24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Gemini Effect - Album Review: Atomic Blues

16 Oct 2017 // A review by LilMizCharlie
That moment when Tom Petty passes yet something else seems to emerge.

It’s was one those days. Tom Petty died this day, some of my favourite songs of his sit in a mixtape at home on my tape deck.

Yip, totally off the grid!

To add to a sad day, I have the most boring job of running errands around Wellington. Before I leave the house though, I check the mailbox of which I find an odd brown envelope package. I sit in the car and stare at this brown paper package with no obvious info insight other than my name and address.

Instantly I start dreaming up what it might be. I’m wondering if it’s a bomb or some wonderful person choosing to send me something like lollies. Or maybe some random secret squirrel notes that are about to send me on a wild goose chase. Or worse, a note about random gossip in the neighbourhood. Stranger things have happened!

So I open it and to my surprise, it’s a poster, an informative but thoughtful letter from a guy named Rob Sharp, and an album titled Atomic Blues in CD format from Auckland based band The Gemini Effect. Atomic Blues was released on the 8th of August 2017.

This package made me smile and think differently about how I want reviewers to experience me as an artist, so thanks for that Rob I loved this package so much. There is definitely something to be said about someone going to a lot of effort, regardless of the reviewers' point of view. I confess, my errand sending just got a whole lot more exciting.

Considering this is a cost to the artist, I appreciate the time and thought you have put into this because I for one, prefer to hear sound in as best option as I can receive it.

I’m not going to go into every single song. I can say that since I received this CD I have listened to it most days. I think if you want to build your own opinion, you should go to their Bandcamp page and have a listen HERE.

The current line-up is Rob Sharp (vocals/guitar) he is the mastermind behind this band supported by George Gorringe (bass) and Chris Barton (drums).

For the record, Nick Prussing (Hospital Sports, Troubled Frank) and AJ Davy (Motorboat) played the drums on the album.

Oh lord, I appear to have been carried away... Oh yeah, Tom Petty!

I was saddened to hear of his passing this day but somehow, as I pushed this CD into the player of my car, it was like I was hearing reminiscent reminders of an inspiring artist who doesn't influence this band from their own information.

I felt there were so many elements of Tom Petty’s work alongside The Doors, Stones, Hooker and even Hawkwind as they have suggested. For me, this is perfect for someone wanting some classic Alt Rock in their playlist to listen to on a sunny afternoon chilled back with a few mates and beers.  

Lyrically there are some really fun moments in this album. It's classic rock'n'roll, bluesy, grunge nature, makes for an easy listen.

"I don't forget the times I was pushed around
Didn't wanna cause a scene
The replay was something Tarantino
Last man standing in my minds movie scene"

~Dreams of the Karate Kid

I hear popular grunge, rocky, psychedelic moments filtering through from the 90's. I've even picked up some random out of the blue ska riffed moments, thrown in to change the feel up. There are some very cool effects being used. The Depot Studio in Devonport, did a fantastic job capturing the band and I'm glad I have this in my possession to share with you today.

Personal Hollywood, I'm thinking will be a popular one to listen too as it tends to play over and over in my head and has for the last week. I confess though Just Enough Self-Loathing To Get By is my current go to.

I have a total relationship thing going on with these angst lines right now...

"YOU DON'T KNOW WHAT IM FEELING,
YOU DON'T KNOW WHO I AM!"

~Just enough self-loathing to get by

Go and have a listen.


Review written by Charlie Phillips

About The Gemini Effect

The Gemini Effect is an alternative rock band from Auckland. They have taken the atoms of Rock, Indie & Grunge, added psy-Blues, and made a new alloy of raw rock energy...

Their Debut album Atomic Blues is out now. Reviewed in Elsewhere "...this alt.rock/hard rock outfit from Auckland deliver some excellent scorched-earth/kiss the sky guitar, fist-tight riffery and impassioned vocals...." Check it out at all the usual outlets.

The band was formed by Rob Sharp in 2016, writing songs in the garage. A true garage band! The Gemini Effect are influenced by classic rock (Led Zeppelin, The Doors and the Stooges) with liberally dose of Blues (White Stripes, Black Keys etc...). There are also the grunge overtones of Nirvana mixed with punk rock attitude of the Clash. They are also not afraid to experiment with styles (The Kills, NIN, Dandy Warhols).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Gemini Effect

Releases

Atomic Blues
Year: 2017
Type: Album

Other Reviews By LilMizCharlie

Gig Review: Devilskin @ San Fran, Wellington - 13/10/2017
27 Oct 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
Devilskin are being seen all over the world in ways that we as New Zealanders should be extremely proud of. You only have to attend one of their shows to see that for yourself.
Read More...
Stefan Wolf - EP Review: Creep No. 1
01 Mar 2017 // by LilMizCharlie
When I first listened to this EP, I felt that Stefan Wolf was opening up a personal diary and sharing a piece of his mind with me.  Creep No.
Read More...
Jayson Norris - EP Review: Eroded
29 Sep 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
There is something delightfully soothing yet sea-stormy about Adventure It Seems Is Easy from Jayson Norris' new EP Eroded. I found myself listening to this as “cool down” music at the gym.
Read More...
Gig Review: Shihad @ Meow, Wellington - 1/05/16
12 May 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Shihad, a force to be reckoned with. There is not a person I have talked with who doesn’t know this familiar name on the streets.
Read More...
Gig Review: Hollie Smith @ San Francisco Bathouse, Wellington - 8/04/16
20 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
I have often been in awe over Hollie Smith’s tracks. Her voice comes across as humble yet commanding and at those precious moments, heart-wrenching.
Read More...
Festival Review: Homegrown @ Wellington Waterfront - 2/04/2016
06 Apr 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Karl, my partner in crime, and I decided to go and see what all the fuss was about with Homegrown. Over the years, I had musical projects on myself so this was something I often couldn’t afford to throw in the mix.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth
18 Mar 2016 // by LilMizCharlie
Will in all instances cause stereos to malfunction... Maybe I was just in the mood for some rough as guts, raw, sweat drenched madness.
Read More...
View All Articles By LilMizCharlie

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem