26 Feb 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Channel1
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.

The production on this EP is impressive and all 5 tracks were recorded over two days at Auckland's Silverpoint Studios. Vocally I am reminded of Cyprus Hill and the band are really tight. All The Same bounces along on the back of a grinding riff then builds to a climax that Rage Against The Machine would be proud of. It would be lazy to describe Play Big as a RATM clone though as there is much more going on here. A heavier edge and where RATM are tackling global issues Play Big are keeping things more street level and personal.

Don't Worry starts all atmospheric and has a Deftones vibe. My favourite track on here and would be a killer to see live. The EP actually runs along like a live set and by Four Point Six the band are firing on all cylinders. Slightly longer than the other tracks with some nice break downs. This leads us to closing track The Way That I Am full of the attitude that runs through all these tracks but not as stand out as the earlier songs.

A lot of NZ based Rapcore bands all come out sounding like Blindspott clones and I am pleased to say this isn't the case with Play Big. Finally, NZ has a band stepping out of those shadows and shining a light for others to follow. I am excited. Go out and buy this EP. I just did.

Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

The Naked And Famous @ Logan Campbell Centre, Auckland - 10/01/17
23 Jan 2017 // by Channel1
These radio promo gigs are a strange thing. I have been to a few now and like a good portion of the people tonight, I am not here necessarily as a fan of the band.
Read More...
Will Saunders - EP Review: Nothing Wrong
01 Jan 2017 // by Channel1
I am on a train journey into Auckland today with Will Saunders' (from The Lowest Fidelity) latest collection of songs as co-passenger. Pulling out of Papakura and the first track, Nothing Wrong, has a drum beat to match the rhythm of the train on the track.
Read More...
Fallstate - EP Review: Friends
14 Dec 2016 // by Channel1
I played this new EP from Fallstate once and the sticky bugger got stuck in my brain instantly. I tried to wash it out with copious amounts of alcohol.
Read More...
Gig Review: Cheshire Grimm @ Backbeat, Auckland - 2/12/2016
11 Dec 2016 // by Channel1
There was always going to be a good crowd at this Cheshire Grimm single release party with support from Skinny Hobos, Armed in Advance and She Loves You. The room is already nearly full as She Loves You take the stage.
Read More...
Gig Review: Bleeders @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 25/11/2016
28 Nov 2016 // by Channel1
There is a buzz around tonight's gig. An energy that I can feel when I walk into the Kings Arms.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived - EP Review: Use Your Head
21 Nov 2016 // by Channel1
I have fond memories of Hamilton, having lived there for a few years and hosting a show on the now defunct Backbeat FM. Some people might knock the Tron but throughout the world cities like this, places that people drive through to get somewhere else, constantly throw up great bands.
Read More...
Mitch Alderlieste - EP Review: City Calling
27 Oct 2016 // by Channel1
I am sitting in a motel in Los Angeles at the moment. It's hot outside and relaxing with a rather strong craft beer seems the perfect time to sit back and check out the latest release from Wellington based Mitch Alderlieste.
Read More...
Jake Stokes - EP Review: Before We're All Dead
11 Oct 2016 // by Channel1
The thing that strikes me when listening to the tracks on Before We're All Dead is that Jake Stokes is seriously talented. The opening track Classifieds starts as a kind of indie anthem and you can tell Jake has bought some of his influences over from the UK.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • SHAPE OF YOU
    Ed Sheeran
  • CASTLE ON THE HILL
    Ed Sheeran
  • HOW FAR I'LL GO
    Alessia Cara
  • I DON'T WANNA LIVE FOREVER
    ZAYN And Taylor Swift
  • PARIS
    The Chainsmokers
  • ROCKABYE
    Clean Bandit feat. Sean Paul And Anne-Marie
  • I FEEL IT COMING
    The Weeknd feat. Daft Punk
  • SCARED TO BE LONELY
    Martin Garrix And Dua Lipa
  • CHAINED TO THE RHYTHM
    Katy Perry feat. Skip Marley
  • CALL ON ME (RYAN RIBACK REMIX)
    Starley
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem