3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Shadowcaster - Single Review: Friends

18 Dec 2022 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I sometimes wonder how performers choose their stage names.

Is Trent Graham, Shadowcaster’s ringleader, taller than average?
Do they moonlight as some kind of mage?
Are they one of those morbid depressionists that bring a contagious darkness wherever they go? You know, a “Debbie-Downer”.

I ask, because despite the connotations of the band name, their new single, Friends, is the opposite of dark.

This is not the scuffed black metal I was expecting, which anyone who heard their last single Cast a Shadow would know. It’s more… Rufus Wainwright…? Is that the guy from Powderfinger? No. That was Bernard Fanning. The pop world is a bit murky for me…

Shadowcaster sounds like one of them. Or both of them. Though the music is closer to Bernard Fanning. Stripped back to the bare essentials, semi-acoustic, the human elements of live performance intact, and complete with a sing-a-long section. Like a live band in a Morris St flat, albeit performed better than any such spectacles I heard in my days down the student streets.

The song’s alright; the recording is crisp and clear, the band performs well, and because the vocals aren’t polished you can hear that Trent can actually sing. Personally, the sentiment is a bit too frivolous for my tastes though. You don’t become a writer by having a lot of friends, so it’s more than a little difficult to relate to the lyrics. But I can imagine this track being a summer anthem for those twenty-somethings that still go outside, attempt to maintain relationships, and find joy in the company of other people.

It’s almost a novelty to hear such upbeat, wholesome releases in these dark times.
Let’s see if their next release lives up the name, or if Shadowcaster remains the light we need in this world.

5/5 stars. They did what they do well. It’s not their fault I’m a "Nigel-no-mates".

You'll find Friends on Spotify sometime around New Year's Eve.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Shadowcaster

Shadowcaster is the name given to frontman Trent Graham. Starting in 2021, 6 years since his last music venture in Palmerston North based band Thistle & Weeds, Trent wasted little time in forming a backing band, and writing new music.

All members of the band first met at Wairarapa College in Masterton, where they all played in bands together.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Shadowcaster

Releases

There are no releases to display for Shadowcaster.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

0800 Belly Up - Single Review: Kick Ons
28 Nov 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
If you feel you would enjoy punk rock better if they showered more often and put a bit more effort in, then this is the band for you. If you love shouting back at bands when they yell lyrics at you, then this is the song for you.
Read More...
The Treasury - EP Review: Shimmer / I'll Return From On The Sea
29 Oct 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I get a lot of pretty obscure releases thrown my way. For every Six60 single, there are fifty songs you will never hear, from artists you have never heard of.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Bite the Wax Tadpole
14 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
The Hopkinsville Goblins is always a challenging review. If you want it done right, you really need some hard-broiled journalist from a bygone era on the job, not some gumshoe with a grudge like me.
Read More...
Young Moon - EP Review: Paraverbal Orchids
06 Sep 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is this Japanese art form called Kintsugi – Golden Joinery – which is a method of mending cracks in broken pottery with gold. The idea is that the broken pieces are part of the object’s history, so are something to remember rather than something to hide.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: Locksmith
31 Aug 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
Across their body of work, Imposter Syndrome have been known for their blurring of the lines between sub-genres and laying waste to the traditional ideas of song structure. Well, that’s what they’re known for to me at least.
Read More...
Rhombus - Album Review: After Party
26 May 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
I was wearing a New Zealand Music Month hoodie the other week. Upon seeing it, my niece gleefully exclaimed “You’ve got the year I was born on your hoodie.
Read More...
Fear Up Harsh - Album Review: Fear Up Harsh (II)
28 Mar 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
There is a rumour that, when played simultaneously, Fear Up Harsh (II) syncs perfectly with Jim Jarmusch’s The Limits of Control. The rumour is a lie of course, like many rumours are, but you’d be forgiven for believing it.
Read More...
Western Dip - Album Review: Warm Ups
08 Feb 2022 // by Peter-James Dries
It’s been over a decade since I thought “I might listen to some techno”. Probably longer since EDM was even called techno… And even then, the genre was never the main event.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem