14 Aug 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dreams Are Like Water - EP Review: A Sea-Spell

04 Sep 2017 // A review by Channel1
Growing up in the UK in the eighties I was massively influenced by bands like The Mission, Fields of the Nephilim, Sisters of Mercy and The Cure. I loved the atmospherics, the darkness and also the energy of bands like The Mission.

I have heard music by Michel Rowland's other band Disjecta Membra and was gutted to miss them when they opened for The Mission recently in Auckland. So when I heard about the debut release from Dreams Are Like Water, also featuring Jamie Scott Palmer and Rosebud Garland, I jumped at the chance for an early listen.

The four tracks on this EP are the first songs recorded by the group and apparently, original plans were to just share them amongst friends but interest from labels around the world has seen the band already sign with Vesper Records in the US.

A Sea-Spell starts with the sound of ocean waves and Michel's unmistakable vocal but we are quickly introduced to Rosebud. She has an amazing voice which fits perfectly with the atmospherics of the song and reminds me of Julianne Regan from All About Eve.

(Thrice) in Blood is a more upbeat piece with the drum machine kicking off proceedings and it's probably my favourite track I am sure this one will be a favourite in any upcoming live performances.

Ineffable is a brooding and trippy affair with soaring guitars and dual vocals. Kind of like a nursery rhyme you would sing to your kids if you wanted them to have nightmares. What really stands out at this point is how talented this band are. It's no surprise they have generated interest around the world with this debut.

Feathered Infant Bells is almost an instrumental track with the vocals only coming in half way through but it also twists and turns and morphs into one of the most interesting songs on here. It is the perfect closer to a debut EP which shows huge promise and potential. Listening to this took me back to my teens but also introduced me to a new band from Wellington I am keen to follow.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Dreams Are Like Water

Named for a This Mortal Coil song, Dreams Are Like Water is a new music trio from Wellington.

Their debut EP, A Sea-Spell, is forthcoming from Vesper Records, California, USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dreams Are Like Water

Releases

A Sea-Spell
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Channel1

Ghost Who Walks - Single Review: Walking Talking Blues
06 Aug 2018 // by Channel1
Ghost Who Walks are one of those bands whose mixture of blues, funk and soul could easily fall into the abyss that is mediocrity. Like any band who mix genres, the result can be something that should be tasty but also runs the risk of coming out as bland as the rice crackers I am munching on while writing this.
Read More...
Gig Review: Decades @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 20/07/18
23 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
I love Auckland and I love Whammy Bar. A dive bar by definition, this underground venue has been the staple of underground bands for years and long may it continue.
Read More...
These Four Walls - Single Review: Over and Over
17 Jul 2018 // by Channel1
These Four Walls have been around a long time. It's because they have a strong foundation built on late 90's, early 2000's rock.
Read More...
Racing - Single Review: Devil's Work
25 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
My heart is racing. Not sure if thatís a good sign?
Read More...
Metaract - Video/Single Review: Never Forget
23 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I was looking forward to hearing this new single from Aucklandís Meteract, after all, the pairing of a band comprising members of Tadpole and Just One Fix with the production skills of Dave Rhodes was never going to result in a sub-par release.I did have some concerns though, Chris was in one of my favourite bands from the early 2000ís, Redline, and Dave has worked with many acts with one most notable being Blindspott.
Read More...
Gig Review: Brian Jonestown Massacre @ Powerstation, Auckland - 16/06/2018
18 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
It's a wet and windy night. The All Blacks playing means the bars surrounding Auckland's Powerstation are packed with rugby fans and finding a carpark is murder.
Read More...
Gig Review: Ska Save The Queen @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 03/06/2018
12 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
I grew up in Coventry in the UK. As a kid my first introduction to music was Two Tone the local record label that had Ska bands like The Specials, Selector, The Beat etc.
Read More...
Vallkyrie - Single/Video Review: Runaway Child
09 Jun 2018 // by Channel1
South Auckland three-piece Vallkyrie are pure class. Their tendency to switch genres and the mixture of influences they embody has taken them another step forward with this their latest single release Runaway Child.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • IN MY FEELINGS
    Drake
  • NO BRAINER
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Chance The Rapper And Quavo
  • EASTSIDE
    Benny Blanco feat. Halsey And Khalid
  • GIRLS LIKE YOU
    Maroon 5 feat. Cardi B
  • FEFE
    6ix9ine feat. Nicki Minaj And Murda Beatz
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • TASTE
    Tyga feat. Offset
  • SICKO MODE
    Travis Scott feat. Drake
  • STARGAZING
    Travis Scott
  • LUCID DREAMS
    Juice WRLD
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem