at the door to greet people as he did a few years before when I was last able to see them live… glorious!

I thought it was fantastic that James is strict on timeframes. It feels like it's become an expectation to wait around for a very late entrance of the headlining acts but not so, with a Southgate run show.

Curlys Jewels, a Wellington based rock band, graced the stage to open the evening. Janelle has a charisma and personality that lights the room as Aaron, Corey and Andy confidently stand by her side to carry music, perfectly complimenting her. The aim, as Janelle said, was for them to "warm up the crowd" and people approved with the song Whiskey as they all eagerly watched and waited for the rest of the night to unfold.

I don't want to sound like I'm taking away from our NZ bands at all, but main support act Sumo Cyco, made my night and from where I was standing, the entire crowd seemed to agree. Skye, MD13, Thor and Trozzi were working the stage throughout the entire set. People loved seeing Skye work her way through the crowd to sing for the people further back as she strutted her stuff on the bar.

There is a lot of fitness that goes into a band performance of this level. These guys literally had the crowd eating from the palm of their hand and Skye I thought your voice was on point! I'm glad that I feel this way because a few days earlier I stumbled across live shows from overseas, that I wasn't feeling the same vibe from. So to turn up and see what you are all creating, was well worth the watch.

To me, this band is Latin pumped, chick-rock-with-attitude and popular-punk on an aggressive supercharged layer of performance steroids. Being part-Maori myself in a Hard Rock band as the main focus with Polynesian and Greek influences, this was something I enjoyed taking in myself.

And then the army descended...

People start to pack themselves in like sardines in cans, as close to the front as possible. There was a wonderful array of awesome people at the front of the crowd all yelling "Devilskin...Devilskin".

Devilskin came out, guns blazing with In Black. Jenny was dressed to kill, much like her voice! Nail and Paul were climbing on everything they could which aided in keeping the crowd engaged. The Christian community was alive and kicking too. I realised this as Jenny growled "Hail Satan" out to the crowd and got no one responding except me, yelling in my almost lost voice "fuck yeah".

It didn't matter though because the crowd was alive, singing along to Devilskin's anthemic songs with pride. A new song was thrown in the mix and appreciated greatly. Then to top it off Nail unexpectedly threw himself into the hands of the entire crowd. I knew this was not staged as he hadn't thought about the fact that his guitar pack might fall off into the crowd of which it did and was recovered later.

I can't imagine what it must have felt like for him to crowd surf with trust, on the arms of the people holding him high with pride. The only word that comes to mind is exhilarating. The culture that comes with the rock and metal music scene is definitely here with arms wide open for those keen to embrace it.


Review written by Charlie Phillips

About Devilskin

Devilskin is a four piece band from Hamilton New Zealand formed in June 2010, they already have guts, class, kudos and confidence. The sum total of a determined and accomplished group of musicians who know what they want, the music is organic, dynamic and real.

The band features the spectacular Jennie Skulander on lead vocals. Her powerful and compelling voice and alluring stage presence sets her apart from any vocalist New Zealand has put up so far. With an unerring gift for melody, Jennie's incredible voice sweeps from whisper to roar, rips with power, drips with melody and captivates with sincerity.

Jennie previously fronted Rotorua band Slipping Tongue garnering a swathe of fans with their videos, EPs and album. Slipping Tongue also impressed many when they opened for Coheed & Cambria in 2008.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Devilskin

Releases

Be Like The River
Year: 2016
Type: Album
We Rise
Year: 2014
Type: Album
Live At The Powerstation
Year: 2014
Type: DVD

Other Reviews By LilMizCharlie

The Gemini Effect - Album Review: Atomic Blues
16 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
That moment when Tom Petty passes yet something else seems to emerge.It’s was one those days.
Read More...
Stefan Wolf - EP Review: Creep No. 1
01 Mar 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
When I first listened to this EP, I felt that Stefan Wolf was opening up a personal diary and sharing a piece of his mind with me.  Creep No.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - EP Review: Eroded
29 Sep 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
There is something delightfully soothing yet sea-stormy about Adventure It Seems Is Easy from Jayson Norris' new EP Eroded. I found myself listening to this as “cool down” music at the gym.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Meow, Wellington - 1/05/16
12 May 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Shihad, a force to be reckoned with. There is not a person I have talked with who doesn’t know this familiar name on the streets.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16
20 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
I have often been in awe over Hollie Smith’s tracks. Her voice comes across as humble yet commanding and at those precious moments, heart-wrenching.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 2/04/2016
06 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Karl, my partner in crime, and I decided to go and see what all the fuss was about with Homegrown. Over the years, I had musical projects on myself so this was something I often couldn’t afford to throw in the mix.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth
18 Mar 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Will in all instances cause stereos to malfunction... Maybe I was just in the mood for some rough as guts, raw, sweat drenched madness.
Read More...
View All Articles By LilMizCharlie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem