20 Aug 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Play Big - EP Review: Fuck Work

05 Feb 2017 // A review by Channel1
When I first heard the name Play Big it reminded me of those T-Shirts Wham used to wear in the eighties with CHOOSE LIFE emblazoned on them. That image was blown away by the opening riff on Fuck Work which hit harder than Joseph Parker when he hasn't been eating too many Burger Kings.

The production on this EP is impressive and all 5 tracks were recorded over two days at Auckland's Silverpoint Studios. Vocally I am reminded of Cyprus Hill and the band are really tight. All The Same bounces along on the back of a grinding riff then builds to a climax that Rage Against The Machine would be proud of. It would be lazy to describe Play Big as a RATM clone though as there is much more going on here. A heavier edge and where RATM are tackling global issues Play Big are keeping things more street level and personal.

Don't Worry starts all atmospheric and has a Deftones vibe. My favourite track on here and would be a killer to see live. The EP actually runs along like a live set and by Four Point Six the band are firing on all cylinders. Slightly longer than the other tracks with some nice break downs. This leads us to closing track The Way That I Am full of the attitude that runs through all these tracks but not as stand out as the earlier songs.

A lot of NZ based Rapcore bands all come out sounding like Blindspott clones and I am pleased to say this isn't the case with Play Big. Finally, NZ has a band stepping out of those shadows and shining a light for others to follow. I am excited. Go out and buy this EP. I just did.

Paul Goddard

Other Reviews By Channel1

Broken Season - Single/Video Review: Amandla (Lyric Video)
06 Aug 2017 // by Channel1
Music can be anything you want it to be. It can be throw away, whimsical, abrasive, calming and you can choose music to suit your mood or change your mood because music connects on an emotional level.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queens Of The Stone Age @ Logan Campbell, Auckland - 13/07/17
15 Jul 2017 // by Channel1
It's somewhere back in the late Nineties and I am in Rock City, Nottingham UK. There is a band on in the small bar downstairs I hadn't heard of them but they had a cool name and the singer just had something going on.
Read More...
Animal Party - EP Review: Drifting
01 Jul 2017 // by Channel1
Good music takes you somewhere else. It makes your mind wander, changes your mood, makes you feel something.
Read More...
Gig Review: Curlys Jewels @ Backbeat, Auckland - 24/06/17
29 Jun 2017 // by Channel1
First off I just want to say Backbeat is a great venue, just the right size and always a decent sound. I arrived to catch the last three songs from openers Average Mars Experience as I didn't know they were on the bill.
Read More...
Skinny Hobos - Single/Video Review: Suburban Living
24 Jun 2017 // by Channel1
I have never had much time for religion. You know, if you believe in God then by the same logic you might believe in Santa Clause or Fairies.
Read More...
Album Review: Ebola Babies
30 May 2017 // by Channel1
I was really looking forward to this album. I love punk and with a name like EbolaBabies, it was pretty clear that this set of songs should be right up my street.
Read More...
Curlys Jewels - EP Review: The Skin We Shed
08 May 2017 // by Channel1
I had heard good things about Curly Jewels from gigs they have played up and done the country and even though I knew nothing about them I had an impression in my mind of a hard hitting heavy rock outfit who put on a great show. So the opening track Internal Cinderella didn't disappoint, it kicks in with a driving riff and the production is great.
Read More...
Gig Review: Jon Toogood @ The Kings Arms, Auckland - 29/04/17
01 May 2017 // by Channel1
Tonight was always going to be special. There are few NZ performers with a legacy like Jon Toogood.
Read More...
View All Articles By Channel1

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DESPACITO (REMIX)
    Luis Fonsi And Daddy Yankee feat. Justin Bieber
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
  • FEELS
    Calvin Harris feat. Pharrell Williams, Katy Perry And Big Sean
  • WILD THOUGHTS
    DJ Khaled feat. Rihanna And Bryson Tiller
  • THUNDER
    Imagine Dragons
  • UNFORGETTABLE
    French Montana feat. Swae Lee
  • STRIP THAT DOWN
    Liam Payne feat. Quavo
  • SORRY NOT SORRY
    Demi Lovato
  • MAMA
    Jonas Blue feat. William Singe
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem