19 Jan 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Skinny Hobos @ Yot Club, Raglan - 06/01/2018

08 Jan 2018 // A review by Matt Mutinous

The sun finally decided to make an appearance over Raglan on Saturday afternoon, following two days of chaos weather and king tides that flooded most of the country. Tourists returned with the warmth as the campground began to fill up, the sun slipped below the horizon almost as quickly as it appeared.

I made my way over to the jewel of Raglan's nightlife and local music scene, the Yot club. With the panoramic backdrop and an immediately laid back, wholesome vibe, I could easily see why this venue was popular and cherished by locals and musicians alike. The low rafter roof and wooden floors provided great sound and the bar quickly began to fill with punters fresh off the beach and ready for a drink.

Opening the show with some electronic genius was Taupo duo, False Heights. Armed with polyphonic keys, electric drums and the occasional guitar riff, these multi-instrumentalists took the edge off the night nicely with their laid-back melody and head bopping drum loops. Swapping up the sticks for the guitar while singing sweetly these two knew how to put on a good show, keeping the crowd attentive for the entirety of their set.

Followed up by Auckland blues rockers, Violet Highway who managed to rip the lid off the evening with their solid bass lines and dirty blues guitar. The high energy of their riffs led by a soulful, yet soaring vocal quickly persuaded the crowd into movement. A perfect mix of styles with dynamic songs this three-piece clearly knew what wanted out of the performance and demanded it from the crowd accordingly.

Just enough time to grab a drink before the Skinny Hobos burst on to the stage brandishing the strange but cool attitude and stage presence that has earned them a solid reputation all over the country. The sing-along ensued from wall to wall pleasing the crowd with hits and even rocking out with a well-executed cover of Led Zeppelin's Immigrant song. Always a pleasure to see such a hard-working band do their thing in a small venue, rocking the house down while maintaining the laid-back vibe of the night

Closing for the night was Hamilton favourite, Cheshire Grimm who id been looking forward to seeing live all summer. Engaging with the crowd perfectly and even sparking off a good old-fashioned conga line led by a crudely dressed superman stag, this three-piece powerhouse made sure the night ended with plenty of dancing and laughs all around. Clearly controlling the show while keeping it cool, another great example of hard-working musicians that know how to show you a good time!

Short intervals between bands and great bar staff kept the night flowing nicely, an epic turn out combined with an awesome venue ensured the success of the show. Definitely, the perfect way for me to end my summer break and in such a nice place. Inhaling the essence of a true kiwi summer, rocking out in the moonlight to some of the best rock bands New Zealand has to offer.

- 5 stars

Review written by Matt Mutinous


About Skinny Hobos

Skinny Hobos are a 2-piece Alternative Rock band from Auckland, New Zealand who make far more noise than any two people should!

The Hobos have quickly earned a reputation for being the hardest working band in town. In 2015, they played more shows than there were weeks in the year, as well as recording their debut album at Neil Finnís Roundhead Studios with engineer Nick Poortman (Ekko Park, Jason Kerrison).

They finished off the year with a very successful co-headlined North Island tour with Wellington band Bakers Eddy, and they were also featured in the December/January issue of NZ Musician Magazine.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Skinny Hobos

Releases

There are no releases to display for Skinny Hobos.

Other Reviews By Matt Mutinous

Starving Millions - EP Review: V
02 Sep 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Good punk in this country has always been few and far between. Ducking in and out of the spotlight, the well-known acts of the New Zealand scene have been the ones that have powered on.
Read More...
Gig Review: Angelcorpse @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 26/07/2017
06 Aug 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Mid week gigs are always the hardest choice for most music fans, but it's not often at all that a band like this comes to town. Angelcorpse had been a big part of the Tampa death metal scene in the late 90's, so I decided to take my good friend and fellow musician, Nik Davies along, to try and catch a glimpse of the good old days of American death metal.
Read More...
Master Blaster - EP Review: Pass Out
11 Jun 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released June 16th 2017 Yesterday I knew nothing of Auckland hardcore punks, Master Blaster except for the fact that they probably run Barter Town just like in Mad Max's Beyond Thunder Dome. Being a massive fan of the Mad Max films and heavy music, I was keen to take a look at their brand new E.
Read More...
Push Push - EP Review - Talk2Me
19 Apr 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released 13th April 2017 Growing up as a kid In the 90's you had to be living under a rock to have never heard of Auckland band Push Push. After their array of hits including, Trippin' which reached number one on the new Zealand charts in 1992 and front man Mikey Havoc's career transition onto late night television.
Read More...
Silent Torture - EP Review: Torn to Pieces
25 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released January 28th, 2017 Back in October, we saw the release of a brand new single entitled Torn to Pieces said to be the title track off of the upcoming EP from Auckland death thrashers Silent Torture. After unveiling the gruesome and equally as awesome cover a couple of weeks ago from artist Tata Kumislizer, the wait was finally over and I was lucky enough to be one of the first to check it out.
Read More...
King Fin - Single Review: Finding Hate in Yogurt
16 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
Released December 28, 2016 Back in 2014, we saw the emergence of conceptual prog-rock/metal instrumental EP Empty House by Auckland artist/producer Luke Finlay. Just when you thought he wasn't serious, King Fin is back at it again.
Read More...
Album Review - Killing Bear
05 Jan 2017 // by Matt Mutinous
- Released - December 16, 2016 I hadn't planned on taking a trip into outer space before pressing play on this album from Pukerua Bay four piece, Killing Bear. Knowing absolutely nothing about them, I gladly jumped on board and strapped myself in like an unsuspecting hitchhiker.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Gig Review: The Silence of the Wolves Tour @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 17/11/2016
28 Nov 2016 // by Matt Mutinous
The weather was miserable across Auckland city, the wind was blowing and the sky was dark, a perfect night to get out of the rain, grab a beer and see some live music at the famous Kings Arms Tavern. A couple of touring Australian metalcore acts; Lycanthrope and The Weight of Silence supported by two local heavyweights including my own band, HeadRoller I couldn't help but be attentive.
Read More...
View All Articles By Matt Mutinous

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • RIVER
    Eminem feat. Ed Sheeran
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • CANDY PAINT
    Post Malone
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem