28 May 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ginzu and the Steak Knives - EP Review: Crow Hand

16 Mar 2017 // A review by butch181
One of the shortest extended play (EP) releases I have had to review so far. The five tracks add up to just under nine minutes of what is undoubtedly a punk length release. The title track, Crow Hand, starts with a heavy riff that screams of an accelerando version of System of a Down’s Nüguns intro. This track is fast-paced and scrappy, with very few vocals; the title of the track comprising almost half of the lyrics. Malamute, is very garage rock, with a vibe that channels a mix of Aussie rockers Jet and Airbourne with unbridled energy.

With quite a well-rounded rock sound, they have a good mix of treble and bass in the guitars compared to the general punk vibe. The vocals are high, harsh, and aggressive, with barely distinguishable lyrics. The coarse vocal style could be compared to that of Robert Bartleh Cummings  a.k.a. Rob Zombie. 


Interestingly, several of the latter tracks have a very deep and heavy alt-rock sound that has some strong similarities to acts such as the already mentioned System of a Down, Godsmack, with the lighter tracks having a simple clean sound not dissimilar to The Offspring. Final track, King of the Sea, is the most legible track with a lighter, cleaner sound to it, at least until it leads you into the slow, heavy chug of doom metal in the breakdown before the solo.


With a surprising amount of variety in this short EP, Ginzu And The Steak Knives provide a quick adrenaline-fueled fusion of rock, punk, and doom metal that has a more mainstream sound despite maintaining anarchical roots.

About Ginzu and the Steak Knives

Ginzu and the Steak Knives are a 3 piece band from Auckland, New Zealand.

Their loud, yet catchy songs showcase punk, metal, and doom riffs that will smash your face in, and beats that will melt your brain.

Formed in 2015.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ginzu and the Steak Knives

Releases

There are no releases to display for Ginzu and the Steak Knives.

Other Reviews By butch181

Tablefox - EP Review: Glass Houses
19 May 2017 // by butch181
The Glass Houses EP starts out with an instrumental introduction. A three minute long track that begins with keys and a quiet, gentle and fragile guitar riff, but is then joined by a second louder, more abrupt guitar.
Read More...
Gig Review: Clap Clap Riot @ REC, Auckland, 05/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
It has been many years since I have heard from Clap Clap Riot. Probably a consequence of listening solely to The Rock FM when it comes to the radio, but with a new release, it seemed like I was overdue checking them out.
Read More...
Gig Review: Head Like A Hole @ Galatos, Auckland 04/05/2017
14 May 2017 // by butch181
Heading in to the venue, it was to be my first gig at Auckland's Galatos venue. Situated not too far away from the now-sold Kings Arms Tavern, and the currently for sale Wine Cellar and Whammy Bar, Galatos is in a prime position.
Read More...
Gig Review: Thomas Oliver @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland 05/05/2017
07 May 2017 // by butch181
On a lovely brisk Friday evening I find myself sitting outside of the Tuning Fork, adjacent to the recently renamed Spark Arena in Auckland. The skies dark but clear, as I wait by the gas heaters for the opening artist to take to the stage.
Read More...
Lucifer Gunne - EP Review: The Red King
04 May 2017 // by butch181
An interesting short EP. Of the five tracks included, only three are of real substance, enclosed by the suitably named Intro and Outro.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton 29/04/2017
01 May 2017 // by butch181
Being an EP Release Party, I put in some extra effort and made my way down from Auckland to attend this Hamilton gig. Traffic was light, so the drive was pleasant - perhaps due to the lateness at which I was travelling.
Read More...
Gig Review: Alcest @ Whammy Bar, Auckland 24/04/2017
25 Apr 2017 // by butch181
Alcest is a very recent discovery for me. Hailing all the way from Bagnols-sur-Cèzein France, I discovered their Australia/New Zealand tour by chance.
Read More...
Gig Review: Garden Party Riot @ The Dogs Bollix, Auckland 20/04/2017
24 Apr 2017 // by butch181
This trio took to the stage at Auckland’s Dogs Bollix, and they seemed a rather unassuming group. Apart from the vocalist, Paul Goddard, who dressed with a spiffy jacket and waistcoat in a look not dissimilar to Oasis and Beady Eye vocalist Liam Gallagher, the other members are dressed very casual in t-shirts and short sleeves.
Read More...
View All Articles By butch181

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • I'M THE ONE
    DJ Khaled feat. Justin Bieber, Quavo, Chance The Rapper And Lil Wayne
  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • MALIBU
    Miley Cyrus
  • SIGN OF THE TIMES
    Harry Styles
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • SWALLA
    Jason DeRulo feat. Nicki Minaj And Ty Dolla Sign
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem