3 Jun 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Drop Off Point - EP Review: Bridge City Crew

21 May 2023 // A review by Kev Rowland
Back in 1991, bassist Jorge 'Hoya Roc' Guerra took over from the legend that is Roger Minet in the Agnostic Front side-project Madball, since when he has been a constant alongside Freddy Cricien. He now has a new claim to fame, providing a shoutout to his favourite Kiwi band at the beginning of this EP. The man is a god to hardcore fans, and there will be many into the New York scene who will seek this out just because of that. But when they get there will they enjoy this little slab from the ‘Tron? We have five songs, total playing time fourteen minutes, and I have already reviewed the leadoff single, People Die which features Mad Joe from Wisdom In Chains. Yes, these guys are moving in exalted circles indeed.

Guitarist Bones and bassist Garreth have played together for years, both being incredibly well known within the Hamilton hardcore scene (which is incredibly vibrant and positive), but prior to going into the studios they had to say goodbye to both Dave and Ben as they could no longer commit to the band and replaced them with singer Mikey and drummer Fu (Brawler NZHC). They open with Rat Race, which is edgy and obviously influenced by Madball with plenty of aggression and a real groove as it bites through and Mikey spits venom over the top. It is easy to hear that Garreth and Bones have played together for so long as they know exactly what to expect and are incredibly tight as Fu locks in behind.

I really enjoyed People Die when it was released as a single, but in some ways, it feels quite out of place here as it seems quite commercial when placed against the others. It shows a very different side of the band and certainly contrasts with the rest of the material as this is quite subdued and less aggressive. Papamoa Alleyways is written about a friend of Bones and Garreth who is no longer with us, Jesse Larsen, and is full of passion and over the top hardcore energy guaranteed to get the mosh going at full speed.

Bridge City Crew has a somewhat brighter sound and is a homage to all the hardcore bands that came before them and inspired them to get involved, with a chorus which demands everyone shouts out the words and move. The EP ends with a cover of Vendetta’s 1997 song Hamtown Smakdown, which is also now the title of a 2-day hardcore festival which takes place in the city. Bones was in that band back in the day, and it felt right to end the set with this fast-paced belter.

American hardcore royalty have already picked up on this band, and surely it is only a matter of time until they are known far more widely than just by the crew in Hamilton.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Drop Off Point

Hardcore/Punk/Rock with catchy riffs and singalongs

Reminiscent of 90's New York Hardcore style D.O.P members have been part of the New Zealand Hardcore Scene since the mid 90's being in various bands through the years but the passion and the drive has never been lost and come full circle with D.O.P supporting such acts as Comeback Kid, Evergreen Terrace, Bleeders and Antagonist A.D.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Drop Off Point

Releases

Drop Off Point S/T
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow & Kerryn Fields - Single Review: Your Heart of Gold
21 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have a brand-new partnership from two artists who have already made names for themselves performing solo, and although they are both proud Kiwis, they have each won The Music Victoria Awards. Even though Matt Joe Gow only released his latest album a few months ago, this new partnership is already touring the country performing songs from their catalogues as well as new ones they have been writing and recording, of which this is the first.
Read More...
Mikey Videotape - Single Review: The Strangest Dream
19 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Some years back I was asked by AAA Records if I would write the press release for the debut album by a young Auckland-based prog band to which of course I agreed and in due course I was speaking to singer Michael Brown of Outside In about their incredible release, Karmatrain. I have been fortunate enough to see them play a few times since then, while Michael has also been guesting with other people plus also putting videos up on Facebook of him singing covers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • CUPID (TWIN VERSION)
    Fifty Fifty
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • LAST NIGHT
    Morgan Wallen
  • DAYLIGHT
    David Kushner
  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • CALM DOWN
    Rema And Selena Gomez
  • BOY'S A LIAR PT. 2
    PinkPantheress And Ice Spice
  • DIE FOR YOU (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • SAY YES TO HEAVEN
    Lana Del Rey
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem