16 Jun 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Yurt Party - Yurt Party - Album Review: Yurt Party

07 Sep 2023 // A review by Peter-James Dries

It sure isn't summer, and this is really not the Balkans, but Yurt Party’s new self-titled album refutes that.

Back with another one of them Balkan rocking beats, Yurt Party’s debut is jazzy, erratic, and full of zest and energetic grooves, with flavour notes of ska, dub, and bergamot. It’s seven tracks of thigh-slapping, foot-stomping Balk ‘in Roll.

The old adage “jazz is about the notes you don’t play” doesn’t hold water here; there isn't much that Yurt Party misses in their frenetic performance. The recording does well to capture Yurt Party’s explosive energy, but you really have to see them live to fully appreciate it.

I guess that’s my only complaint…

Music like this is a celebration of life. A way to dance the poison out at the end of a workday. It doesn’t help anyone when it’s trapped in your music player of choice. Sure, you can play it too loud in a Wellington coffee shop, or in your car driving around the bays, but neither of those places are appropriate to dance the way you ought to when listening to Yurt Party. If you get a chance, then this is a band you’re going to want to see, nay experience, live.

Without vocals, Yurt Party feels like a cinematic soundtrack to some international film that’s made its way onto NZ Netflix. Yippity is a newsflash, cutting away to double-time CCTV footage of loveable criminals wearing those glasses with the oversized noses making a daring getaway. With track Pea Straw Thief, we have our cocky protagonist making their way down a sunny street, sunglasses tipped down his nose, wives watching on from the al fresco cafe seating. Hot Pickles, the daring third act heist... You get the picture. Or at least I did...

While not their first effort, Yurt Party have been around for years, it’s a good effort. Catch them live if you can, but this should keep you going in the off season.

You can find Yurt Party on the Yurt Party Bandcamp.

 

About Yurt Party

Footstomping fusions of Balkan, Latin and Dub goodness. Sigh to haunting Romani violin melodies, and whoop to the tropically inspired grooves. The Christchurch-based band have had people dancing from festivals to house parties.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Yurt Party

Releases

Yurt Party
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Live at Orange
Year: 2018
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Ben Lloyd - Album Review: Leap of Faith
26 May 2024 // by Peter-James Dries
For over 30 years, this self-taught rocker from Mt Maunganui has been writing music. Now, for the first time since 2013, we finally get to hear his songs.
Read More...
Yann Le Dorré - Album Review: The Circus is Closed
19 Dec 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
“We are Sex Bob-Omb and we're here to make you think about death and get sad and stuff!” - Scott Pilgrim vs.
Read More...
Sanoi - Album Review: Echoes Of Home
25 Nov 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Electronica offers no escapism for me. It’s more of what I already have.
Read More...
Throng - EP Review: Decoherence
20 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
You know that thing where the letter B has a personality, or words have textures and colours? That’s called synaesthesia.
Read More...
Fortress Europe - Album Review: Old World
10 Oct 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Have you ever been torn between listening to Mozart or Periphery? Does Epica have too much of that darn singing for your tastes?
Read More...
day13n - Album Review: /7/13/7/
06 Aug 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
I’m too old for this world. We’ve devolved to the point where music is only as good as the soundtrack to your 10 second TikTok, and the thirty thousand copies recycling the idea.
Read More...
The New Existentialists - Single Review: Invocation
16 Jul 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
The New Existentialists, a doom metal band known for their dark and atmospheric soundscapes, have just… Wait a minute… No. The New Existentialists are really not a doom metal band, and they’re really not known for their dark soundscapes… They’re more known as stalwarts of a bygone era.
Read More...
Samuel Philip Cooper - Album Review: Journey to Sobriety
01 Jun 2023 // by Peter-James Dries
Samuel Philip Cooper sits on the brink of social media stardom, with videos of his belting out pop music piano covers from behind a pair of thick spectacles racking up views and likes on Insta. Little do any of the mindless doom scrollers swiping through his reels know, but percolating behind his eye brows is the very key to their very salvation.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • HOUDINI
    Eminem
  • MILLION DOLLAR BABY
    Tommy Richman
  • PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • BIRDS OF A FEATHER
    Billie Eilish
  • ESPRESSO
    Sabrina Carpenter
  • A BAR SONG (TIPSY)
    Shaboozey
  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • I HAD SOME HELP
    Post Malone feat. Morgan Wallen
  • NOT LIKE US
    Kendrick Lamar
  • LUNCH
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem