12 Dec 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Channel1
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.

The production on this EP is impressive and all 5 tracks were recorded over two days at Auckland's Silverpoint Studios. Vocally I am reminded of Cyprus Hill and the band are really tight. All The Same bounces along on the back of a grinding riff then builds to a climax that Rage Against The Machine would be proud of. It would be lazy to describe Play Big as a RATM clone though as there is much more going on here. A heavier edge and where RATM are tackling global issues Play Big are keeping things more street level and personal.

Don't Worry starts all atmospheric and has a Deftones vibe. My favourite track on here and would be a killer to see live. The EP actually runs along like a live set and by Four Point Six the band are firing on all cylinders. Slightly longer than the other tracks with some nice break downs. This leads us to closing track The Way That I Am full of the attitude that runs through all these tracks but not as stand out as the earlier songs.

A lot of NZ based Rapcore bands all come out sounding like Blindspott clones and I am pleased to say this isn't the case with Play Big. Finally, NZ has a band stepping out of those shadows and shining a light for others to follow. I am excited. Go out and buy this EP. I just did.

Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Harry Styles @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 2/12/2017
04 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
It must be interesting being Harry Styles. Thrown into the limelight to be the focal point for one of the highest selling pop acts ever.
Read More...
Gig Review: Marky Ramone @ The Studio, Auckland - 1/12/2017
02 Dec 2017 // by Channel1
Hey Ho Lets Go! The Studio on KRd was filling up nicely when I arrived and as expected the crowd is largely made up of males in their late forties/early fifties.
Read More...
Minimal Silence - Single Review: House of Flies
29 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
Getting ahead in the music business is a competition. You need to give it your all and hope for a bit of luck to get ahead.
Read More...
Naught for Nothing - Single Review: Lucid
28 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
Talent really does shine. I never really thought about it until now but it does.
Read More...
Thirty Years Late - Album Review: Fight On
14 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
In 1967 something happened. There was a shift in peoples mindsets and that resulted in a shift in the musical landscape.
Read More...
EP Review: Vallkyrie
11 Nov 2017 // by Channel1
The Goddess Vallkyrie has spoken. She is looking for warriors, people who dare to be different, who want to alter perceptions and stereotypes.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Dillinger Escape Plan @ Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/10/2017
28 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
There is a real air of anticipation around this gig. The last time The Dillinger Escape Plan played the Kings Arms back in 2015 still has people sharing stories of what it was like to be there and tonight is the last time New Zealand gets to see one of the most innovative and progressive bands of the last 20 years.
Read More...
Gig Review: The DMA's @ Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/10/2017
21 Oct 2017 // by Channel1
This is my first time at Tuning fork and the smallish room is filling up nicely as we arrive early to catch local band Yukon Era before Aussie headliners The DMA's.I had heard good things about Yukon Era but wasn't sure what to expect.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PERFECT DUET
    Ed Sheeran And Beyonce
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • DON'T GIVE IT UP
    Six60
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • LET YOU DOWN
    NF
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • WOLVES
    Selena Gomez And Marshmello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem