24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Julia Deans - Single Review: Walking in the Sun

18 Oct 2017 // A review by Channel1
Julia Deans is one of those iconic Kiwi artists who just seems to effortlessly create a beautiful noise. This new release, her first as a solo artist since 2010 is taken from her forthcoming album We Light Fire.

It's upbeat, dancey and a little angsty. A short intro is quickly followed by that unforgettable voice which is sounding very Shirley Manson on this track. The Backbeat pulses and there is a message in the song reflecting on how we could all be so much better off if we weren't so busy holding each other down which I am sure most people can relate to even though it doesn't seem that way sometimes.

Walking in the Sun has a hook that penetrates your head very quickly. It makes you move. No sun is needed to let this song grow on you, the hit is instant. Julia is class A. This is going to be a crowd favourite when she performs it live.

Of course, the production is awesome, the artwork, the musicianship, the songwriting, that voice!

That Julia continues to evolve with every project she is involved in is a testament to her ability and creativity. Walking in the Sun feels fresh and if this is an indication of what we can expect from the rest of the album we are in for a real treat.

Welcome back Julia, even though you never really went away.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Julia Deans

From honey-sweet falsetto to menacing growl, the voice of Julia Deans has offered light and shade to a variety of musical endeavours over the years. From fronting Fur Patrol’s muscular pop-rock to her electro-pop stylings with Tiki Taane; from co-conspirator with renowned supergroup The Adults to sultry chanteuse with the Christchurch Symphony Orchestra; Deans has never shied from adding new strings to her bow. After slipping off her shoes as the charismatic front woman for Fur Patrol, Julia has left her Melbourne home of ten years and returned to NZ to step effortlessly into the role of solo artist – delivering some of her most exquisite songs yet in the beautiful debut album Modern Fables.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Julia Deans

Releases

Modern Fables
Year: 2010
Type: Album
A New Dialogue
Year: 2009
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Channel1

Gig Review: Foo Fighters @ Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland - 03/02/2018
04 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
It had been raining on and off for most of the day but just as Wellington band Ayn Randy took the stage the heavens opened. It set the scene for what was going to be an awesome night where the weather played a big part in the memories of the 40,000 people packed into Auckland's Mount Smart Stadium.
Read More...
Santa Barbara - Single Review: Marianne's Dark Eyes
01 Feb 2018 // by Channel1
I love Santa Barbara. I am lucky enough to visit there once a year and it's a funky little town about two hours from LA LA Land with a laid-back vibe and it also knows how to get down and dirty on a weekend.
Read More...
Festival Review: Laneway 2018 @ Albert Street Precinct, Auckland - 29/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
2017 was my first time at Laneway. I went for one reason only and that was to see Refused.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ House of Vans, Shed 10, Auckland - 20/01/2018
30 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
So this event kind of took everyone by surprise. The global entity that is House of Vans announced a music/skate festival to be based at Shed 10 on Auckland's waterfront.
Read More...
Gig Review: End of an Era Night 1 @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 26/01/2018
29 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
I arrived early for this first of two nights of bands who have come together to say goodbye to iconic Auckland venue the Kings Arms, which will finally close its doors at the end of February. Punters are slowly streaming in for the opening band A Doubtful Sound (isn't that the best name ever for a Kiwi Band) but the band don't care about how many people are in the room and hit the set full tilt.
Read More...
EP review: Hault
06 Jan 2018 // by Channel1
The 90's will always be my favourite decade for music. It was a time when rock bands took a punk attitude and melded it with face melting heavy 70's style riffs and this is all perfectly summed up in the Sonic Youth doco 1991 the year that punk broke (check it out).
Read More...
Future Islands with Silicon @ Powerstation Auckland - 16/12/2017
19 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
This dude can dance. He is on another planet.
Read More...
Gig Review: Armed in Advance, Fallstate and AnimalHead @ Backbeat, Auckland - 8/12/2017
16 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Back at Backbeat. Deja vu, is a feeling you get when you see a lot of bands in Auckland.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem