21 Feb 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Lisa Crawley - Single Review: Don’t Delete Me

30 Nov 2022 // A review by Corinne Rutherford
Los Angeles based; Kiwi award-winning song writer Lisa Crawley has recently released her latest single Don’t Delete Me from her recent EP Looking For Love (In A Major) delivering a silky soft indie pop number backed by restrained elegant piano playing.


Already a seasoned musician Lisa is a four-time APRA Silver Scroll Award nominee twice selected for the prestigious Banff Centre songwriter residency in Canada among several other glittering accolades. Since the age of four music has been her life, this talented multi-instrumentalist delivers with style, grace, and professionalism.

Drawing some comparisons with Gin Wigmore and Brooke Fraser, she has carved her own unique way at home and abroad enhancing the ever-growing talent pool of Aotearoa female musicians with her own strong sound.

Don’t Delete Me has previously been described as a “vulnerable piano ballad” inspired by modern day challenges in an ever-changing world. The light touch of woodwind adds another layer to the track, creating more of a lush jazz sound than anything else.

Sophisticated is what springs to the forefront of my mind when I close my eyes and listen closely.

Crawley's warm velvety vocals create an alluring and thoughtful soundscape, Don’t Delete Me is another example of why we should be keeping our eyes and ears open for this evolving talent.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Lisa Crawley

Indie-pop chanteuse Lisa Crawley has been immersed in music since the age of four.
Numerous albums, EPs and singles later, her refreshingly honest onstage presence and
emotionally authentic pop songs enchant the hearts and minds of an ever-growing
global audience.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Lisa Crawley

Releases

Up In The Air
Year: 2015
Type: EP
All In My Head
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Everything That I Have Seen
Year: 2011
Type: Album
Shoot The Night
Year: 2007
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Corinne Rutherford

Eden Mulholland - Album Review: A Bee Might Bite My Nose
21 Dec 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Funny, Kooky and gently melancholic at times is one description of respected Australasian composer, songwriter and collaborator Eden Mulholland (Ngati Porou). His most recent release is channeled by a very cute teddy bear.
Read More...
Jessica Leigh - EP Review: Lightbeam
03 Nov 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Nelsonian, singer, songwriter and producer Jessica Leigh has recently released her third EP Lightbeam. Changing tack from her previous EP in 2021, the acoustic guitars and strings have given way to full synthpop sound with an 80's inspired vibe.
Read More...
Michèle Ducray - EP Review: Throne Of Mine
05 Oct 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mysterious and sinister themes such as horror combined with the colourful characteristics of circus life are the inspiration behind emerging dark-pop artist Michèle Ducray's debut EP Throne Of Mine. The balance of both dark and light create a fresh and original sound that is complex as it is identifiable.
Read More...
Sam Heselwood - EP Review: Home Is Where The Heart Is
19 Sep 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Ex rugby player turned singer-songwriter Sam Heselwood has recently released his 5 track EP Home Is Where The Heart Is. Originally from Christchurch, the indie-pop musician has delivered poignant, beautifully composed music which aims straight for the heart.
Read More...
Strawpeople - Album Review: Knucklebones
29 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
For the first time in 19 years, slick electro-pop duo Strawpeople (Fiona McDonald ex-The Headless Chickens, and Paul Casserly) have released an album sparking early 2000's nostalgia. Knucklebones is a fusion of their iconic sound mixed with a collection of entirely new material.
Read More...
Sofia Machray - EP Review: Language Of Flowers
01 Aug 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Wellington based Sofia Machray has been described as an “eclectic master of indie singer-songwriter gone rouge,” her recently released debut EP Language Of Flowers consists of 6 ethereal indie dream-rock tracks which have been beautifully constructed. Inspired by her love of flowers in particular the similarity in evolution between human nature from tiny seed to full bloom.
Read More...
Mitch and his Guitar - Single Review: Mine In My Mind
18 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
Mitch and his Guitar is a solo musical artist from Hawera in Taranaki, diversifying from wedding singing to deliver original soft pop songs inspired by the likes of Ed Sheeran, Passenger and Hollow Coves. Mine In My Mind is one of three tracks which will be followed by his debut album.
Read More...
Rowdy's Rose - EP Review: From The Flames
08 Jul 2023 // by Corinne Rutherford
During the 2020 lockdown, many exciting independent bands came to light. Rowdy’s Rose, a husband and wife duo from the Waikato consisting of Blair and Rosie Shaw are one of them.
Read More...
View All Articles By Corinne Rutherford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PRAISE JAH IN THE MOONLIGHT
    YG Marley
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • LOVIN ON ME
    Jack Harlow
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • SNOOZE
    SZA
  • GREEDY
    Tate McRae
  • CRUEL SUMMER
    Taylor Swift
  • CARNIVAL
    Kanye West And Ty Dolla $ign
  • MURDER ON THE DANCEFLOOR
    Sophie Ellis-Bextor
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem