24 Feb 2018
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

8 Foot Sativa @ Stellar, Wanganui - 4/10/13

25 Oct 2013 // A review by terry666

I have been extremely lucky and seen 8 Foot Sativa lots of time in the last year in the build up to the release of the new album The Shadow Masters. I was very excited about heading over to Wanganui to see the guys play. The venue was a good size only they needed to open up the door during the show it got hot in there and the pit was a sweaty mess.

Pariah from Wanganui opened up the show and was well received getting in amongst the crowd and starting the pit off right from the start. These guys are a band to watch in the near future so if you get a chance have a listen to some of their recorded material. After them was Bloodspray for Politics from Palmerston North and they carried on the crowd warming in fine swamp fashion.

Then it was the band we had all been waiting for - 8 Foot Sativa. Their old material has been sounding brutal and with Nik Davies there they are so much stronger. The combination of Gary Smith on guitar and Nik Davies is magic. They compliment each other perfectly. It was the new material however that I was more interested in hearing, and man they are tight as.

The set list had no less than 5 tracks from the new album and around the same amount from the previous albums Hate Made Me and Season For Assault. The new tracks went down extremely well and the pit was wild. Jackhammer has stepped up in leaps and bounds and his singing has never been better. The whole band is playing as a unit and it comes through in the performance.

Having had the album for about a month now I have been getting more and more excited about seeing the songs live and they did not disappoint. The last year they have played Palmerston north three times but I have seen them a few other times around the country too so I have probably seen them about six times in the last year and their show just keeps on stepping up another gear every time. Once again the smiles were across all of the faces that were at this show as 8 Foot Sativa stepped up.

About 8 Foot Sativa

Exploding out of West Auckland in 1998, 8 Foot Sativa have gone from being a local band playing every week, to becoming the premier Metal band in New Zealand.

They are the first metal band in NZ to crack out of the small scene and bring New Zealand Heavy Metal to mainstream Kiwi's doorsteps, with the song 8 Foot Sativa staying at number 1 for three months and eight months in the charts. They have also had success overseas, in Australia, USA and Europe. With their first album Hate Made Me achieving Gold Record status, the follow up with Season for Assault, which established 8 Foot Sativa as a household name. Since then they have released 4 more albums Breed The Pain, Poison Of Ages, The Shadow Masters and 10 Years Of Sativa.

8 Foot Sativa have played with the big names of metal including Pantera, Motorhead, Korn, Children of Bodom, Disturbed, Soul Fly, Shihad and Corrosion of Conformity. They have had 2 Big Day Out appearances on the main stage, sharing the stage with Slipknot, Metallica and System of a Down.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for 8 Foot Sativa

Releases

10 Years of Sativa
Year: 2013
Type: Album
The Shadow Masters
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Poison Of Ages
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Breed The Pain
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Season For Assault
Year: 2003
Type: Album
Hate Made Me
Year: 2002
Type: Album

Other Reviews By terry666

Album Review: Scorn of Creation
23 Feb 2018 // by terry666
To start with Scorn of Creation's line-up gets you excited. The group is made up of veterans of the NZ Metal scene.
Read More...
Gig Review: Queen and Adam Lambert @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 17/02/2018
18 Feb 2018 // by terry666
I was a very excited man as I headed towards Spark Arena in Auckland, for what is undoubtedly one of the world’s greatest rock bands, Queen and Adam Lambert. Now purists would say it’s not Queen without Freddie, but it's worth going to see the show before making judgements.
Read More...
Spook The Horses - Album Review: People Used To Live Here
07 Dec 2017 // by terry666
Atmospheric bordering on doom is what encapsulates this somewhat gloomy affair. This has previously been described as post metal, and there is a lot of darkness but this is in by no means a metal release and it wanders down the path of alternative music in my mind.
Read More...
Alice Cooper @ TSB Bank Arena, Wellington - 28/10/2017
05 Nov 2017 // by terry666
Alice Cooper, Ace Frehley and Strangers. Wellington, 28 October 2017 Aussie rockers Strangers opened the show to a crowd that had probably never even heard of them but the got the crowd going and I suspect won over a whole new set of fans.
Read More...
Album Review: While The Swamp Rocks Compilation
13 Jun 2017 // by terry666
$lave Collective has been bringing together local talent for a very long time and regularly put out compilations covering all genres. 19 tracks from pop rock to metal down to a country sounding ditty.
Read More...
Album Review: Daniel Ashcroft
10 May 2017 // by terry666
6 EPs of varying style combined as a double album. Daniel Ashcroft is a very talented man and this is not his first release but it is as a solo artist where he truly shines.
Read More...
Gig Review: Gorguts and Marduk @ Valhalla, Wellington - 12/03/17
20 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Ben from Valhalla has been busy in Wellington for the last few years fulfilling metal heads dreams with the high calibre of acts he has preforming at his venue. I have seen quite a few of my heroes perform there and tonight was another such night.
Read More...
Seas of Conflict - EP Review: Vestige
09 Mar 2017 // by terry666
Vestige is the second EP from Hamilton based Metal band Seas of Conflict. These guys are not new to the scene, having been around since 2011, and have been consistently releasing material independently while still in high school through till now.
Read More...
View All Articles By terry666

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOD'S PLAN
    Drake
  • FINESSE (REMIX)
    Bruno Mars And Cardi B
  • ALL THE STARS
    Kendrick Lamar And SZA
  • THESE DAYS
    Rudimental feat. Jess Glynne, Macklemore And Dan Caplen
  • PERFECT
    Ed Sheeran
  • IDGAF
    Dua Lipa
  • I FALL APART
    Post Malone
  • MINE
    Bazzi
  • MEANT TO BE
    Bebe Rexha And Florida Georgia Line
  • NEVER BE THE SAME
    Camila Cabello
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem