17 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Emily Rice - Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023

Emily Rice - Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023

24 May 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland

Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa. This seemed like a lovely idea, which is why on a Wednesday night I found myself heading out of Auckland. When I arrived the band were setting up in a corner of the room, there were loads of chairs, as well as plenty of kai and drinks, and the feeling that this was very much a family affair with young children in attendance, and everyone laughing and joking. There was a real feeling of warmth and aroha.

Emily is an unusual performer in that she uses her voice as an additional instrument, using a device which allows her to layer harmonies and set up loops in real time. This is how she commenced tonight, setting the patterns in place for Moab, a song from her 2015 EP, Find Me Here. This was my first time hearing her with a full band, as she was joined by Ollie O’Loughlin (drums), Callum Lee (guitar, backing vocals) and Maia Huia (bass, backing vocals), all finding their way to add nuances and touches to her sound without ever overpowering it. The bass was fluid, the drums solid, and the guitar added elements which provided drama and edge when required. Emily brings together many different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre, with the switch between layers, harmonies and solo changing the dynamics constantly. Next we had the wonderful Arise from her last EP, Auaha, where there is less vocal trickery as the band provide more substantial support and Emily allows her voice to soar. This is music which is modern, clean, and full of space, and the gentle guitar solo was perfectly in keeping with the mood which was relaxed and warm. Maia is one of those players who can keep it simple and restrained, but can also shift the mood and take a song in a very different direction, with some wonderfully fluid and creative playing.

Red and Blue starts with finger clicking, and is somewhat more repetitive which allows the band to mess about a little more, really getting into the soft jazz groove. Next up we had another new one, which would allow us to contrast music written pre-child and post, as for some reason Emily does not have quite as much time as she used to. Goodnight Moon is far more relaxed, creating a very different mood again, sitting very much on the bassline, with Emily providing short harmonies here and there to give us emphasis and yet another change in approach. Of course, she ended the set with the brand-new song, Warenoa, which is a changed Te Reo version of a song she wrote some time ago, and tonight she switched between languages. This was the most upbeat number of the night, far more driven yet still very much in the jazz and dance form with her vocals clear and upfront, showing yet another side of Emily’s musical style. If that was not enough, she then provided a wonderful saxophone solo, which was warm and just so much fun. It was no wonder her proud husband, Charles (also her musical partner in Aro), was sat in the audience with a huge smile on his face. We ended the night with the first ever showing of the video for that song. I was so glad I made the trip here tonight, as this was wonderful fun from beginning to end.


Photo Credit: Kev Rowland

 

About Emily Rice

Emily Rice is a multi-instrumentalist and songwriter from Tamaki Makaurau. Twice finalist of songwriter of the year while studying at pop music school, Emily has gone on to release three EP’s of music since 2012, live and perform across Europe, collaborate with countless fellow musicians and is one half of a two time Silver Scrolls finalist bilingual duo Aro.

Emily’s songs have evolved with each new project, moving through different styles and always integrating vocal looping, sprinkles of jazz and a touch of saxophone.

Her new sound is best described as chill DnB/RnB-pop and she’s releasing her new EP Auaha; a compilation of songs she wrote during Aotearoa’s level 4 lockdown in April 2020 in early 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Emily Rice

Releases

Auaha
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Dusk
Year: 2019
Type: EP
A Little Salt
Year: 2016
Type: EP
Find Me Here
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Drop Off Point - EP Review: Bridge City Crew
21 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 1991, bassist Jorge 'Hoya Roc' Guerra took over from the legend that is Roger Minet in the Agnostic Front side-project Madball, since when he has been a constant alongside Freddy Cricien. He now has a new claim to fame, providing a shoutout to his favourite Kiwi band at the beginning of this EP.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem