13 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Vox Capacitor - EP Review: Variance

07 Aug 2023 // A review by Peter K Malthus

Variance is the promised follow-up to the Hindsight EP from Auckland-based solo artist Vox Capacitor.

Solo in the truest sense: everything is created, performed, produced, engineered, and mixed by Vox Capacitor (aka Steve McBride) himself. Vox Capacitor draws inspiration from artists such as Prince, Foo Fighters, and Tame Impala among others in creating his "jangly dad rock/indie guitar pop" sound, and the five tracks on Variance certainly fit nicely within the pop/rock description. 

I'm one to have a wee geek-out over guitar tones, so this was a thoroughly enjoyable listen all the way through. A lovely resonator-style tone underpins the lightly driven riff of first track Feed The Hand That Bites You, a song which seems to be a warning about the dangers of being careless with online information. Following that is Delta, which sounds like the glorious deep tones of a Bass VI if I'm not mistaken. What I especially like about Delta is the way the instruments are down-tuned and driven without sounding "heavy" per se, but more creating a large, full, and powerful sound.

Listing is the next track, and my favourite. A beautifully mournful track, musically floating and light, but lyrically speaking of loss and sadness, with the chorus "Listing, unable to stay upright, Listing, wound up so very tight, Listing, you set my world alight, Listing... everything's not going to be alright". Simultaneously haunting, and sweet. Blinding Lights is definitely very much more in the "pop" category than the other tracks, and yet musically the most complex of the EP, with some absolutely gorgeous chord progressions in both the verses and chorus, and a superb vocal melody.

The last track is Rectangle, which I have previously reviewed as a single here. As I noted in that review, I would have liked to have heard the vocals slightly higher in the mix. I felt the same on both Delta and Blinding Lights. Overall, I have to say I really like the production on Variance, all of the instruments are recorded and reproduced beautifully, with a more "rock" than "pop" sensibility given to the mixing of the EP as a whole. I just struggled to make out some of the vocal parts on those three tracks, even when listening with earbuds. I quite like Vox Capacitor's voice, I thinks it's an excellent match for the songs he writes, I'd just like to hear it a little more.

I've enjoyed listening to this EP and will continue to do so, I hope you'll feel inclined to give it a nudge too. Vox Capacitor is planning to release a full album in the near future, I'm looking forward to it. 

 

About Vox Capacitor

Vox Capacitor is a one man jangly dad rock and indie guitar pop explosion from Auckland, New Zealand. Forged in the fires of COVID, everything you hear - vocals, guitars, bass, drums, keys and percussion, as well as the production, engineering and mixing is the product of a single mind. After entering the musical fray with the Hindsight EP last year, 2023 starts off with a bang on Feb 24 with the first song Rectangle from the upcoming Variance EP, to be followed by a full album later in the year!




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Vox Capacitor

Releases

Variance
Year: 2023
Type: EP
Hindsight
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter K Malthus

Silk Cut - Album Review: Silk Cut
02 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Having already released two EPs, and then followed up with full length album Our Place In The Stars, Silk Cut have returned to titillate your earholes with a brand new, self-titled album. The line-up of two guitars, bass, and drums also has shared lead vocals, and delivers a heady blend of 60's psychedelia and 90's guitar-based pop/rock.
Read More...
Cherry Slits - EP Review: Cherry Slits Are Back
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
So, there's a wee bit of a story to go with this one, and it's been a lot of fun to review. Nicola Cheeseman Is Back is a new play by Kathryn Burnett, detailing the story of a 50 year old woman having a midlife crisis, who decides to get her '80s punk band, Cherry Slits, back together.
Read More...
Marsha - Album Review: In Circles
01 Jul 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Marsha hail from my hometown of Christchurch, and I'm a tad ashamed to say I hadn't actually heard them up until now, but I'd heard many good things about them. In Circles is their debut album, containing some previously released singles, and has been in the works since 2021, and all the painstaking care that was put into its creation is evident in every note of every song.
Read More...
Album Review: The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French Part Two
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Miss French is the performing name of Julie Foai, who spent 20 years touring the world with South Pacific band Te Vaka, and managed them into securing a contract with Walt Disney Pictures. Having released her debut solo album in 2016, The Trials And Tribulations Of Miss French, Pt.
Read More...
Taveets - EP Review: WINT/HER
21 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Taveets has been steadily releasing singles and EPs since 2019, including 2023's Balcony Nights EP which could almost be considered album length at seven songs. The Wellington-born and raised Samoan/Futuan artist/rapper has just released his latest HipHop/RnB offering, WINT/HER, the five songs looking at love and relationships from different angles, and in different moods.
Read More...
Dónal Gunning - EP Review: Born To Perform
13 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Dónal Gunning's travels, since leaving his native Ireland, have seen him eventually relocate to Wellington, where he has been regularly gigging as a solo artist, and with backing band The Bucks. The Bucks are comprised of a collective of Wellington session musicians and have also accompanied Dónal on two north Island tours, delivering fun and energetic shows.
Read More...
Gig Review: Carb On Carb @ Space Academy, Christchurch - 08/06/2024
10 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
Carb On Carb are currently on a tour of Australia and New Zealand, which will see them perform five dates in each country. Touring is right at the heart and soul of their drive as a band, having seen them perform extensively throughout New Zealand, Australia, Asia, and the USA.
Read More...
Big Sima - EP Review: Early In The Peace
06 Jun 2024 // by Peter K Malthus
The Underground King, AKA Big Sima, has just released a new EP in collaboration with Boomtown, a follow-up to 2022's full length album, Stereotypes Of A Polynesian Misunderstood. Big Sima has been relentlessly busy making a name for himself over the last few years, and that work ethic has seen him win support slots for Busta Rhymes, Bone Thugs 'n’ Harmony, Guru (Gangstarr), Mobb Deep and Cypress Hill.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter K Malthus

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem