3 Feb 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Womb - Gig Review: Womb w/ Samara Alofa @ Wine Cellar, Auckland - 25/11/2022

28 Nov 2022 // A review by Lou Clement

Underground a bustling K-Road the Wine Cellar played host to Womb on Friday night, a three-piece comprised of siblings, Georgette Brown and twins Haz and Charlotte Forrester. Tonight, they celebrated the release of their new album, Dreaming of The Future Again. It’s poetic title was evidence of the thoughtfulness of the band in their lyric writing.


Support came from Samara Alofa. Alofa opened the evening with her gentle, serious and meditative approach to sound. Various instruments appeared and disappeared as Alofa intently delivered her evocative compositions into, what felt like, the deep blue sea and the shore edge.

I was a fan of Womb before I heard their music. I don’t know how they came up with a name for their band but this one says a whole lot without a note being played. In real life, they sound dreamy with vocals that delivered an emotional impact and percussion that I couldn’t stop wanting more of. As I listened, I thought of some of my favourite vocalists, PJ Harvey and Beth Gibbons, but perhaps it’s unfair to compare. Charlotte Forrester has a formidable voice and she delivers it with persuasion and playfulness.

She created the sort of mood that takes you from contemplation to heartbreak in a minute or less, especially in the track Oceans. The visuals matched the mood with Rothko-esque colours and shapes flickering across the crowd. They successfully captured our concentration and attention.

I’ve had the sixth track, When I See You, from their new album on repeat since I first heard it. Longing is what Dreaming of The Future Again is about and this song evokes that for me. With a seemingly effortless performance that comes from a lifetime together, Womb delivered a sound tonight that was soft, yet energetic and self-assured. This is a trio that will hopefully continue to hold onto their beautiful loud-slow guitar and sublime vocals in their compositions. I was alone in the crowd listening to them. It was a true joy to see them performing live.


Photo Credit: Ivan Karczewski / Kioui Pix
Womb Gallery

Samara Alofa Gallery

 

About Womb

Photo Credit: Ted Black




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Womb

Releases

Dreaming of the Future Again
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Holding A Flame
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Like Splitting The Head From The Body
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Womb
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

Jason Parker - EP Review: How To Be Lonely
10 Dec 2022 // by Lou Clement
Jason Parker has recently released his 5-track EP, How To Be Lonely and in doing so, he has brought his life affirming pop to our speakers. Parker has a history in TV talent shows and they are one of my favourite things.
Read More...
Gig Review: Goodnight My Darling w/ Ersha Island @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 10/11/2022
11 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
Goodnight My Darling played at Whammy Bar along with Ersha Island last night. Ersha Island are a sister-duo, playing a classic (but not often seen in their genres) accompaniment of violin and piano.
Read More...
Gig Review: No Cigar @ Galatos, Auckland - 5/11/2022
09 Nov 2022 // by Lou Clement
No Cigar played Auckland on the final date of their Bienvenido Album Release Tour. Nestled behind Karangahape Road, the venue, Galatos, was sold out and packed to the brim on an electric Saturday night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Troy Kingi and The Promises @ Powerstation, Auckland - 14/10/2022
17 Oct 2022 // by Lou Clement
Available on both vinyl and cassette, Troy Kingi’s (Te Arawa, Ngapuhi, Te Whanau-a-Apanui) new album, Year of The Ratbags and Their Musty Theme Songs, was debuted at the Powerstation, Auckland. It was a fun and fantastic return to live performance for 2022, following the years of COVID cancellations and absences.
Read More...
Gig Review: Nadia Reid & Jenny Mitchell @ Auckland Town Hall, Auckland - 09/09/2022
11 Sep 2022 // by Lou Clement
Worth the wait might be the short summary of an epic and memorable evening with Nadia Reid with the Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra and support from Jenny Mitchell. Both acts were accompanied by their bands and a packed Auckland Town Hall cheered every song.
Read More...
Flaxxies - EP Review: Beach Rudes
04 Aug 2022 // by Lou Clement
Flaxxies release a four track EP, that heralds Spring with its’ playfulness and optimism. The band are a five piece who blend a number of influences: most obviously surf rock and reggae.
Read More...
Gig Review: NZ Music Month Wrap Party @ Tuning Fork - 31/05/2022
05 Jun 2022 // by Lou Clement
Live music is back with swagger as event numbers grow and crowds swarm for a crucial mark of ‘return to normal’ in Auckland. At the Tuning Fork, sandwiched between the Port and the central city streets, a diverse crowd gathered at this all-ages event, to mark the end of NZ Music month, 2022.
Read More...
REID - Single Review: Savannah
07 Apr 2022 // by Lou Clement
REID is solo artist, based in Wellington, who is making straight-up fun and catchy pop music. Inspired by a desire to simply get people to sing and dance along, REID’s debut single, Savannah, is one of those songs that is the soundtrack to sunny days.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem