17 Oct 2017
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Fallstate - Single Review: Epilogue

03 Oct 2017 // A review by rebelsoundradio

Let’s address the elephant in the room straight away.

It’s proclaimed on a daily basis that New Zealand has no new “decent” rock music.

These innate mutterings are part of a larger cultural failure, a paradigm where the focus has shifted away from new music in general. Mainstream radio has the same catalog of music from the 90’s on repeat, the record companies milking their investments dry of every cent before they fade into obscurity.

In the age of Spotify and YouTube, It’s not common practice to buy a new album or single.

Music is now free, on demand and served up on a silver platter. From the industry’s standpoint,

There is no money to be made with new music, so why invest in it? Why spend money promoting it and celebrating it?

The digital age has taken its toll on modern music. A trickle-down effect has resulted in the withdrawal of support for new artists, shoestring production budgets, poor concert promotion, attendance and our favorite venues being culled one by one. This coupled with the public perception of music as a “free” commodity could spell the end times as we know it.

I say screw that noise.

Listening to Epilogue by Fallstate reminds me of what we are fighting for.

Here we have a stellar New Zealand artist producing a track that would hold its own on an Epitath records playlist. It’s brimming and bursting with energy, taking me back to the early efforts of bands such as Rise Against.  

After a brief introduction the song comes out swinging, it’s heavy, in your face and builds relentlessly. This is where punk meets metal. The two cross-over effortlessly and the uplifting vocal is married harmoniously to the crushing guitar and technical rhythm section. Despite the heaviness, screaming, and intensity, this song has an overall air of melancholy about it.

In my opinion, this song doesn’t have any particular defining moment. This could be taken the wrong way and garner harsh criticism but I really like it that way. I perceive this track as more of a texture or a wave that builds in intensity before crashing on the beach. It’s easy to fall into the trap of writing the textbook song and having everything neatly in order but this song draws you in and takes you for a ride.  I don’t get the “here’s the verse again” box ticking experience that comes with a lot of rock music.

This track is a solid effort and something to be immensely proud of, it’s a little bit rough in places but it has the tenacity and the grit to demand your attention.

To tie up the loose ends of this longwinded, raving, dissection of a review together – my challenge is to the general public. Before claiming that there is “no good new music”, try to look at it from a different perspective... There is good new music waiting to be discovered. It needs your support to bring it into the foreground of a complicated, obscure picture.

You could make a start by checking Fallstate out live, I’m sure you will be in for a good show as they sound epic.


Review written by Jessie James Hanright

About Fallstate

Formed in 2015 by Tal Brink and Tim Northover, Fallstate started off as a small pop punk project with no plans of becoming a band or even making it to the stage. Despite this, February 2016 saw the first ever Fallstate show with Blake Plester on drums and Jacob Raffaelli on bass. On the same day, their debut album Summer Nights and City Lights was released.

Summer Nights featured guest vocalists by the likes of Matt Clark (Selfhood) and Josh Pinho (Fire for Glory). Ever since the band has been hard at work musically, playing countless shows across the country and most recently in Australia with band brothers Fire for Glory. In August, Grady Gottler was recruited on guitar and the band entered in the Ding Dong Lounge's bands competition which they won. The band then recorded a single at Depot Sound Recording Studio with Dave Rhodes as a part of winning the competition at the Ding Dong Lounge.

Fallstate is constantly working on new music and expanding their reach to become a staple in the New Zealand live music scene.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Fallstate

Releases

Summer Nights & City Lights
Year: 2016
Type: Album
Friends
Year: 2016
Type: EP

Other Reviews By rebelsoundradio

Arrays - EP Review: Motives
25 Aug 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Well, the old adage goes “if you want something done right, do it yourself”. It’s a shame that no one expanded on this and added: “It’s at least ten times better when you do it with heavy riffs”.
Read More...
Yasamin - Album Review: L.O.N.D.O.N
24 Jun 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
A full disclaimer before we get started on this review; I’m not a huge pop connoisseur... there have been a few Katy Perry-esk songs that have snuck their way onto some of my Spotify playlists but for the main part my musical pyramid is built on a rock base.
Read More...
Medusa Glare - Single Review: Take the Fall
06 Jan 2017 // by rebelsoundradio
Take the Fall is the third single from Hamilton Rocker's Medusa Glare and it takes me straight to a riff soaked, crunchy, grooving happy place. It’s a slice of pure classic rock sprinkled with funk and lashings of (dare I say it) soul.
Read More...
The Recently Deceived @ Nivara Lounge, Hamilton - 3/12/16
06 Dec 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
The Recently Deceived – EP Launch @ Nivara Lounge Hamilton. Reviewed by “is this year still going??
Read More...
Coridian - Single Review: Blind Faith
07 Nov 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Coridian are a high energy, solid original act from Auckland that blend together a vast array of modern rock. Having played with them several times previously it was a pleasure to be able to sit down and work my way through this review of their latest offering – Blind Faith.
Read More...
Armed In Advance - Album Review: Change/Evolve
07 Oct 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Fresh off the Soundcloud link that has been emailed to me is the debut album Change/Evolve by Auckland three-piece Armed In Advance. I have been waiting for a hard rock album to sink my teeth into and AIA have provided 10 tracks of sonic goodness.
Read More...
Gig Review: Knightshade @ Altitude Bar, Hamilton 6/08/2016
13 Aug 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
As Knightshade has been damaging eardrums since the early 1980’s I cannot claim to have been there at the start, they had already cemented their place in New Zealand’s music history long before I was aware that we had one. It’s not every day you have the opportunity to witness a final show of such epic proportions, I was all over this like a rash.
Read More...
Tempist Fujit - EP Review: No More Time
24 May 2016 // by rebelsoundradio
Despite the problematic division of labour, word on the street is that two pieces are a thing again. If this trend continues I foresee the next big thing being a union to represent the great masses of displaced musicians roaming the wilderness like a pack of bloodthirsty hyenas.
Read More...
View All Articles By rebelsoundradio

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ROCKSTAR
    Post Malone feat. 21 Savage
  • HAVANA
    Camila Cabello feat. Young Thug
  • YOUNG, DUMB AND BROKE
    Khalid
  • NEW RULES
    Dua Lipa
  • TOO GOOD AT GOODBYES
    Sam Smith
  • SILENCE
    Marshmello feat. Khalid
  • WHAT LOVERS DO
    Maroon 5 feat. SZA
  • DUSK TILL DAWN
    ZAYN feat. Sia
  • FEEL IT STILL
    Portugal. The Man
  • GLORIOUS
    Macklemore feat. Skylar Grey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem