19 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Coridian - Album Review: Hava

07 Mar 2023 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Journalism’s meant to be objective, right?  No playing favourites. No taking sides. Just reporting the facts.

Lucky then, I am no journalist.

Being that I am just some guy who listens to music then writes about it, I can make bold claims like “Coridian is Muzic.net.nz’s favourite band” and “Hava is the best release of the year – I’m talking internationally – and the best release from Coridian so far.”

And I ain’t blowing smoke up any orifice. This isn’t just a puff piece.

Do you miss when music was good? Is your taste in music frozen circa 2005? Do you want to relive the days when you thought you were a lot cooler than you were, with that chain dangling off your belt loop? Then have I got a release for you.

Hava is complex, yet accessible. Intricate at times, but also as subtle as a hammer. A body blow when it hits hard, yet at other times it’s a heart-tugging whisper. But most importantly, Coridian sound like all your favourite alt rock bands from the early mid 2000's mashed together. I’m talking, Jakob, Breaking Benjamin, Blindspott, Chevelle, A Perfect Circle, Soen. Familiar, yet equally unique. I mean who puts the cover song – in this case Wicked Game - in the middle of the album, not at the end like some tacked on afterthought?

I made the similar observations when I reviewed Coridian’s Oceanic, the EP that kicked off the elemental cycle of releases that brought us here. I remember being hesitant to mention the comparisons back then, out of fear it would somehow taint the Coridian sound, and I knew they were on to something great. I still used the comparisons as a lazy music allegory any way, but you know... I was hesitant.

Looking back with hindsight, I was obviously deluded in my belief that a review could affect a band’s artistic direction. But I’m glad I was unheard and wrong. Because you know what, music that reminds me of my favourite bands is music I want to hear. Through Hava, I can relive the boganism a successive string of exes semi-successfully manipulated out of me.

Look. If you’re reading this you’re probably either in the band, or you’re already a fan. You know how good Hava is.

If you’ve never heard Coridian though, do it.

If you have heard them, but you’re somehow not a fan yet; listen again, but do it better.

If you’re already a fan, listen again. There are still secrets to unravel. For example, did you know that if you overlay the cover art from the four releases in the element cycle – Oceanic, Caldera, Eldur and Hava – you get a sigil. While spinning the sigil with your left hand, play all four releases simultaneously to create a black hole.

Speaking of black holes, Spotify really has a lot to answer for. By allowing anyone to easily make and stream their own music, we’ve saturated the market to the point that actual talent drowns beneath a sea of dribble. If this was 10 years ago, Hava would be the best-selling album in New Zealand. Real Groovy would be out of stock of the CD. Coridian’s name would be venerated in the same way Blindspott were in that era, by music enthusiast and layperson alike. Coridian would be a household name. Hava would kick off the new era off bogan fashion in a way no Kardasian ever could.

It will take more than one deluded writer to change anyone’s mind. To let them see that this is the best album they will listen to this year. They have to listen and make up their own mind. Then they might see I am right.

Hava will be available from 10 March on Spotify and Bandcamp.

Six out of five stars.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Coridian

Coridian is an alternative/progressive rock group from Auckland, New Zealand.

Formed in 2015, the band consists of brothers Mike Raven (Guitars/Keys), Kris Raven (Drums/Percussion), Nick Raven (Bass) and Dity Maharaj (Vocals/Lyrics/Art).

They’ve been described, "Raven brothers (Mike, Kris and Nick respectively) work as a well-oiled machine; the gear box of which is Maharaj, his vocals taking the band from a hum to a scream within seconds" (Ambient Light).

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Coridian

Releases

Hava
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Eldur
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Caldera
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Oceanic
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Yann Le Dorré - Album Review: The Circus is Closed
19 Dec 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
“We are Sex Bob-Omb and we're here to make you think about death and get sad and stuff!” - Scott Pilgrim vs.
Read More...
Sanoi - Album Review: Echoes Of Home
25 Nov 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Electronica offers no escapism for me. It’s more of what I already have.
Read More...
Throng - EP Review: Decoherence
20 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
You know that thing where the letter B has a personality, or words have textures and colours? That’s called synaesthesia.
Read More...
Fortress Europe - Album Review: Old World
10 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Have you ever been torn between listening to Mozart or Periphery? Does Epica have too much of that darn singing for your tastes?
Read More...
Yurt Party - Album Review: Yurt Party
07 Sep 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
It sure isn't summer, and this is really not the Balkans, but Yurt Party’s new self-titled album refutes that. Back with another one of them Balkan rocking beats, Yurt Party’s debut is jazzy, erratic, and full of zest and energetic grooves, with flavour notes of ska, dub, and bergamot.
Read More...
day13n - Album Review: /7/13/7/
06 Aug 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m too old for this world. We’ve devolved to the point where music is only as good as the soundtrack to your 10 second TikTok, and the thirty thousand copies recycling the idea.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - Single Review: Invocation
16 Jul 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
The New Existentialists, a doom metal band known for their dark and atmospheric soundscapes, have just… Wait a minute… No. The New Existentialists are really not a doom metal band, and they’re really not known for their dark soundscapes… They’re more known as stalwarts of a bygone era.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Journey to Sobriety
01 Jun 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Samuel Philip Cooper sits on the brink of social media stardom, with videos of his belting out pop music piano covers from behind a pair of thick spectacles racking up views and likes on Insta. Little do any of the mindless doom scrollers swiping through his reels know, but percolating behind his eye brows is the very key to their very salvation.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem