19 Mar 2018

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith

07 Nov 2016 // A review by rebelsoundradio

Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.

The production is crisp as we have come to expect from Zorran Mendosa and the song wastes no time establishing atmosphere with a wall of delayed guitar and big open cymbal accents before laying back into the softer verse. The vocals come in with conviction and establish a purposeful tone, the choice of melody and phrasing create a very catchy verse.

The power and pitching are impressive as the song lifts into the chorus and the vocals shift into a higher register, it forms an effective contrast to the softer verse and makes the chorus sound larger than life. There is a big crunchy wall of guitar either side of the vocal supporting this. No matter what anyone says, you cannot have too many layers of guitar in a chorus...  

The drums and bass are in deadly synchronization and I like the use of rhythmic variation throughout the song and the use of different fills to avoid repetition. Each section of the song has its own unique flavour and they are all appealing like a well constructed sandwich, not one of those petrol station ones that look good and taste like rubber.

Lyrically I got what the song was about and it made sense, no complaints there. The lyric “make it a freedom call” stuck with me, it’s an interesting line that sticks out and grabs your attention with the song being called blind faith.

Overall it is a great effort from Coridian and I can visualize this song easily making its way onto the radio and being a mainstay. There is no doubt that this song will be met with great reception (pun un intended) on the road as they work their way up and down this country this summer.  

Reviewed by Jessie James.

About Coridian

Take fireball vocal powerhouse Dity and the hard hitting, harder grooving Raven brothers, bind them together and you get Coridian. It's the four piece Auckland based group who are fast becoming one of the best new names in Kiwi rock.

A combination of emotive lyrics and heavy, yet still ambient, sound have crafted the
band's signature style. It's been described as, "impressive, power and pitching and
big crunchy walls of guitar" and "slick rock ballad wrapped in a metal coating”

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian


Year: 2017
Type: EP
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue
03 Oct 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away. It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.
Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N
24 Jun 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base.
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall
06 Jan 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.
The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16
06 Dec 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton. Reviewed by “is this year still going??
Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve
07 Oct 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.
Gig Review: Knightshade @ Altitude Bar, Hamilton 6/08/2016
13 Aug 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
As Knightshade has been damaging eardrums since the early 1980’s I cannot claim to have been there at the start, they had already cemented their place in New Zealand’s music history long before I was aware that we had one. It’s not every day you have the opportunity to witness a final show of such epic proportions, I was all over this like a rash.
Tempist Fujit - EP Review: No More Time
24 May 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Despite the problematic division of labour, word on the street is that two pieces are a thing again. If this trend continues I foresee the next big thing being a union to represent the great masses of displaced musicians roaming the wilderness like a pack of bloodthirsty hyenas.
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

    Post Malone feat. Ty Dolla $ign
    Khalid And Normani
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • MINE
    Dua Lipa
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
    Marshmello And Anne Marie
    Zedd, Maren Morris And Grey
  • SAD!
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem