27 May 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Starving Millions - EP Review: V

02 Sep 2017 // A review by Matt Mutinous

Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on. Despite almost been absorbed by sub genres and surviving fads throughout years. Wellington based four piece Starving Millions is proving to do just that. With their fifth release appropriately titled out this week, I had to check out the next chapter in this bands, already awesome back catalogue.

Fading in with a dusty devils guitar and shallow death metal like vocals, the EP kicks off with an unexpected undertone. Casting an angle of evil and anger right from the start. It was clear I was in my element right away.Clearing things up with the classic punk rock beat of Fear and Hate, we get a fist full of sick riffs coupled up with a crowd stirring vocal, firmly stuck in our heads.

Gnarling into the next track Us and Them we are faced with a stomping fortress of guitars and drums. Exciting the ear with metal like arrangements and even throwing in a blast beat for good measure, this track was a clear favourite for me.Heading down the hill into the fourth track Self Important Fool, we start to feel the lighter side of things with a triumphant charge of guitars backed with a belted out lyric. Sobering the mood with a slight sense of raw emotion and then stomping it into the ground before it's too late.

Shadowed by screams in the distance, the fifth track takes us in one side and out the other. Slow and low, then exploding out, this final flight builds to an epic climax, before dramatically falling into a submersible silence. With the abrupt ending leaving the listener stunned we find ourselves back at the beginning in no time. the perfect hook to finish things off.

The production on this EP impressed me immensely, especially the guitar tones and snare drum. Most importantly, the unique vocal styles cut through displaying a trademark of the bands sound. this EP is set to cement their place right next to some of the best New Zealand punk acts. Be sure to check it out, you won't regret it and make sure to catch these guys out on the road this spring, with several shows booked in the next coming months. 

-5 Stars

EP Link


Review written by Matt Mutinous

About Starving Millions

Starving Millions are a hardcore Punk band from Wellington City.
Never ones to let idle hands take over, the band has released a string of albums and EPs since their formation in 2013, as well as touring locally and abroad.

In true DIY fashion Starving Millions take care of all areas of the band in house or through local friends; from recording, production and distribution of the music, through to design, photography and production of merch.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Starving Millions

Releases

V
Year: 2017
Type: EP
IV
Year: 2016
Type: EP
III
Year: 2015
Type: Album
II
Year: 2014
Type: EP
I
Year: 2013
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Matt Mutinous

Heavy Blarney - Album Review - Bog to Swamp
08 May 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Released - 18th May 2018 When I first saw the title Bog to Swamp my imagination could only assume what kind of music was to follow. The second album from Palmerston North Celtic rockers, Heavy Blarney had grabbed my attention from the get-go and I was keen to find out just how this band sounded with such a unique blend of music styles, rarely attempted these days.
Read More...
Depths - Album Review: Endless
10 Mar 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Release Date: April 13th, 2018 Picked up by Deadboy Records in late 2011, Depths have hit the ground running, adding a new angle to the New Zealand Metal scene and bringing a fresh sound to the table. Presumably named after the album from US deathcore band, Oceano, Depths has managed to draw an international style of death metal from the comforts of Palmerston North.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cattle Decapitation @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 8/02/2018
21 Feb 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Thursday nights are always a good night to go out if you live in Auckland, with most international acts 'fitting us in' on their Australian tour nowadays, even a show this close to the weekend is a blessing. San Diego death metal giants, Cattle Decapitation had shown up to the iconic Kings Arms and the line to the was stretched out into the street.
Read More...
EP Review: Rise of Destructatron
15 Feb 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
Countdown... to...
Read More...
Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018
08 Jan 2018 // by Matt Mutinous
The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.
Read More...
Gig Review: Angelcorpse @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 26/07/2017
06 Aug 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Mid week gigs are always the hardest choice for most music fans, but it's not often at all that a band like this comes to town. Angelcorpse had been a big part of the Tampa death metal scene in the late 90's, so I decided to take my good friend and fellow musician, Nik Davies along, to try and catch a glimpse of the good old days of American death metal.
Read More...
Master Blaster - EP Review: Pass Out
11 Jun 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released June 16th 2017 Yesterday I knew nothing of Auckland hardcore punks, Master Blaster except for the fact that they probably run Barter Town just like in Mad Max's Beyond Thunder Dome. Being a massive fan of the Mad Max films and heavy music, I was keen to take a look at their brand new E.
Read More...
Push Push - EP Review - Talk2Me
19 Apr 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released 13th April 2017 Growing up as a kid In the 90's you had to be living under a rock to have never heard of Auckland band Push Push. After their array of hits including, Trippin' which reached number one on the new Zealand charts in 1992 and front man Mikey Havoc's career transition onto late night television.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt Mutinous

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • THIS IS AMERICA
    Childish Gambino
  • BETTER NOW
    Post Malone
  • NICE FOR WHAT
    Drake
  • YOUNGBLOOD
    5 Seconds Of Summer
  • LOVE LIES
    Khalid And Normani
  • PSYCHO
    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
  • ONE KISS
    Calvin Harris And Dua Lipa
  • NO TEARS LEFT TO CRY
    Ariana Grande
  • FREAKY FRIDAY
    Lil Dicky feat. Chris Brown
  • I LIKE IT
    Cardi B, Bad Bunny And J Balvin
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem