29 Apr 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Channel1
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.

The production on this EP is impressive and all 5 tracks were recorded over two days at Auckland's Silverpoint Studios. Vocally I am reminded of Cyprus Hill and the band are really tight. All The Same bounces along on the back of a grinding riff then builds to a climax that Rage Against The Machine would be proud of. It would be lazy to describe Play Big as a RATM clone though as there is much more going on here. A heavier edge and where RATM are tackling global issues Play Big are keeping things more street level and personal.

Don't Worry starts all atmospheric and has a Deftones vibe. My favourite track on here and would be a killer to see live. The EP actually runs along like a live set and by Four Point Six the band are firing on all cylinders. Slightly longer than the other tracks with some nice break downs. This leads us to closing track The Way That I Am full of the attitude that runs through all these tracks but not as stand out as the earlier songs.

A lot of NZ based Rapcore bands all come out sounding like Blindspott clones and I am pleased to say this isn't the case with Play Big. Finally, NZ has a band stepping out of those shadows and shining a light for others to follow. I am excited. Go out and buy this EP. I just did.

Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Album Review: Naught For Nothing
16 Mar 2017 // by Channel1
Every now and then a band seems to come out of the blue and you just wonder where they have been hiding and what they have been doing to get so damn good.  Naught For Nothing formed in 2015 and are based in Northcote.
Read More...
The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17
23 Jan 2017 // by Channel1
These radio promo gigs are a strange thing. I have been to a few now and like a good portion of the people tonight, I am not here necessarily as a fan of the band.
Read More...
Will Saunders - EP Review: Nothing Wrong
01 Jan 2017 // by Channel1
I am on a train journey into Auckland today with Will Saunders' (from The Lowest Fidelity) latest collection of songs as co-passenger. Pulling out of Papakura and the first track, Nothing Wrong, has a drum beat to match the rhythm of the train on the track.
Read More...
Fallstate - EP Review: Friends
14 Dec 2016 // by Channel1
I played this new EP from Fallstate once and the sticky bugger got stuck in my brain instantly. I tried to wash it out with copious amounts of alcohol.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cheshire Grimm @ Backbeat, Auckland - 2/12/2016
11 Dec 2016 // by Channel1
There was always going to be a good crowd at this Cheshire Grimm single release party with support from Skinny Hobos, Armed in Advance and She Loves You. The room is already nearly full as She Loves You take the stage.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/11/2016
28 Nov 2016 // by Channel1
There is a buzz around tonight's gig. An energy that I can feel when I walk into the Kings Arms.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived - EP Review: Use Your Head
21 Nov 2016 // by Channel1
I have fond memories of Hamilton, having lived there for a few years and hosting a show on the now defunct Backbeat FM. Some people might knock the Tron but throughout the world cities like this, places that people drive through to get somewhere else, constantly throw up great bands.
Read More...
Mitch Alderlieste - EP Review: City Calling
27 Oct 2016 // by Channel1
I am sitting in a motel in Los Angeles at the moment. It's hot outside and relaxing with a rather strong craft beer seems the perfect time to sit back and check out the latest release from Wellington based Mitch Alderlieste.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HUMBLE.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • OPTIONS
    Pitbull feat. Stephen Marley
  • GALWAY GIRL
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I LIKE
    Bruno Mars
  • PASSIONFRUIT
    Drake
  • SOMETHING JUST LIKE THIS
    The Chainsmokers And Coldplay
  • SLIDE
    Calvin Harris feat. Frank Ocean And Migos
  • DNA.
    Kendrick Lamar
  • STAY
    Zedd And Alessia Cara
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem