13 Jul 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Tohu - Single Review: Tu Mai Te Reo

03 Jun 2023 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Tohu is a five piece band based in Rotorua Aotearoa New Zealand, bringing over six decades of musical expertise that perpetuates bilingual culture through the power of music. Tu Mai Te Reo is the band's second single telling the story of “holding our language close to us” and “connecting our culture”. The track which has been released entirely in Te Reo Maori is a beautiful waiata which has a smooth reggae sound and powerful message.

Connection to culture is the korero around this song, it flows beautifully with strong vocals and harmonies. Delivered with passion, you can hear the aroha in the music.

Tohu delivers a universally appealing sound that breaks through the barrier of language. Tu Mai Te Reo was number nine currently on the New Zealand Hot 20 singles and third on the Te Reo Maori charts.

Staying true to their cultural values, Tohu have put in the mahi creating a mighty sound through collaboration and auahatanga (creativity).

This is a track full of feel good summer vibes and a message which transcends cultures.

Tohu are Trojan-John Te Rehu-Tuki (Tuhourangi, Ngati Wahiao) on guitar and vocals, Jonelle Williams (Ngati Whatua) on drums, Elizabeth Chia on keyboards / vocals and Jeamal Murray-Hohua on bass / vocals. With the support and funding by Te Mangai Paho, Tu Mai Te Reo was recorded and mixed by Evan Pope at Studio 11B and mastered by Chris Chetland at KOG Studio.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Tohu

Tohu is a five-piece band made up of diverse members from Aotearoa, formed in December 2022. Tohu brings together over six decades of musical expertise that perpetuates bilingual culture through the power of music. From Rotorua, to the nation and beyond the borders, we value a commitment to Whanaungatanga (community), Manaakitanga (care for each other), Aroha (love), Auahatanga (creativity), and Korero (communication).

Our essence as Tohu is to co-exist in a bilingual society that supports the values we aspire to. Music is our chosen medium through which we are able to connect with people across different languages, cultures and backgrounds. Through our shared experience, we are able to relate to each other, gain perspective, and create compassion and an understanding attained through art. Sharing our Reo (language) is one way to Korero our inner workings. As we grow as a band, we would like to invite you on this journey into biculturalism that Aotearoa thrives on, weaving our unique story that is our Whakapapa (genealogy).


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Tohu

Releases

There are no releases to display for Tohu.

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Ms. Mia - EP Review: Living In The Shadows
06 Jun 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
Born in Manila and residing in Auckland, Mia Caintic AKA Ms. Mia has just released her 5-track debut EP Living In The Shadows.
Read More...
Casual Healing - Album Review: Driftwood
13 May 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
When you fly Air New Zealand, there may be a chance you have heard one of the latest singles Mauri Tau from Wellington based musician Nikau Te Huki, who goes under the name of Casual Healing on his 12-track solo project titled Driftwood. This is one of two tracks released from the self-produced debut album.
Read More...
Album Review: Levity Beet And The Aotearoa All Stars
30 Apr 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
Golden Bay's multiple award-winning children’s music artist Levity Beet is well regarded in his field. Three times APRA Children's Song of the Year winner and two times Tui Children's Musician of the Year, he knows a thing or two about producing heartwarming, entertaining and amusing music which captures the hearts and minds of our children.
Read More...
Ersha Island - EP Review: Back To Our Roots
29 Feb 2024 // by Corinne Rutherford
Classically trained duo Dani and Tee are Ersha Island, Auckland based musicians with a contemporary style which has been described as indie-folk. They began their journey in Guangzhou, China on Ersha Island, hence their name.
Read More...
Eden Mulholland - Album Review: A Bee Might Bite My Nose
21 Dec 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Funny, Kooky and gently melancholic at times is one description of respected Australasian composer, songwriter and collaborator Eden Mulholland (Ngati Porou). His most recent release is channeled by a very cute teddy bear.
Read More...
Jessica Leigh - EP Review: Lightbeam
03 Nov 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Nelsonian, singer, songwriter and producer Jessica Leigh has recently released her third EP Lightbeam. Changing tack from her previous EP in 2021, the acoustic guitars and strings have given way to full synthpop sound with an 80's inspired vibe.
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - EP Review: Throne Of Mine
05 Oct 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mysterious and sinister themes such as horror combined with the colourful characteristics of circus life are the inspiration behind emerging dark-pop artist Michèle Ducray's debut EP Throne Of Mine. The balance of both dark and light create a fresh and original sound that is complex as it is identifiable.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - EP Review: Home Is Where The Heart Is
19 Sep 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Ex rugby player turned singer-songwriter Sam Heselwood has recently released his 5 track EP Home Is Where The Heart Is. Originally from Christchurch, the indie-pop musician has delivered poignant, beautifully composed music which aims straight for the heart.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • DEVIL IS A LIE
    Tommy Richman
  • GOOD LUCK, BABE!
    Chappell Roan
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem