25 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dreams Are Like Water - EP Review: A Sea-Spell

04 Sep 2017 // A review by Channel1
Growing up in the UK in the eighties I was massively influenced by bands like The Mission, Fields of the Nephilim, Sisters of Mercy and The Cure. I loved the atmospherics, the darkness and also the energy of bands like The Mission.

I have heard music by Michel Rowland's other band Disjecta Membra and was gutted to miss them when they opened for The Mission recently in Auckland. So when I heard about the debut release from Dreams Are Like Water, also featuring Jamie Scott Palmer and Rosebud Garland, I jumped at the chance for an early listen.

The four tracks on this EP are the first songs recorded by the group and apparently, original plans were to just share them amongst friends but interest from labels around the world has seen the band already sign with Vesper Records in the US.

A Sea-Spell starts with the sound of ocean waves and Michel's unmistakable vocal but we are quickly introduced to Rosebud. She has an amazing voice which fits perfectly with the atmospherics of the song and reminds me of Julianne Regan from All About Eve.

(Thrice) in Blood is a more upbeat piece with the drum machine kicking off proceedings and it's probably my favourite track I am sure this one will be a favourite in any upcoming live performances.

Ineffable is a brooding and trippy affair with soaring guitars and dual vocals. Kind of like a nursery rhyme you would sing to your kids if you wanted them to have nightmares. What really stands out at this point is how talented this band are. It's no surprise they have generated interest around the world with this debut.

Feathered Infant Bells is almost an instrumental track with the vocals only coming in half way through but it also twists and turns and morphs into one of the most interesting songs on here. It is the perfect closer to a debut EP which shows huge promise and potential. Listening to this took me back to my teens but also introduced me to a new band from Wellington I am keen to follow.


Review written by Paul Goddard

About Dreams Are Like Water

Named for a This Mortal Coil song, Dreams Are Like Water is a new music trio from Wellington.

Their debut EP, A Sea-Spell, is forthcoming from Vesper Records, California, USA.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dreams Are Like Water

Releases

A Sea-Spell
Year: 2017
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Recently Deceived - Single Reviews: Misty and Halo
22 May 2018 // by Channel1
It's great to see The Recently Deceived are back with a new double single release following on from their excellent Use Your Head EP. They are simply one of the best "punk" bands you will see or hear and this single steps up the attitude on opener Misty.
Read More...
Hybrid Rose - Single Review: Just Press Play
11 May 2018 // by Channel1
Hybrid Rose (Rose Muollo-Gray) has done it again. Though this time, she has managed to up the game to another level.
Read More...
EP Review: Boom! Boom! Deluxe!
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
As a teenager I was really into psychobilly head cases King Kurt. They were the backdrop to many a drunken party.
Read More...
Tom Cunliffe - Album Review: Template For Love
01 May 2018 // by Channel1
I must admit when I came across this I was put off by the album title Template for Love as I am more of an 'Instructions for Chaos' kind of guy.Life is much richer if you push into the unknown, challenge the preconceptions and explore with an open mind which is exactly what Tom Cunliffe has done on this his second album.
Read More...
Unknown Mortal Orchestra - Album Review: Sex & Food
11 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
I know it is controversial but I am going to say it anyway. I agree with Taka Waititi - Unknown Mortal Orchestra are the best band on the planet to listen to and the new album is awesome as fuck!
Read More...
A.U.R.A - Single Review: G.I Wonder
05 Apr 2018 // by Channel1
There is something safe about the familiar. It is comfortable.
Read More...
Gig Review: Prophets of Rage @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 20/03/2018
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
I was lucky enough to see Rage Against the Machine just after they released their debut album. It was a tiny venue in the UK and the energy and anger along with Tom Morello's insane guitar histrionics was a massive influence on me and the music I wanted to create.
Read More...
Super Narco Man - EP Review: Dank Mammoth Deluxe EP
27 Mar 2018 // by Channel1
So, what is it about Tauranga? This land of the newlyweds and the nearly-deads is fast becoming a hotbed of some serious underground post-punk hardcore goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem