24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017

05 Nov 2017 // A review by terry666

Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017

Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans. Apparently they donít have 'Fresh Up' in Australia and they made a big deal about how good that was - great hangover cure I would think. No doubt they would have been having a ball on the road with the legends that were headlining the tour.

Iíve always been a Kiss fan so seeing Ace Frehley was a big deal to me. He smashed through a strong set of solo material and some Kiss classics. His band were impressive and all leant a hand with the singing as well. Singing was never Ace's strong suit whereas playing the guitar on the other hand is what itís about with Ace and he really bought his A game. There was a cool moment where his guitar was quite literally smoking which was really the only nod to the theatrics of a Kiss show. I loved seeing him and I'm now happy having seen Kiss twice before but never with Ace.

What can u say about Alice Cooper? The man is a showman extraordinaire and never misses a beat. He entertains not only with great songs but huge theatrics that kept the crowd on their feet for the whole show. Oddly it was a seated show so no pit so to speak but only the odd few who were aged and had earned their right to sit were seated the rest of the audience were on their feet chanting and screaming for Alice.

He ploughed through a set of tracks that made fans from all ages happy. That was one of the coolest things seeing all the different age groups of people attending. Naturally there was all the older punters and then middle aged like myself but what was even better was seeing all the young fans. Being that heís almost in his 70's he showed amazing athleticism with costume changes between songs and all sorts of crazy theatrics.

Just so people didnít get confused at the end of the show he introduced the band and then said ďAnd playing Alice Cooper tonight, MeĒ. As for the band well they stood out on their own too Nita Strauss was not only getting the men and women present exited by her looks and theatrics but was an amazing guitar player.

Alice put himself through all sorts of tortures including being electrocuted, becoming a giant and getting his head cut off to the gasps of some of the crowd who didnít quite expect that. The crowd roared and screamed for more and he gave it all ending with an encore of School's Out. The set list comprised of a great coverage of his 40 year career there were the classics there from No More Mr Nice Guy, through to Under My Wheels. Some of my favourite moments were the oldies like Only Women Bleed, I Love The Dead, I'm Eighteen and Ballad of Dwight Fry. Since he has only just released an album we did get one track from that but all the rest were from his long and illustrious discography. The smiles on the dials and eyes that were lit up leaving were testament to the consummate performer that is Alice Cooper.


Review written by Terry McIntosh

Other Reviews By terry666

Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the worldís greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say itís not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by terry666
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by terry666
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
Gig Review: Gorguts and Marduk @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/03/17
20 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Ben from Valhalla has been busy in Wellington for the last few years fulfilling metal heads dreams with the high calibre of acts he has preforming at his venue. I have seen quite a few of my heroes perform there and tonight was another such night.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - EP Review: Vestige
09 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Vestige is the second EP from Hamilton based Metal band Seas of Conflict. These guys are not new to the scene, having been around since 2011, and have been consistently releasing material independently while still in high school through till now.
Read More...
EP Review: Ignite the Helix
21 Dec 2016 // by terry666
This 4 track EP opens with the track Blur The Line which in my mind to an extent describes the song perfectly in that it cannot really be genre cast. Grunting growly grinding goodness.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem