19 Nov 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Gig Review: Gorguts and Marduk @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/03/17

20 Mar 2017 // A review by terry666

Ben from Valhalla has been busy in Wellington for the last few years fulfilling metal heads dreams with the high calibre of acts he has preforming at his venue. I have seen quite a few of my heroes perform there and tonight was another such night. Long may it continue.

Gorguts from the States and Marduk from Sweden are almost opposites in a lot of ways, but when it comes to extreme metal they are both the same and certainly can deliver.

Gorguts' set was around 45 minutes long with only 3 songs but we were treated to the epic Pleiades Dust coming in at just over 30 minutes. This was an amazing showcase of stamina, talent and brutality that left you stunned to have witnessed it. I was more than impressed by their performance. The audience were given a lesson on how itís done and responded in kind, with the pit chaotic as hell.

Marduk delivered a blistering set of black metal. Their set was primarily comprised of the 1996 album Heaven Shall Burn played in its entirety with some other goodies tagged on at the end. This set is only being played around 12-13 times worldwide before they return to normal set lists so it was an honour to get 2 of those shows in NZ. Mortuus commanded from the stage as soon as they stepped up and the pit went mental. Another lesson was given on how to play extreme metal and at the end I knew I had just seen two masters of their craft.

The best thing about Valhalla is that itís a fairly small venue. That might seem crazy but getting this close to these bands is something that you wouldnít get in many other places in the globe. It gives the fans a unique experience and the bands fed off that too, as they probably never get that close either. Very small green room area means bands walk through some of the crowd to get to the stage and more often than not the bands hang out to watch the other bands play or have a few drinks.

Other Reviews By terry666

Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by terry666
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by terry666
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - EP Review: Vestige
09 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Vestige is the second EP from Hamilton based Metal band Seas of Conflict. These guys are not new to the scene, having been around since 2011, and have been consistently releasing material independently while still in high school through till now.
Read More...
EP Review: Ignite the Helix
21 Dec 2016 // by terry666
This 4 track EP opens with the track Blur The Line which in my mind to an extent describes the song perfectly in that it cannot really be genre cast. Grunting growly grinding goodness.
Read More...
Album Review: Pills For Breakfast
17 Apr 2016 // by terry666
Pills For Breakfast have been around since 2012 and this is their first full album. The band consists of two core members Neil Johns and Chris Thorpe but also enlist other musicians to appear throughout as guest musicians.
Read More...
Gig Review: Helgorithms @ The Royal, Palmerston North - 14/11/15
23 Dec 2015 // by terry666
The only support band I got to see was Porcelain and to be honest I was not that impressed with them. Although technically they were good, they lacked the energy and x factor so to speak in my opinion.
Read More...
In Dread Response - Album Review: Heavenshore
12 Oct 2015 // by terry666
Heavenshore is In Dread Response's third full length release in their 10 year history and the first for their new singer Ben Read. In the ten years since this band formed a lot of the members have been involved in other projects.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem